Futurism logo

Introverted Gemini Here

Personality is affected by much more than one's sun sign

By Tom CooleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Introverted Gemini Here
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Above images: natal charts for Walt Disney, Milton Erickson, Werner Heisenberg and Arthur Samuel. Source: Astro-Databank

My sun sign is Gemini, which is generally considered an extroverted zodiac sign, but I’m an introvert. Articles I’ve read list all of the fire signs and Gemini and Libra among the air signs as being extroverted signs. The water and earth signs (and Aquarius among the air signs) are considered introverted signs. Since extroverts greatly outnumber introverts, there are either other factors involved in people’s charts than sun signs which influence people’s personalities or perhaps astrology is just a pseudoscience.

Do I identify as a typical social butterfly Gemini person? No. Can I see Gemini aspects within my introverted personality? Definitely. Adaptable? Check. Indecisive? Check. Impulsive? Often. Nosy? No doubt. Curious? Yes. Juggling books, jobs, hobbies, friends? Yup. Social butterfly? Fuggedaboutit. Would you peg me as a Gemini on first meeting me? Probably not until you’d gotten to know me a bit. More likely than not, as a new acquaintance you’d observe characteristics in my personality of my rising sign, which is Virgo. At least, that’s what a professional astrologer concluded - based on knowing me and having a general (within a few hours) idea of my time of birth.

Astrology is a topic I’ve explored off and on in various degrees of depth for many years; a Gemini characteristic, am I right? I know more about Western astrology than Vedic (Hindu) astrology. I’ve dabbled a tiny bit in Arabic Lots, also called parts. Someday, I’d like to study Hellenistic astrology, but I’ll have to juggle my schedule and complete a few uncompleted projects before I can acquire that knowledge to help me complete another incomplete project; a story in which astrology plays a minor but important role. Here is a short story which I wrote about one of my protagonists in the as yet incomplete story. While astrology doesn't play a direct part in the short story, we do learn the protagonist's date of birth in it. Do I sound Gemini at all, as you read these words aloud in your head? Most likely.

As I see it, natal birth charts are a tool kit of sorts which each person is equipped with at birth. Depending on the location and precise time of birth, the charts of two people born on the same day can exhibit quite a bit of difference. Once factors such as length of gestation, family influences and how a person decides to use the tool kit they were born with are added to the mix, a sun sign says something about a person, but comparatively little within the grander scheme of personality.

Compare, for example, the birth charts and biographies of Walt Disney, Werner Heisenberg, Milton Erickson and Arthur Samuel.

Note that they all share the same date of birth, December 5th, 1901. Therefore, they have much more in common astrologically than just their sun signs. Nonetheless, they had quite different lives and careers. I’ll be mentioning these four men and their date of birth more than just in passing in the full story I mentioned a few paragraphs ago. Their astrological charts differ from each other because they were born at different times of day and in different locations. Approximately every two hours, the Ascendant sign changes, so roughly every four minutes the degree of the Ascendant changes in a given location. This means that even if all four of these gentlemen had been born in the same hospital, they would have different charts, unless they were all born about a minute apart. Identical twins can also have significantly different birth charts, depending how much time elapses between their births.

My protagonist was born a few years after Disney et al., but also on December 5th. Fun fact - Walt Disney's sister Ruth was born on December 6th, so they share the same sun sign. I haven't rectified my protagonist's natal chart to determine his time of birth based on events in his life, though. No doubt a professional astrologer could tell me. Unfortunately, in the era he was born in women were much less likely than men to have pioneering careers. My pool of examples of women born on December 5th, 1901 is therefore smaller and their names are likely less familiar to most people.

For me at least, a sun sign tells me less about a person than if they tell me their personality type according to a Myers Briggs test. Unless, that is, they’ve written an essay about how exactly their sun sign influences their personality and told me what a stereotypical sun sign personality list doesn’t get correct about them. From there, we can start discussing moon and rising signs, planetary aspects etc. Even then, that’s just what they started out life with; they may not choose to carry all of it along with them for the whole journey. I can hear you saying “yep, definitely a Gemini” as I write this.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Tom Cooley

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.