Futurism logo

I am not Afraid

How my Interest in Extraterrestrials Began

By Sara PaynePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
I Believe.

I’m a person who likes to be present as often as I can. This means I’m not thinking about the past or the future, just the moments that are happening right now. It’s taken me my entire life to figure out how to do this, and even still, I find myself getting lost in my thoughts.

I’ve recently gone on another one of my benders, diving into the seemingly endless “rabbit hole” of information on aliens. I came across a Joe Rogan interview with Travis Walton, and for those of you that don’t know, Travis has one of the most famous alien-abduction stories ever recorded in human history (aside from Betty & Barney Hill). The year was 1975 and he was working on a logging contract here in Arizona along with 6 other individuals. They were near Black Canyon lake in the Sitgreaves National Forest, just outside of Heber, when on their way home they all encountered an extraterrestrial space craft. Travis, for reasons unknown, decided to exit the vehicle and approach the craft. The other 6 men, scared for their life I’m sure, watched in awe as their friend was struck by a beam of light emanating from the craft. At this point, the men panicked and drove off in a hurry, assuming Travis was likely dead. As soon as they got their wits about them, they knew they could not leave Travis behind. They rushed back to go get him, but alas, the craft and Travis had disappeared.

Travis was gone for 5 days, before coming back to Earth. There are so many documented details, police reports, lie detector test, and staggering amounts of compelling evidence bringing credibility to Travis’s story. They even made a movie about him in 1993 called “Fire in the Sky”! He is now 68 years old, and still feels the need to talk about his experience. I urge you to listen to what he has to say, so you may form your own opinion on the matter.

I’ve been interested in aliens for as long as I can remember, and no, it was not because of all the Hollywood movies I watched. When I was between the ages of 3 and 5 years old, I had my first experience with an extraterrestrial. I recognize that I may not have the credibility Travis has, but I certainly know it in myself to be true that my experience did happen to me. My mother and I’s neighbor at the time had a condo in Mexico right on the beach. It was very old and didn’t have electricity, but nonetheless, my mom jumped at the opportunity to stay there when our neighbor gave us the offer. I remember bits and pieces from our stay, but the one thing I never forgot, was the night before we left for home.

It was hot in the condo at night, so we decided to put our sleeping bags on the balcony of the second floor. I was a kid who often had trouble falling asleep at night, so it was no surprise to me that I ended up staying awake much longer than my mother that evening. I was gazing up at the blanket of stars that luminated above me, when I heard a dog barking nearby. I could barely see over the balcony, being that I was about 3 feet tall, but I could see the ground if I was standing on my tippy toes. I saw what looked like a golden retriever standing on the beach, barking loudly at the sky. I tried to wake up my mom, but I had no such luck. When I peered over the balcony for a second time, I could hardly believe what I saw.

About 50 feet from the balcony, was a saucer shaped craft resting on the sand. There was a hazy glow of light surrounding the vehicle, and a ramp had been dropped on the underside of the craft down to the ground. There was an intense amount of light coming from the opening. The dog was standing right at the end of the ramp, no longer barking, when I saw something that began to emerge from the craft. I watched frozen in fear as a hand came into view. This hand had much longer fingers than ours and was reaching for the dog. I snapped out of my frigid stance peering over the balcony and began trying to wake my mother up immediately. She told me to go back to bed, and then fell back into her slumber. When I finally worked up enough courage to look over the balcony again, I saw no sign of the craft… or the dog.

Now the reason I’ve shared that particular experience, is to give context on why I had an overwhelming fear of aliens for so many years. Hollywood didn’t help much with that either. When I stopped living a life lead by fear, I developed an eager interest in learning about these beings from other worlds. My journey on this topic still continues today. I had the opportunity to go visit Travis’s abduction site this last Thursday, so needless to say I was on the road before the blink of an eye. I had a marvelous time wandering through the woods, and I was astounded to see so many lightening struck trees. In fact, the particular region of the Sitgreaves forest I was visiting is known to having the highest number of lighting-strikes on the continental U.S. (second to the Everglades which is over water). It made me wonder if maybe that had something to do with the alien activity.

I returned home from my trip with more questions than answers, and as far as I’m concerned, those questions will be the fuel that leads me into the future.

extraterrestrial
1

About the Creator

Sara Payne

I’m a resident of planet earth & I have been here for almost 24 years. It is truly lovely to be able to call this miraculous place “home”. I’m here to soak in the moments of life & appreciate all that life has to offer me. To live is a gift

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.