Futurism logo

Is My Horoscope For Real?

How Researching My Sign Opened My Eyes

By Annie FournierPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Is My Horoscope For Real?
Photo by Neven Krcmarek on Unsplash

I've never really been a horoscope believer. I mean, come on... What does the month I was born in have to do with my personality?

Recently, I fell to the notorious clickbait on a social media platform and somehow started reading an article about my sign, Cancer. Can you believe it? This sh*t is actually true!

According to www.horoscope.com, Cancers are all about emotion. I wear my heart on my sleeve and anybody who knows me, knows this is true. Being in tune with my emotions, and that of others, can set me up for some serious failure though. It's hard to realize that not everyone picks up on how others are feeling or may not even care.

The habit of holding everyone around me up to the same expectations that I hold myself to can only lead to disappointment. Nothing taught me this lesson more than getting into administration. Not only did I become obsessed with being the best leader I could be, I truly didn't understand why some people just. don't. get. it. Agonizing day and night over pleasing everyone else nearly cost me my sanity and my relationship. The best thing I ever did was to step-down from my position and go back to being a staff nurse. Being honest with myself, also a Cancer trait, is a priceless quality that can mean the difference between happiness and misery.

Cancers are said to be ruled by the moon and enjoy nature. It comes as no surprise then, that my hobbies include kayaking, fishing, and camping. The idea of vacationing in a city are only semi-interesting; maybe a day or two spent out of an entire vacation. When I think of vacations, I think of beaches, mountains, and new outdoor experiences.

I literally laughed out loud as I read a section about how Cancers can frequently be seen as "prickly or standoffish" when first meeting people. My best friend frequently tells me how hard it is to meet new people when she's with me. Between my RBF and awkward interactions, she is constantly trying to make up for me by talking incessantly. Ha! Well, I can blame it on the stars now!

Also important to Cancers is creativity. My passions at home include writing, sewing, painting, and drawing. Every Christmas, I give out handmade gifts and strive to give what I'd like to receive. If I'm not home crafting something up (or writing), I'm at work. Honestly, these articles are starting to creep me out...

The colors that we identify most with are light blue and grey. HOW DID IT KNOW?

My top love match is a Taurus. I had to ask my husband what his sign was and, you guessed it: Taurus! Not only are we a match in the stars, but apparently it isn't uncommon for Cancers to fall in love in just days or weeks. I'm not going to lie, I had my eye on something serious with him about ten minutes into our first date. Sometimes, you just know. At least, Cancers do.

A couple things stand out as not fitting in entirely. The first is that many Cancers have been called psychic. Not me. Intuitive, maybe. Psychic, definitely not. The second is spirituality. Being in tune with nature and trying to be a good person is about as religious as I get. But out of all the pages and points discussing my sign, there is far more that is correct than incorrect.

If you aren't familiar with what your sign means, I highly recommend going to www.horoscope.com and checking it out. While mine is eerily accurate, I'm curious if this is typical or not. I can't wait to see what my friends say.

P.S. What's the crab about, anyway?

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Annie Fournier

Author/Nurse/Animal Lover/Adventurous Soul

www.aaborn85.wixsite.com/author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.