Futurism logo

Is COVID-19 the Beginning of the End?

Witnessing the end of the world would be a thing to see! If COVID-19 is the beginning of the world, it sure is a calm one.

By Bazooka TeachesPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

To witness the end of the world would be an amazing thing! I know it sounds horrible to actually witness mass destruction and seeing the demise of mankind, but to witness such an event would be the most astonishing thing to see!

Yes, if such an event were to take place, I would be extremely sad. My soul would be instantaneously wounded if I were to see the end of the world before my eyes. Of course, I would start praying, in hopes to see my loved ones once the destructive event was all over. On the other hand, when the shit hits the fan, I’ll want to look at it! In other words, if the end were to come in my lifetime, I would want to witness it, front row seat.

Whether it’s a giant earthquake, a meteor, an epic climate attack, or war, I’m going to want to look at it. It will be the last thing to look at, so you might as well enjoy it while it takes your life and everything you knew. On the other hand, I hope I don’t exist if the end ever comes, but, if it does, might as well take the best seat in the house and hold your loved one’s hand with a nice buttery bucket of popcorn!

Witnessing a Pandemic

Right now, we are experiencing a pandemic. It has not been as catastrophic as it has been in movies, but it has made some major changes in our lives. Yes, huge numbers are dying around the world via COVID-19, but the madness or chaos has not really hit hard. So far, everyone seems to be on board and are following instructions to keep this disease from spreading.

Also, COVID-19 is somewhat of a mystery for us. Many news outlets keep stating that it is a simple virus, and it affects people like the flu. Other outlets tend to make it sound like it is very deadly and to take all precautions to not get infected. So what is the deal!

Still, out in public only people with essential jobs to keep humanity intact have been allowed to work. These people who happen to be the heroes right now are nurses, police officers, firefighters, doctors, grocery store workers, custodians, and others. As for me, since I can’t run my personal business due to this stay-at-home-quarantine, I am making grocery deliveries for people that really have to stay home. So, I fall under another class of essential humans along with the fast-food workers, restaurant cooks, and transportation drivers, among others.

So far, I see people cooperating and following the new rules out in public that pertain to healthy guidelines. Such rules implied are to constantly sanitize your hands and wear a medical mask to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Despite all this, there is no true chaos out in public. In other words, there are no burning buildings, and massive deaths all over. In fact, cities have become tranquil and the environment has cleared up. I live in a big city, Los Angeles, and it has cleared up. Despite that I am endangering myself to this virus by working in public, I see open roads, blue skies, and people being super friendly.

Yes, it is a pandemic because the whole world has been shut down, but the death toll is not as harsh as it usually plays out in movies, TV, or books. So far, the chaos is somewhat controlled. The only mass hysteria we experienced was in the very beginning when people hoarded all the paper and sanitizing products. Then, these nervous wrecks went after the food.

Hopefully Not the End

Things have stabilized a bit but it is still around us. You know what they say that it is always quiet before the storm! I hope that this calm pandemic with COVID-19 is the actual storm. I hope that it is not the beginning of the end. If it is, I sure am getting a front seat to witness it, because I have to work and pay bills. I follow all the guidelines that have been suggested by the CDC, so I am not an asshole. However, if this is the end, it sure is a calm one.

Deep down inside, the whole perspective that I have on witnessing the end of the world is pretty wicked. I am getting a little taste of what could be the end with this COVID-19 shit show. It just doesn’t really feel like the end of the world. It feels like an experiment test by the elite to see how the masses react. Still, in my heart, I don’t want this to be the beginning of the end. It is pretty scary of what could happen if this virus did get out of hand. However, this is still happening and hope that it gets contained quickly.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Bazooka Teaches

A regular Joe that is just surviving the struggle. Loves to write and is constantly fighting the forces of evil.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.