Futurism logo

How I used ChatGPT to become the best Student of my class

How to work smarter in an outdated academic system that wants you to work harder

By There is Something...Published about a year ago 4 min read
Like

I have always been driven to get the best grades in school, as they sadly tend to determine whether or not your future can be spent successfully living your dreams.

My biggest struggle in school has always been to stay on top of all assignments while still owning the essence of a life. The German school system can be grounding when it wants to fill you up with useless, outdated information that trains you for nothing but complying with any future boss and acting the way he or she wants you to. Sounds successful for 100 years ago, but what about preparing adolescents for a life in the 21st century?

Everything changed when I found out about schools in the US banning a tool called “ChatGPT”

This was my chance to use the weakness of my school system against it. Why would they ban something so innovative anytime soon?

I took my chance on the next useless assignment my German teacher found useful to give us. Finishing the assignment with ChatGPT was way easier than expected but also a little bit of work since I had to make it seem like my own work.

Here is how I generated the perfect solution to my assignment:

Step 1: exactly filtering what the assignment wants.

Before turning to my new mate, ChatGPT, I read my assignment a few times. Doing this, I found out what information my text had to contain as well as what specific knowledge I already had to provide in order to generate a good result. I created a list of short bullet points containing the information from previous lessons that I knew my teacher wanted to hear. This helped me organize my thoughts and present them in a clear and concise manner. Additionally, I researched and included relevant examples to support my arguments and make my future assignment more convincing.

Step 2: creating a broad outline.

Now that I had all the essential information to feed ChatGPT, I created a request containing my bullet points. To get the best results, it was helpful to add the exact assignment text that my teacher had given me, as well as the note to write it in a more informal way. This already led to a pretty good outline of my text, which I copied into a separate editor.

Step 3: filling in the details.

Afterwards, I looked closer at the areas on which my text especially had to focus. This gave me ideas for more specific questions I could ask ChatGPT in order to get more specific texts on the aspects that I had to cover in detail, which helped a lot in expanding the length of my assignment. After generating more detailed texts (and already fact-checking them based on the vague idea I had from listening in class), I inserted them at fitting points in my outline that I had previously copied into my editor.

Rinse and repeat.

Step 4: fact-checking to avoid scamming one’s own success.

This is the most important part of not getting caught: ensuring that all of the information in your text is correct or can be a product of interpretation.

Here, you have to be highly attentive and careful. Your teacher will instantly know if a fact in your assignment is false, as he or she has studied the school subject which your assignment belongs to. You only have one shot at being caught using ChatGPT; afterwards, no teacher will believe in the authenticity of your assignments ever again, which could result in worse grades than before. Even if some sentences sound really smart with their included facts, throw them out of your assignment; it will still be outstanding for the short amount of time you invested.

Step 5: adding some flavor.

The final part of creating a great assignment solution with ChatGPT is reading through it and thinking about how you would have formed the sentences. There are a few techniques on how to spot AI-generated texts, which especially focus on the missing human essence of your assignment. Exchange hard-to-read words if they are useless terms that are not needed for the topic you write about. Yes, effectively, you are reducing the quality of your assignment, but human texts are not perfect. Your teacher will most likely not expect you to spend huge amounts of your free time on the assignment, at least not the amount needed to create a nearly perfect one. So step back and enjoy the benefits you have in front of you: a nearly perfect text that took you the time to write a mediocre to bad text without help.

Pro tip: add some small mistakes in grammar or use of words to make your text even more authentic, especially if you need to submit the text instead of reading it out in class.

In the end, using ChatGPT can greatly improve the quality of your assignment solution. However, it is important to read through and add some human essence to the text to make it more authentic. While it may not be perfect, it will still be a vast improvement from a mediocre or bad text without the help of ChatGPT. Additionally, adding small mistakes in grammar or word usage can make the text even more authentic.

Congratulations! You’ve successfully utilized a tool to do the work for you and made it look like your own! Your teacher will never suspect a thing. Just be sure to pat yourself on the back for being such a clever little cheater.

Now, how did I become the best student in my grade?

I used the time I saved on creating extraordinary assignments in language-related subjects, which I now created with ChatGPT, on STEM-related subjects like math, chemistry, or data science, where I practiced to get better. The overall results? I let ChatGPT do my homework in “easier” subjects and spent the spare time from doing so by studying “harder” subjects, so I improved significantly in harder subjects while still generating outstanding grades in the languages.

techhow tofantasyevolutionartificial intelligence
Like

About the Creator

There is Something...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.