Futurism logo

Hiding in the Light

Rural Fantasy Chapter 3

By John Randolph Skinner IVPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

If you were to go looking for a group of radical Magicians trying to upset the Community, Mountain Home Arkansas would be the last place you would think to look. About ten years ago a few of the more intelligent Restorationists in the area realized that made it the best place to set up shop. They were careful not to draw attention to themselves or to reveal the secret. And so for the most part the Clave just let them be. That is not to say there was nobody watching their actions just in case. Any group that was interested in upsetting the apple-cart would always be under some sort of scrutiny. And there were enough of the nervous types on the council that were certain total ruin was just around the corner, that they made sure to keep an eye on folks that so far had never caused any real trouble.

While I knew that the local cell did not actively participate in the more extreme methods some other cells did, I also was aware they kept in touch with a variety of cells. They were in fact one of the better networks for information among the Magical community. If something happened anywhere near one cell, pretty soon every other cell would know about it. Especially if it might be used towards the aims of their group. Which was, unfortunately, something of a double edged blade. On the one hand we might be able to get information on Edgars if he were in the area. On the other hand if Edgars were to be associating with one of the extremist cells, they would find out we were looking for him. Situations like that made me question my career choices.

The coffee house wasn't all that fancy, just a small building with “Coffee” painted on the front window. I had always felt that they could have gone with something a little more original, but then again my cats' names were Black Cat, Grey Cat and Other Cat so who am I to judge? There were only a few cars out front, and I recognized Charlie's old blue VW Beetle. I don't know what Charlie did besides drink coffee and work at changing the law to let Magicians live openly alongside Mundanes. He had to have some other interests to need a car to get around. I suppose he also had to live somewhere, but I was so used to seeing him at the coffee house that the thought of him having another home never entered my mind. I parked my truck next to the bug and headed inside.

Walking inside I briefly felt like one of those marshals in an old western, going into a saloon to confront a bandit. Then I realized the radio was playing a Taylor Swift song and it took me right out of the moment. At least it was something I had heard before, nothing like stopping to try identifying an unfamiliar song to take the edge off an otherwise menacing entrance. Charlie was sitting at his usual table in the back of the room. Two of his cronies sat on either side of him. He would almost look like some sort of crime boss if he weren't wearing a Gryffindor tee shirt. I didn't know who he thought he was fooling, Charlie was a Hufflepuff if there ever was one.

When he spotted me he scowled. “What has the Clave council decided I've done now?” I smiled as I pulled a chair over to his table. “As far as I know, you're in the clear for now.” He looked as if he were trying to decide whether to be angry with me for joining him without an invitation, or surprised I wasn't there to bust him for something. “As a matter of fact, I was hoping you could help me keep the Clave from interfering with you for a little bit.” Charlie managed to look both interested and skeptical at the same time. “So what does the council want in return for leaving us alone?” I shook my head, “This is just me talking. And I'm going to explain how this will help you.” He gestured at me to continue. I pointed my thumb at Mather. “Salem is looking for someone in order to ask some questions with regards to a Coven back in their jurisdiction. A Coven that had ties to your movement.”

I held up a hand to forestall his protests. “I know its a pretty thin connection. But you and I both know the Crows have been sent out on much less.” Charlie's face paled even more than usual at the mention of the Special Ops teams. “What I need from you is to send out some feelers. See if you can find out if he's in the area. In return I tell the council that you are aiding my investigation. That way they don't feel the need to get overly involved.” He looked at me with a measuring expression on his face. “That doesn't seem like much of a deal.” I shrugged, “It really isn't. However it is much better than you'll get once the council decides you're hiding our man. Whether or not he's actually anywhere near any of your cells.”

I stood up, “You know how to find me if you decide to play it smart.” With that we headed back outside. As we headed for the truck Mather asked me, “Do you really think he'll call you? He doesn't seem the type to cooperate with authorities.” I shrugged as I climbed into the drivers seat. “Once he thinks it over and figures out a way to make it seem as if he's doing me a favor, he'll call. More importantly, did you notice what he didn't ask?” He stopped in the act of buckling up and looked at me quizzically. “What he didn't ask? He barely asked anything?” As I started the truck and backed out I chuckled. “Think it over for a bit. It'll come to you.”

We had only gone a couple of miles before he looked down at the folder on the seat. “You never told him who we were looking for. Never showed him the photo.” He frowned , “How would he be able to find Edgars if he doesn't know who to look for?” I smiled, “Unless of course he already knows about a new Shaper that connected with one of the Restorationist cells in the area.” I sobered up after that. “If he had been part of a moderate cell Charlie would have been defensive. Welcome to bad.”

After a moment of silence, Mather went all official playbook. “So we tell Commissioner Fontane what we know and get a special ops team to bring in your pal Charlie.” I heaved out a sigh but avoided rolling my eyes. “The thing is, what we know is actually just conjecture. We don't really have any proof.” He shot me that puzzled look that I was starting to get used to. “Didn't you just tell Charlie that the council has acted on less?” I gave a sharp nod. “Yes they have. And Commissioner Fontane would most likely do so now. The problem is, I would like to have a shot at actually getting this guy.”

He raised an eyebrow, “So this is ego?” I snorted, “Hell no, experience. Those special ops teams are great at tracking down rouges that make a big noise. They specialize in raids and the like usually targeting someone that needs putting down. Within those limits their track record is near flawless. Against groups like the Restorationists they have yet to get any real results. They could pick up Charlie easily enough, however the rest of the cells would quietly scatter. By the time the Crows got Charlie to an interrogation room any information he has will be useless.”

Mather slumped back in his seat. “So what do we do next?” I nodded to the clock on the dash. “Well right now I head back to drop you at your hotel. Tomorrow is going to get interesting, so you should probably rest up.” He opened his mouth as if he were about to ask a question, then shut it again with a popping sound. We were out of town and heading for the border before he finally asked. “For the record, how interesting do you think things might get?” I gave him a lopsided grim, “Don't worry kid. If you die on my watch I'd be stuck filling out forms for days. I have too much else to do with my time to let that happen.” His face took on a dead pan expression. “You have no idea how reassuring that is.”

I laughed for a few moments. “Seriously though, best case is whatever cell Edgars has hooked up with puts a hold on their plans until they can figure out how much we know. Meanwhile they take steps to eliminate us.” His eyebrows raced for his hairline. “I almost hate to ask, but what would be the worst case scenario?” I glanced at him out of the corner of my eye. “We have this figured all wrong, Edgars isn't here and we spend the next several days chasing a ghost.” He sat and stared at me for a few miles. “You and I have vastly different ideas of best and worst.”

I don't know which Clave was footing the bill for his hotel, but they went for a nice one. Easy walking distance to some of the local theaters. As well as a fancy restaurant attached to the lobby. We should be treated that well on field assignments. I usually wound up in cheap motels in the middle of nowhere, spotty cable reception, and gas station snack bars for meals. Unless of course I agreed to pay for my own food, which after one too many lukewarm burritos became my new normal when in the field.

When Mather climbed out he looked back at me. “What should I be doing tonight? Is there someway to get ready for whatever it is that is coming?” I shook my head, “Just take it easy tonight. Go see a show, I hear there are some good ones around here.” He frowned so I explained. “You won't be any good to anyone if you're stressed out. Just remember, I'll be here early tomorrow so be ready to go. No hangovers.” He nodded but didn't seem convinced. “Look, kid, I have an hour of diving ahead of me before I get home. So just trust me when I say they won't be able to put anything together to throw at us until tomorrow at the earliest. So take a night to relax.”

Leaving Mather to decide how to take it easy for the night, I headed back to my house. I honestly needed the time to think things through without a rookie hanging on waiting to see if he should be nervous. What I really needed was a file on Mather. Things were likely to get feisty soon, and I would rather have some idea of the capabilities of the person I would be facing trouble alongside. The council of the Salem Clave could have all the confidences in Mather's abilities as they liked. Out here it would be my butt on the line. The only thing I disliked more than not knowing what my opponents could do, was not knowing my allies abilities.

Of course in this instance not only did I not have any of that information, I didn't even know for certain who we would be going up against. I thought over the works of Sun Tsu. Know yourself and know your enemy and you will not be endangered in a hundred battles. Know yourself and not your enemy and you will win one battle and lose one battle. If you don't know yourself and don't know your enemy you will be endangered in every battle. Or as Clint Eastwood put it “This is a cluster fuck.” Maybe I should take a day to work with Mather in some training situations. At least then we might have a fifty fifty shot at getting through this. That was of course if we could spare the day, which generally meant that we couldn't.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.