Futurism logo

I See You

What if you could hear everybody's thoughts ... What would you do?

By Singster JonesPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

I was a lousy student. I never did anything special with my life. I certainly not invented the wheel nor the four-hole button. I was like half of the population, boringly ordinary. I lived the first 20 years of my life in the shadow of my big brother who was a pop star (God help me). He wasn't just a singer, he was also an asshole—really big one. Everything seems to fall into his lap, the women, the money, the popularity. As for me, I was left hanging dry by all members of my own family. I suppose I wasn't rich enough for them to notice me or to care for that matter.

My name is Trevor and I can hear your thoughts! What do you respond to that? Nothing coherent, I can tell you that. That's why I don't tell people about my "special" ability. It's been five years now that this so-called gift was transmitted to me.

"I'll let you in on my secret, if you swear not to tell a soul." That's what Norbert, the mad scientist in my neighborhood, told me six years ago. Everyone thought he was crazy, but he wasn't. He was haunted. Haunted by voices in his head. He could read minds. So you understand that the first time he told me, I laughed in his face and got the f*** out of there before he killed me or something. For weeks I thought about what he said. I couldn't get him out of my head. He was constantly there, whispering over my shoulder, I was going crazy. But I wasn't. In fact, he was in my head all this time, literally. He connected his mind on the unique frequency of my brain. See, every human projects waves that are singularities. These singularities are like phone lines with numbers. Each phone number is unique so you can only reach one person. If a phone number was attributed to 20 individuals, it would be impossible to tell which person you've reached. It's the same thing for the human brain, every frequency is one of a kind. I'm not a scientist or anything like that, but with my new capacity I read a lot of books on brain features. I taught myself a lot of useful shits since that happened to me. I'm not average anymore. I'm what you could call, cultivated.

Back to the past. After, I realized and believed Norbert was in my head, I came to see him. I found the place trashed and no signs of him. I started looking around for some clues and I found a strange little red ball. I don't know why at the moment, but I took it, placed it in my pocket and continued searching for the mad scientist. I stumbled on a something and fell hard on my ass. That's when I saw it, the clue. There was a really small switch at the bottom of Norbert's desk. I flipped it and guess what happened? A big fat nothing, I was getting up, really disappointed, and suddenly an entire freakin' wall opened up behind me. It was a lab with all the traditional "lab stuff" that you see on tv. There were computers, screens, blood vials, machines, files, etc.

I entered the room and the wall closed right after me. I snooped around and there was a video put on hold on one of the screens. As I'm curious, I checked it. It was the professor speaking to a camera.

"Hi Trevor, by now you must have experienced some unusual impulses, voices in your head, maybe even headaches. Last time I saw you, I implanted a small device on you that'll be active soon. Your brain needs to merge with the implant. If you're not dead by now, it means the merging's going well. I also..."

I stopped the video because I heard something. There were voices on the other side of the wall. I kept my mouth shut and listened. I think they are Russians or Ukrainians. I was never good with languages. After a really long hour, they were gone. I forgot all about the video and got out. When I got home, I found the ball in my jeans pocket. I put it on my nightstand and fell asleep. In the middle of the night, I was woken by the light from the ball. A minute later, I was doing the bacon in my bed. I convulsed for at least 15 minutes and after that—everything. I could hear the thoughts of every human being in a mile.

"Merging complete," said the ball. It went dead and I was really much alive.

The next fews years, I went to UCLA get my Masters in Psychology and Counseling. And here I am six years later and for the first time in my life, I see you.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Singster Jones

I like to write about things that I witnessed or felt. But I like fiction too, it can be liberating. Writing is a big part of my life and I like to think that it's not only words on paper but kind of a second voice. Hope you like my stuff!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.