Futurism logo

I’m a Libra

Do Libras make good lawyers?

By Margie Anderson Published 3 years ago 4 min read
7
Libras are party animals!!!

I was born on October 1st so that makes me a Libra. I am not much into astrology so other than it somehow being connected to the scales and pink zirconia being my birthstone that’s really all I knew about it before doing my research. I do read my horoscope from time to time but not on a regular basis. My grandmother read both our horoscopes everyday when she was alive. But since she passed away I only read mine if I come across it by chance. One funny note is that I was always told that it is bad luck to read another persons horoscope. I would tell my grandmother not to read my horoscope but she ignored me, as usual, and she lived to be 101 years old and had fairly good luck! I’m not very superstitious; however, I only read my own horoscope just to be on the safe side.

According to my research, one positive trait of a Libra is that they are outgoing and like to be around people. Well, we are not off to a good start, because this is definitely not one of my traits. I am a homebody who has to be coaxed to go anywhere. I do like to go out once in a while but with just a few friends. I am that person who dreads walking into a party and the whole way there I debate as to whether I should turn around and go home. I usually go with my sister and hide behind her until I feel comfortable but eventually I do have fun. My sister is not a Libra but this trait definitely fits her personality perfectly. Libras are also known to be cooperative and peacemakers. These traits fit my personality much better. I do not like to argue. I do my best to stick with that old saying don’t discuss politics or religion. Yes, I know, my profession was as a lawyer but my strong points were research, writing and negotiating settlement agreements. I did go to court on occasion and I prepared and argued those cases. That was my job and I had an obligation to do it. Oral arguments were just not my favorite part of the job. All in all, I do think Libras can be good lawyers. My research also described Libras as diplomatic and tactful and that they strive to choose their words carefully so not to offend anybody. This is important as a lawyer and I think just as a good person in general. Let’s face it, nobody wants to be offended and I for one get no satisfaction from offending anybody. I think no matter what the situation you can find something nice or positive to say and can find some common ground in order to settle disputes. Something I learned early on as a lawyer is that judges would rather the parties reach a settlement on their own so in this respect my traits as a Libra worked to my advantage.

Libras are also known for liking things to be orderly and to look nice. These are traits of mine now but it wasn’t always the case. When I was young I could care less if things were in order or how they looked. But the older I got the more important this has become to me. Now that I have my own house it is an obsession, which I wish was not the case. I was always taught a house is to live in and it should be neat and orderly but it doesn’t have to be perfect. Oh well, I think I’ll blame this obsession on being born a Libra!

The last trait I would like to discuss is that a Libra likes to have a balanced life. I think this is probably the most well known trait of a Libra based on the use of the scales to identify this sign. This is one trait that I wish I could say I have under control but I don’t and I doubt I ever will. Earlier in my life I had a pretty good balance between family and work. I made sure I got my work done and I always spent time with my family. I enjoyed my work and I loved spending time with my family. However, my life is no longer balanced at all, which makes me sad. Without going into detail, I was forced to retire my law license after a car accident due to injuries I could not overcome. Plus I sadly lost important family members that I spent a lot of time with. Things change, that’s how life works. I am very fortunate to still have family members that mean the world to me so that is where my life is focused now. But without the career I worked so hard for I no longer have that balance in my life. I do miss that part of my life but I am so very thankful I have the other part, the most important part, my family.

astronomy
7

About the Creator

Margie Anderson

Retired attorney from Pennsylvania.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.