Futurism logo

Living Forever

by DRAH

By Daniel HarewoodPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I'm 500 years old today. So I guess I'll tell the story of how I came to live forever.

I woke up at about 6AM on April, 04, 2020. The morning was dew & I remember feeling like the Corona Virus was putting on the perfect display of nature's segregation laws. Like an orchestra & its conductor. I miss those days. I decided within minutes of waking up that I would go for a walk, not to any destination, I would just go wherever my feet take me! This was always the best choice when travelling.

Anyway, I remember just as I was going to leave. A bang on my door & what sounds like every door on my floor. I lived in an apartment building with my family. Because I don’t want to cry, I’m not going to tell you their names or anything about them.

I open the door. A whole army brigade stuffed the hallway. “THIS IS A CONSCRIPTION NOTICE!”, this guy yells in my face. “WE ARE LOOKING FOR CAIN WOOD!”, he shouts at me. “That’s me?”, I question him. He immediately grabs me & pulls me into this brigade tornado where I was somehow passed through them all and shoved onto a bus. I’m sitting there wondering what kind of war I’m about to fight.

The bus took us from building to building until it was full. It takes off onto the highway & out into the countryside & then through tall grass, taller than the bus. I remember feeling like I was in a different country within 30mins of driving to describe how fast they were going. We arrived at a tunnel where the busses stopped & we exited out into a parking lot.

“WE ARE FIGHTING A WAR!”, yells this Bearded General. Names are not important.

“I’M GOING TO KEEP THIS BRIEF AND SHORT! YOU ALL WILL BE TESTED FOR THE NEXT 30DAYS IN VARIOUS WAYS THAT WILL NOT BE DISCLOSED AT THIS TIME! FOLLOW THE ALREADY WAR READY PERSON IN YOUR GROUP DOWN THIS TUNNEL WHERE YOUR TRAINING BEGINS!”. We head down the tunnel.

We run for 5 consecutive minutes when we are suddenly stopped. Beside us are 2 huge crates, comparable to the size of a garbage truck, sides open & a waterfall of guns & ammo pouring out. Members of the brigade stationed there helped us pick the right gun and ammo. When we were armed we were sent further into the tunnel with our war ready leaders.

Another five minutes of running & we are brought to a slowing halt this time. My group leader turns his head around. All the fucking way! “HOLY SHIT” the man in front of me yells as people start to die all around us.

I start shooting my pistol as others standing around me fire off their weapons too. Something is just killing the people around. That was my last thought as I black out. I’m still not sure what caused me to black out.

I woke up standing in a room. I’m not able to move my major muscles. My face felt intact & normal. The room is all white. Very bright, like snow on a mountaintop. I remember a noise before the creature appeared before my eyes as if within the blink of my eye. A single tear exits my eye & down my face full with the fear I felt. The creature stabs me in my forehead with something, the pain is beyond anything my human mind could handle while conscious but whatever this thing is injecting is keeping me awake throughout the entire procedure. My entire body regains feeling only to amplify the pain. Imagine the smallest insects infesting your body until they pour out of your old holes & the new ones they created. It felt like that until just before it’s gruesome ending. That’s when everything felt light & I was able to move again. The creature which looks like a fleshy Queen from the game of chess, speaks to me.

“You must go back & tell them this. We will stop this war if humans allow us to take the great pyramids with us. If they do not accept our offer. You must fight for us & help us take those pyramids. If you agree to this you can keep the gifts.”. I agree without hesitation & this creature leads me out of the room & out into a hanger. The door opens up to the top of the clouds. I hesitated for a moment. Then something felt different & I trusted that feeling. I ran out into the sea of clouds & dived straight down.

That landing! Let me tell you. I hit the ground face first & barely bent the grass. The feeling could be described as falling on memory foam from 10km up & the impact being completely negated, only feeling the imprint slowly forming around your body. I still don’t know how exactly my body does what it does. The way it knows exactly what I want it to do before I can even have the thought. It helps with learning but creates an atmosphere that crushes one's ego. Basically it’s hard to get people to let their guard down around me.

I got up quick, pure childish excitement. My surroundings, desolate sand structures. For a while I remember thinking I was on another planet, I couldn’t relax. Then I followed a flies flight pattern with my eyes. Never blinking once. I reached out & caught the fly by it’s leg, gently enough to keep it intact. Then, a migraine that made my skull crack & heal rapidly for about 5 minutes. During this time I learned everything. From the beginning of the universe the moment the migrain stopped. It was like I had access to infinity other minds.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Harewood

Father of 2 beautiful children who loves to write and experience new things here on earth. 30yrs old & ready to take full control of my life while building a community of friends and family alike.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.