Futurism logo

Heaven's Entryway (Part 1)

It's twisted, for sure, but we are all in serious trouble and don't know it.

By Cassandra FreitasPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like
Heaven's Passage-Way

They say that when you die, usually your life flashes before your eyes. Would I fast forward through all my memories or feel an overwhelming sense of love? Could all we imagine death to be just a lie? Perhaps it's more like the lights going out and boom—instant blackness. Is death just absolutely nothing?

I've pondered over this for years, an obsession you could say, and I've longed for the answer. But what I didn't realize, is that I would soon discover the truth. We all live our lives each day, passing the date of our death, and are totally unaware of it or what it even means to die. It's sort of creepy, actually, and it scares me. I think it's the unknown that makes me tremble the most.

I've always pictured myself getting married, having children, and growing old and gray. Sometimes when I look in the mirror, I try to envision myself with wrinkles and wonder if I would age well. It's silly, really, but the end has always been a touchy subject for me. Isn't it truly awful to come into this world, learn all this knowledge, see all these beautiful things just to one day lose it all? Even worse, not knowing you once had it and lost it? The fact of the matter is, all we can do is pray- maybe that's why religion is so popular. It's a means of coping with the uncertainty faith we all face in the end- death.

I'm often lost in thought or day dreaming. My imagination runs wild and takes me on the most extraordinary adventures whilst in my dreams. I've come to understand that we may know so much, yet there's so much to learn. Today's the day it all happens, though I don't know what's coming. I'll get all the answers I've been waiting for as well as a glimpse of what's to be. I can feel it.

As I lay in my bed, with my eyes still shut, my mind continues to race. I know I have to get up and start my day, but I wish there was more to life than this. I finally open my eyes. "Thank-goodness for sight," I remind myself. I don't know what I would do if I couldn't see this beautiful world we live in.

I stagger out of bed, guide my feet into the worn-out fuzzy slippers at my bedside, and make my way into the kitchen; my robe's belt dragging behind me on the ground. The coffee pot is my best friend every morning. I stand there against the counter as my coffee brews and I hear rustling outside my apartment door. I don't think too much about it. Moments later I hear my door crash open and a man, dressed in all black with a mask covering his face enters my kitchen. I'm frozen.

My heart-rate increases, my palms are sweating and the only thing I hear is the sound of the gunshot. My view from the ground isn't the greatest, but everything is dull. The coffee pot, still running in the background, is the only sound I can hear as my world fades.

You don't know when your last day in life will be, but in that moment lying on the floor, I knew. There was no denying it. It's as if these extra senses in me had come to life and time stood still; the coffee pot pouring hot coffee was the only thing to represent time had continued on without me. And so I got my answers. A little sooner than I had hoped. It indeed faded to black, but my mind was still there. Still. Silent. But existent.

I had opened my eyes and my vision was nothing but a blur. It's as though I needed the strongest prescription out there in order to see anything. I looked around unit I came insight with a clear image. A bright light engulfed in blackness. Like a bug attracted to a light, I followed until I had been fully submerged into it and my vision came back clearly. It looked as though I had walked straight into the middle of a park. I looked around me to find nothing but fields of grass, flowers and trees. A man sat on the only park bench in sight for miles. He was reading a book when I approached him. He smiled, placed a bookmark inside to save his place and closed it. When his eyes locked with mine, I could feel a sense of relief. He motioned me to sit with him and I did. He took in a deep breath of air, and I copied.

"It's been a long wait, my friend, but you made it," he said to me, keeping his gaze in front of him. His voice deep, and soothing. It calmed me a little.

"Made it where? Where am I?" I ask, staring at him, hoping to break his gaze.

Finally he turns to me and said genuinely, "Heaven's Passage-Way. The entryway can be a long turmoil for most, but your wait is over."

Was I dreaming, or could this really be? I glanced at the book resting on his lap. "What's that you're reading?" I asked. He lifts the book, the bookmark's tassel hanging out from the top of the book.

"This here? Why, this is your story. It's quite interesting you know. You're an exquisite person. It's an honor to meet someone with your imagination and... curiosity."

"I see you've only made it halfway through my story then. You don't quite know how I die yet," I wonder why he said curiosity with such question in his voice.

"Well, actually, the thing is... your story isn't complete just yet. I've put my bookmark here because this is where you die. A murder, am I correct?" His words peek my curiosity.

"Yes..."

"You see," he flips through the remaining pages, "These pages here are all blank," He snaps the book shut and raised it up. "There's more to your story, it just hasn't happened yet!"

"I guess I don't understand."

"You've been pulled from Heaven's entryway, which you know as life on planet Earth, because it was your turn. All those awaiting their fate are placed on Earth to wait out their time. When your time is up, you move on. In other terms you would understand better: die."

And so life was really just a waiting room to get into Heaven, and we are all just plucked when it's our turn in line.

"Who are you?" I ask.

He chuckles, "Not God, if that's what your thinking. No, I'm the Greeter. It's an interesting place, really. We all have different places. We, as Greeters, help by learning about the new admits, read their story, and determine where they go next on their journey to Heaven or Hell. Everyone starts out innocent with the intent on returning home to Heaven, but not everyone makes the best decisions or impressions while in Heaven's Entryway. We await your arrival, here in Heaven's Passage-Way, to inform you of your fate," a few moment's of silence pass by.

"Listen," his eyes get wide with what seems like fear, "It's not really your time though. That's why your book has all these blank pages. But there's trouble, here, just beyond Heaven's Gates, and you were hand selected along with a few others to help us during this dire time."

I stare blankly at him, blinking profusely. I begin repeating the same thought in my head: I'm just in a crazy dream.

"If you, and the team selected, succeed in your mission, you can happily return to Heaven's Entryway to finish out the remainder of your original time there," he stared at me as if he was waiting for an answer. I guess he was, because he followed up with the sentence, "However, if you decline, you'd wished you were really dead."

It felt as though I was being threatened, punishable by death, but the catch was that I was already deceased! This was a lot to take in and wrap my mind around. But his eyes showed me that he was genuinely fearful of something. If Heaven is what we were all waiting for and it was currently in some sort of danger, then this was serious. Buy why me? Though I don't understand why they chose me, there was one thing I did understand.

Heaven was in trouble, and I needed to do all that I could to help.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Cassandra Freitas

I'm a 23 year old girl who is interested in many different things all at once! I'm a huge animal lover, spend too much time experimenting with makeup, am fascinated too easily by space and forever will be curious by the unknown.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.