Futurism logo

Gemini - The Two of Us

Inside the workings of a split mind

By Emily PricePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Gemini - The Two of Us
Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

I'm never lonely. There is always a second person inside my head, waiting to debate with me. It's me, but another me - the quintessential Gemini, or more correctly the “twinessential” me. A mirror image of an opinion, equal, opposite and maddeningly accurate. My head is regularly split in two.

Being a dual person has its benefits - I can always see the other side of an argument and find it surprisingly easy to fit inside someone else’s shoes. Being able to pick up an issue and examine it from both sides is definitely an asset and one that I've made a career from, negotiation deals and looking for the "win win". I find it easy to shed this skin and inhabit another, just to see what it feels like, from the other side.

Geminis are meant to be flighty, untrustworthy and "two faced", but that's not how my nature showed up. For an air sign I'm ridiculously anchored to the earth and constantly aware of gravity. I am not flighty, or mercurial, I'm more dense than that, a solid object with two sides. I'm dependable. I'm reliable.

The downside of being two sided is that seeing everything can put you on the fence. Invariably life is not black or white, but a rainbow of shades of grey. When you see all options and none of them work, it is just so much easier to sit, with your twin, on the fence. I know how maddening this can be to those around me. It must be my "twin" spirit intertwined with my "Pig" Chinese year of birth. When a solid comfort loving creature, like a pig, mingles with an airy, lightweight soul of a Gemini, of course things are going to get interesting, and potentially heavy.

Do I believe in astrology and the traits that are assigned to 12 clusters on a calendar that represent obscure stars across the sky and across the eons? Why not! It is no more or less crazy than anything else we believe in. Our efforts to explain why we exist, on this rock, hurtling through space, with all these feelings and sensations that we have, for no apparent reason, are so many and varied – from the gods to a God and everything in between. Why not believe that we have been catalogued and profiled neatly into air, water, fire and earth and subdivided again into the characteristics of mythical beasts and creatures. It is as logical and illogical as ever other idea we’ve ever come up with.

As a Gemini, I have no idea what moon was rising, or what planet was going backwards when I was born. I can’t even tell you what time I was born at as my mother hadn’t thought it important enough to take note (I was the last child of many and the novelty of giving birth had definitely worn off!). But, my mother would read me my horoscope from the Sunday paper every week and that would set a road map for whether my week would be good or bad;

“Gemini - This week expect delays with travel plans and possible miscommunications”.

That would inevitably become a self-fulfilling prophecy. I’d creep cautiously through my week unconsciously attracting the very thing I wanted to avoid. Is that the Law of Attraction or the luck of the astrological draw? Who knows!

That all said what I value most of my Gemini mind, in my Pig like spirit, is the fact that I can take flights of fancy but remain tethered to the ground. My moods and twin chatter are mellowed by my comfort loving Pig. I am a helium balloon tied to a deeply rooted tree. My mind flies freely, rooted in reality, checked for sanity, all angles examined. It is exhausting, but all these parts make my dual nature whole. I wouldn’t have it any other way, or would I?

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Emily Price

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.