Futurism logo

Horns of Nature

This is a short story about a young girl that grew horns but never knew why. This tale is where she discovers why.

By Ellis KoolmanPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I couldn’t remember the first time someone took real notice of my horns. The distrust and hatred they displayed towards me was too much for me to bare. So I ran into the woods to hide. That was my first mistake. The second was trusting others. There was a research facility nearby, and when they caught wind of my being in their woods, they took their shot and hit. I went with them; I wanted to be normal. I didn’t want to be this weird thing that just existed. I was like the gods of the old times, yet it felt so new. Like a disease that sprung alive within me, and there wasn’t anything someone could do. My horns grew so fast, and so heavy they felt like a crown forced upon my head. I felt so angry, but I couldn't change a thing.

This was when I was 10. And they captured me six months later. I was a damn fool for believing that someone would appreciate me for me. That mistake I won’t make again. This time, the world will burn before me. Long enough have I had to live with the pain. Long enough in the dark of people. This time, I shine my own light.

The lights flicker again and it goes dark. This time, the power did shut off. The metallic cage they had put me in opened on its own, and for a brief moment freedom was in sight. But I knew better. I waited until I was certain no one would come. I got up and walked out, no chains to bind me. Nothing to stop me. I knew the layout of the building. I was brought everywhere, but to where outside would be. I discharged the path of which I was certain where it led. I followed into the dark unknown. There had to be an outside. There must be. In the hall ahead I hear rushed footsteps, followed by gunshots. A fight, but with what? It wasn't me, but then whom? I hid in a dark corner, tucking my tail tight on my back. I nearly blended in to the shadows.

And even though standing straight hurts me, it was needed for my escape. Pain was only a feeling, and feelings were to be ignored. That's what all those years had taught me. Feel nothing, and you live longer. Feel something, and you'll die faster.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.