Futurism logo

I Am a Mess

An Introduction to the "Why" Behind The Not So Christian Blog

By The Not So Christian BlogPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’m a hot mess. Superficially, my life is pretty decent: I have a cute boyfriend, a good job in my field, and a savings account (yes, I just bragged about having a saving account and what?!) But spiritually—it’s like Judas took a dump on the floor of a gas station bathroom after wolfing down five burrito bowls from Chipotle. I’m not even exaggerating. I have this weird hole that I can’t fill. And I always thought that phrase was cliche but for me it’s not. It’s a hole that can’t be filled with recreational drugs, drinking, dick, or quality time with friends. Because on paper I have everything I need to feel... full. But I’m not.

And I’m not a nonbeliever or a person discovering God and the gang for the first time: I was born in the church. I was raised by good Christian folk who go to church every Sunday regardless of the weather and never even touch a sin. But I believe that those two elements are part of the reason why I have strayed so far from Christ. I always felt like I was putting on a show. I wasn’t doing the “right” thing because of my intrinsic motivation to do it but because the church told me I’d burn in eternal hellfire if I didn’t and my parents told me they’d disown me. Meanwhile, half of the time I felt as if they only wanted me to be a “good Christian” so that all of the other “good Christians” could see how good I was being.

So I grew to resent them. And the church. And God. And therein lies the hole. Because I’m learning it’s not God's fault that I was fed the Word on a dirt-encrusted spoon. It’s not God that’s the problem but how He was presented to me. But in the time it took me to realize that, I made a mess of my spiritual life: and I have questions. I have tasted the world and I can’t possibly be that “good Christian” that those in my life want me to be. If I’m going back there’s a lot of things that I have to figure out first—on my terms. And I share this journey with you in hopes that if you are in a place with the weird hole that endless bottles of Moscato can’t fill, that this will help.

religion
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.