Futurism logo

I fought for 18 years, and it had nothing to do with you or coffee

I fought for 18 years, and it had nothing to do with you or coffee

By Ethan McclendonPublished 11 months ago 7 min read
Like

Six years ago, in "I struggled for 18 years to Have Coffee with You," Maze told a somewhat helpless and poignant story. The title of Youyou's 2007 article, "I have struggled for 18 Years, Not to have Coffee with You," cheered me up, thinking that it would express a similar attitude towards life to mine. However, it is a pity that reading the complete article with full hope brings almost disappointment. The whole article is almost another version of Maze's story, revealing more than endless bitterness and bitterness. But fortunately, the last four paragraphs of Youyou's essay resonated with me again: "I didn't struggle for 18 years to have coffee with you." But not enough. Let me write this article, like my predecessors.

At that time, I was 25 years old and just one year after I graduated with a master's degree. When I was busy in the office, I received a phone call from you from the other side of the ocean. Your clever daughter had been born, and you felt infinite glory as the continuation of your life. Listen to your excited voice, some trembling, to send a heartfelt blessing, I can hardly avoid a trace of melancholy, you have just become a father, but I even around who will be unknown.

Recall the day when you first met in the university campus, you were wearing a brand name T-shirt, sneakers, showing white teeth typical city sunshine boy smile to me, my feet on a few dollars of flip-flops, wearing a "X big, century university" school round neck T-shirt, also with a silly, simple smile.

When you moved nearly 20,000 computers from your home to your dormitory for entertainment in your freshman year, I haven't even seen what a computer, mouse and keyboard are. I touch them with curiosity and fear that my carelessness will lead to the destruction of these high-tech gadgets. Looking at me carefully, you laugh, wave to me, "come, come, come, play games together, very fun". I did not feel any strange, a buttock sat on the head of your bed, happy to listen to you explain PC games, online games, online chat and other never heard of the new.

When you make layups one after another on the basketball court, attracting a piece of screaming girls at the same time, I can only cheer for you, because I have not touched the basketball since childhood, let alone how professional training.

While you were comfortably skipping classes in bed, I was always sitting in the front row of the classroom, listening honestly, because I knew that your pops could easily get the teachers to give you a good grade, and that I had to rely on this, if not very useful, knowledge to enrich myself.

Countless students have asked, how can you and I become such good friends? You two have such a different level of life? One is the famous young, rich, handsome guy in the department and the whole school, and the other is the poor kid who signs up for the work-study program on time every year? How can you be friends? Is it the legend that you always need to find in me as a "noble" superiority? For this kind of problem, I always feel ridiculous and helpless, your rich, rich, handsome have nothing to do with me, my poverty, work-study and you have anything to do with, thousands of dollars of Adi and a few dollars of sandals are set inside is just a pair of feet, just because of the price of shoes can explain the price of feet?

But you get worried, you seem to start to fear that your "showing off" is causing me untold distress, so you change yourself, you also try to wear ordinary sneakers that cost $100 or $200, and you stop spraying yourself with fancy men's perfume that is said to cost thousands of dollars a bottle from France, and one day, out of nowhere, you find a "X size, The University of the Century "school T-shirt on the body, and then happy to me giggle. I was sitting on your bed is happily playing games, suddenly look back to see you that silly full body dress, suddenly was thunder crackling, wow ha ha laugh out of breath, but the heart is a warm. You and I belong to friends, but it does not mean that our life pattern should be unified, wearing brand-name you and typical poor students dress up when I stand together, as long as we don't feel uncomfortable, then other people's eyes why care.

After graduation, you successfully found a good job in your hometown with an annual salary of more than 100,000 yuan. I also successfully enrolled in a postgraduate program. In order to pay off the student loan as soon as possible, I began to work on projects for my tutor every day and night. My tutor is not as mean as the "boss" that most of the graduate students complain about on the Internet. He always gives me a higher labor fee than others intentionally or unintentionally. From the daily telephone contact with you, I also know that you have successfully got a house, successfully found a beautiful girlfriend, and the Don is planning to move your family to the other side of the ocean. Lest my excitement hurt me. I smiled happily, genuinely happy for your happy life, you have your own lifestyle, and I have to continue to run around in the tutor's lab.

You came to Beijing on business and came to see me in school. I invited a guest for you for the first time, to the north gate of the school roadside stall bought a case of beer and hundreds of meat skewers, I listen to you talk about countless proud and frustrated, while offering beer to our lost youth. As you were leaving, you tapped me on the shoulder and said, "Brother, this is the best meal I've had since graduation. You need to graduate early, find a partner early, buy a house early. Everything is going up in price these days." I smiled and made no reply. I know I should have graduated sooner, found a partner sooner, bought a house sooner, but when I saw an undergraduate with no background graduate earning less than my mentor's monthly living expenses after enrollment expansion, when I didn't know how a poor kid from the mountains could stop the girl he loved from getting on the bus while pregnant, Finding a wife and buying a house seemed so far away to me when I could not raise the 200,000 to 300,000 yuan down payment even though I knew that the house price would continue to climb rapidly.

Fortunately, I graduated smoothly with my master's degree, and my tutor took good care of me and directly introduced me to a reasonably good unit. After the phone call, you were very happy and congratulated me on finally becoming a Beijinger. I smiled and said, "We two brothers, also come to these things?" Heart but leisurely sigh, is to become a so-called Beijing people is my goal of 18 years of struggle? The old parents at home are already old, but they are alone in the city struggle, "parents in, do not travel", when can in this mixed big city down roots, when can let the parents still overworked home calm down, easily enjoy the Qingfu they should have enjoyed.

Fortunately, although the pressure is big, ambition is still in, when I walked side by side with you, I did not care about other people's eyes, now in the big city of Beijing struggle, I still do not feel the panic of material desire to eat people. The old mother said well, "Where there is life, there is more fighting", and it is good to put some peace of mind, life is unfair, the same material living conditions, if you use 1 year, then I will use 3 years.

My story is also the story of a first-generation immigrant in a big city. But different from wheat, I can harvest summer rice in the rice field under the sun in July in my hometown, and let the hot sun leave a series of skins on the skin of my back. I can also dress up and accompany my leaders to argue with foreigners at the business negotiation table. In my bones, there has never been the so-called feeling of inferiority. When people ask me what my origin is, I just smile "small place, from the countryside". When others laugh at my southern accent, I just smile "no way, home accent heavy". Because I believe that under the appearance of high and low dress, our soul is not high and low. We are all fighting in this world, fighting for a better life for our families. We are all excellent, and we are proud of ourselves.

I fought for 18 years, and it had nothing to do with you or coffee

evolution
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.