Futurism logo

I'm a Cancer

Never cared for telling people that.. once I found out.

By Luke CrawleyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
via: Displate ~ Moon Calendar Studio ~ Zodiac Neon Signs ~ Zodiac Cancer

June 21st, 1993. I was born on the day of the Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year, and I've always thought that was very cool. However, I didn't even realize I was a Cancer at least until my teens, I'm sure. For the longest time I thought I was a Gemini; hey, the dates are pretty close. Whatever that meant for me as I occasionally checked my horoscope seemed quite alright; there were some things I liked, and some things I didn't like so much. See, that's the thing for me about horoscopes and other things of the sort that are meant to hold some intangible meaning (Numerology, Mayan Signs, Chinese Zodiac Signs, etc.): Even under the misinformed belief that I was a Gemini, I still found value and identified with much of what I would read about "my" star sign. No doubt, like many others, if I didn't like what my sign had in store, then I would sometimes see what the other signs had to say. I did generally relate to what I'd read, though, and sometimes I even felt really moved and motivated by it. But it seemed no different than a slip of paper in a fortune cookie with a nice thought and some lucky numbers. Either way, I never really put much stock into what was supposedly in store for me because it seemed preposterous that such general statements could possibly apprise me of what was to come during my days, weeks, months, or years.

At some point, I realized, "Holy cow, I'm a Cancer," and, after reading horoscopes here and there based on my "new" sign, I easily wound up at the same conclusion. I never liked answering the question of "What's your sign?" with "I'm a Cancer." It just sounds like a terrible thing to say, and I thought being a Gemini was really nice because it sounds pretty cool. Nowadays, even though I still don't follow my sign, I've come to see the real potential value of such a habitual practice. It's not about whether or not your horoscope is right or wrong; it's about whether you believe in the potential of positive things to come your way. Some may think it's silly, as I once did, but, when reading your horoscope and seeing things that resonate within you on a personal level, you may think to yourself, "Yes! Absolutely, I want that!" There's no better way to achieve the things you want than by thinking of what you want and feeling the hope for and reality of what you can have, and I honestly believe that the lack of scientific evidence on the subject of horoscopes is of absolutely no importance because the only thing that really matters is how you feel about it.

As for not what to expect, but general personality traits, I see a lot of personally accurate descriptors. One of the typical traits thought of a Cancer (literally typed Gemini just now as I was bringing up my sign) that fits me well includes Cancer being viewed as a feminine sign. I'm a male, but I do possess feminine qualities so that's pretty accurate. Also, the linked element is water, which suggests high intelligence, naturally intuitive empathy, and a tendency to be overly sentimental; all accurate. Then come some things that I can certainly recall being present in my modality, but are not always fit to properly describe myself: prefers taking action rather than planning, is very energetic, and has a prevalent willingness to take action and get things done. I do experience these traits, but they are normally most present when I'm in a very high mood. I feel, somewhat sarcastically, a worthy mention here is that my love is indeed a Scorpio, and that does happen to be one the "most compatible" signs for a Cancer like myself.. but it's also out of 3 other signs which constitutes a 1/3 chance that whomever wrote the material from which I've gathered this information, available on Thehoroscope.co, is going to be correct. Please do bear in mind, though, that I don't mean to dissuade anyone from believing in their love potential with compatible signs.

To me, the crucial benefit of following your horoscope is gained in the jumpstart of your imagination, especially if you read something great at the start of your day. It encourages the wonderful habit of being mindful throughout the day, looking for opportunities to surface in your life, and being ready to receive the things that you want. I tend to do this on my own by recalling the many things that I already have in my life to be thankful for when I wake up, noticing and appreciating all of the things I love throughout the day, and feeling gratitude for all the things that I'm ready to receive. I believe the universe is always presenting us with choices so that we can find the things we love and claim what we want in life. If your cup of tea is getting ideas from your horoscope of what to claim today, then I fully support your decision and hope that the power of that attractive force brings you everything you desire. We all create together, and, if reading your horoscope and creating positive things in your life is one of your pleasures, then I hope you can also see that your positivity benefits everyone around you as well. Thank you for reading, and may your sign endlessly smile upon every aspect of your life.

~Luke

astronomy
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.