Futurism logo

Keeping up With the Stars

In the eye of a Gemini.

By Marcel Grabowiecki Published 3 years ago 5 min read
7

I was born on June 9th, 1999. I know, a pretty cool date. You have to provide the exact time of your birth to check your rising sign. I had no idea about that. I also had no clue what the ascendant sign was. I didn't know what time I was born either, so I called my Dad, "I'm pretty sure you were born at 1:30 pm. Call mom." That was not a very confident answer, so I got on facetime with mommy, "You were born at 5:15 pm. Just on time for the evening news." Thanks, mom. That's really helpful for my zodiac investigation.

Mini me.

According to a very legitimate website with an odd graphic design, I am a Gemini (that I already knew, yay). With a Scorpio rising and the moon in Aries. The main characteristic of a Scorpio rising is a great passion. I feel seen. They (I assume, the stars) are right. I am an extremely passionate person, and I do put my heart into what I admire and share it with people I love. Once I set myself a goal, I work tirelessly to reach it. One of the weaknesses of Scorpio rising is being bossy and perfectionistic. I am certainly guilty of being a perfectionist, but I don't do well with bossing people around. I'm more of a 'can you please ask him to pass me that, sorry' kind of person.

I never really believed in horoscopes. As a kid, I'd always find it quite ridiculous that magazines would include them. "Seriously, every single person who's a Gemini will get promoted this week? Nah, Bravo, I don't think that's true. I am twelve years old, and I don't have a job." I am pretty sure that all these magazine horoscopes contributed to my trust issues.

Whenever people ask me about my zodiac sign, the reaction is not exactly enthusiastic. Unless the person asking is a Gemini as well, then they usually welcome you with open arms shouting, "Oh my God, me too!" Geminis are infamously known for being two-faced, which doesn't really sound dreamy. What's interesting is that this stereotype is so widely spread at this point that many people, after hearing someone's a Gemini, already have their opinion about them. That's not ideal. I know Geminis who are openly describing themselves as two-faced. At least they don't pretend that they are saints like the other group. The thing is, I also know Geminis that are anything but two-faced, people who admire honesty and directness. I wouldn't consider myself two-faced either. I always think, "Would I talk about that person the same way if they were present in the room?" If the answer is no, then I probably still have some work to do.

One of my friends, Steph, has not so long ago introduced me to the world of astrology and crystals. Oddly, the subject would never really interest me before. Why? I blame it on vague magazine horoscopes. Anyway, I love seeing people passionate about something. It brings me as much joy watching someone getting excited about a baked potato as it does seeing another person chasing their dream of becoming an opera singer. Whenever I mention someone in the conversation, Steph only asks one question: What's their zodiac sign? It's like she sees stuff that I don't see, and that's what interests me. Whatever she has to say about astrology always makes sense. And she continuously guesses the signs right. Coincidence? I don't think so. Her knowledge about relationships, energy exchange, and human qualities is award-worthy. So, I might not be into it as much, but I respect and admire people who are. They do know their stuff, so never mess with astrology geeks!

Some qualities are considered fundamental for Geminis. One of them is being changeable and open-minded. Apparently, it makes us excellent artists, especially writers, and our skills and flexibility make us shine. As an actor and a writer, I'm pleased with reading this. It's almost as if what I do with my life makes sense universe-wise.

Geminis don't like being alone. That's what another verified source says. Well, I have to disagree with that one. I, personally, adore some alone time. There's nothing like a cozy evening to myself with a glass of wine and a good film. I love my friends, but sometimes I can't help going for a walk just by myself. A lot of the time, I feel like listening to music and not talking to anyone. You will never be bored with a Gemini is quite a famous saying. It pains to say, but around me, you are very likely to be bored. I'm not exactly the life of the party, more of a shadow of the party.

"The best thing you can do to keep a Gemini is to communicate. Geminis want honest and open communication in relationships. Don't try to keep any secrets from a Gemini."

Can I get an amen up in here? That resonates with me a lot. I consider communication as the key to all relationships.

There are quite a few negative aspects to Geminis, according to experts in the field. Some of them are: being toxic, aggressive, violent, impulsive, and pessimistic. Wow, I didn't expect to be attacked like that. Although I can admit that I am occasionally acting impulsively, I don't associate myself with all the other mentioned flaws. Since my moon sign is in Aries, my feelings are supposedly as violent as they are brief. Again, that is not really what Marcel is about. I tend to carry feelings around for quite a while. I would describe them as neither brief nor violent, more lengthy and fierce.

It often feels like some people use their zodiac signs as an explanation for all their actions. And here I'd like to include one of my favorite comments on zodiacs from Jim Carrey:

I feel you, Jim. People shouldn't feel like they can justify their bad behavior with their zodiac signs. As simple as that. We're all human, and we have power over our actions. We don't just go with the flow and let our zodiac signs guide us.

Astrology, in general, remains a mystery to me. I can't help but notice that some trait lists of Geminis are spot-on descriptions of me as a person, but I also know that some of them are excessively inaccurate. What I do believe in is that there is a lot of behind-the-scenes magic happening every day. I don't let it get into my head too much. I am already an overthinker without it. Astrology is considered pseudoscience, but it is oddly too often right. As to the Geminis, well, we're not as bad as they picture us, and since there are over seven hundred million of us, I'm sure every single one will surprise you with something different.

astronomy
7

About the Creator

Marcel Grabowiecki

Look at you doing what you once thought you couldn't do.

Actor / Writer

@marcelgrabowiecki on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.