Futurism logo

Logging into the Sea

Another Adventure in the Dark

By SocrateZPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I found another clue about another cultist, The Octopus. This one patrols the Sea of Crete between Thera and Messara, which is perfect, since I planned to visit Messara to see if the legends are true about the half-man and half-bull creature known as the Minotaur.

My crew and I have gathered materials, olive wood and iron, to make some repairs on our trireme, The Great Adrasteia, from our last adventure, and to upgrade our hull and ram. I was fortunate to have four legendary and trustworthy lieutenants with me that were fighting for the same cause. These cultists were clever ones and we were going to need all the benefits and the blessings from the Gods. Although, I didn’t believe in these Gods.

We sailed from a port on Naxos in the early morning. The sun was bright and the wind was blowing The Great Adrasteia at a speed only possible with the help of the Gods. We had the favor of Poseiden! That’s what some of my crew members believed, and while they celebrated as if we’d already slayed the cultist and been victorious, I sat there planning our attack. I knew that these cultists were well financed and have drachmae one could only imagine. Their boats were bigger and made from finer material. I was hoping that there’d only be one boat, but I knew that was wishful thinking.

My crew members told me there was nothing to worry about. My reputation had spread all across the Greek islands and cities. Stories had been told about my legendary adventures and victories. I became a famous misthios. I became deified. People believed I was immortal, including my men.

Favored by the Gods, we made it to the Cretan Sea that evening, and we only sailed and searched for them at night to remain in the shadows. I didn’t think they knew we we’re coming for them, but news must’ve spread after all the other cultists I’d killed. We needed to be cautious, cause one mistake and we'd all die. The only way to be safe was to sail at night and pray to Selene to brighten the night sky and shine her light upon them. I would tell my crew members to pray, and always remind them that it’s pointless if I do it, since belief is required for prayer to work.

One night, my falcon Kirke called me, and I climbed the mast of Adrasteia and looked out to the never-ending seas. With the moon so bright, as if to compete with the fiery orb that gives her its light, in front of me, I saw a ship on the horizon with black sails. There it was, my target. I jumped from the top of the mast and landed and rolled on the deck of Adrasteia towards her bow. I told my men to row slowly forward as I jumped onto the golden lion figurehead mounted on the tip of Adrasteia. It was a symbol of our victories and the wealth we’d won from them, and it inspired great morale in everyone that stepped foot on the valiant ship. As I peered forward, I saw two more smaller ships with black sails. Exactly as I feared.

I told my men to halt, and I took some moments to think. Three triremes with two of them about the size of The Adrasteia, and the other almost twice as large. Even if we ambushed them, it would be a miracle to survive. It would be suicide. Instead, I told my men to stay put and pray to the Gods for good fortune. I dove into the sea and started swimming towards the large ship with Kirke as my guide.

I couldn’t feel the coldness of the sea water, nor the exhaustion from swimming. Maybe the heroic deeds of my past have deified me. I also carried the legendary Spear of Leonidas, at least what remains of it. It radiated an ancient power and I would hear whispers of what must have been his voice. A powerful weapon that I used to kill all my enemies.

Finally, I made it to the large ship, and I already knew where the cultist was on the ship without Kirke’s help. It would be too obvious if Kirke flew close and called out. The clouds now covered the moon and darkness fell upon us. Their prayers worked and fortune smiled at me. I climbed up the stern of the ship and saw a strong red tent that was sturdy enough to walk on. Quietly, I crouched on it to the front edge and looked down. There she was, The Octopus. I pulled out my legendary Spear of Leonidas to do what I do best — assassinate. I leapt down and at that moment she looked up and prepared to defend herself, and I missed my mark and struck her left shoulder. She was badly wounded, but still alive, and everyone on deck heard her screams and unsheathed their weapons and ran towards me. I took out my legendary Daggers of Kronus to prepare for battle, then The Octopus with her blade struck me once, and I died.

A few seconds later I was revived back at The Adrasteia. I said, “Welp, I can try again tomorrow night.” I closed my laptop and chugged my beer and went to bed. I love video games.

literature
Like

About the Creator

SocrateZ

An old soul trying to understand the human experience through writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.