Futurism logo

Flicker World

A Book Review

By TangerinehippiestudiosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

     Flicker World by Brian Cramer is a lovely romance novel. It is about a newlywed couple who are just starting out in life with a new house. The husband gets a new job with an old friend which pays very well. However, his new job has a secret which turns his whole world upside down and messes with the timeline of the story. It is a Sci-Fi romance novel with time travel involved.

     I am not a huge fan of stories that deal with time travel. I have a hard time with books and movies that mess with the regular timeline. So, I had a difficult time getting through this read but it was not a bad book. I was just not a fan of the whole timeline of the story. I get way too involved in the characters’ emotions so this book was very emotional for me to read. My brain just works like that so another brain may find this more interesting than I did.

     While I am not a huge fan of stories that mess with the timeline, the writing itself was very good. The author conveys a lot of emotions in the characters and makes the readers form a connection with them throughout the story. I was on an emotional roller coaster from the beginning all the way until the end. I really do like this author’s writing style.

     I rate this book a 3 out of 4 stars. I am not a huge fan of books like these but the author has a way of capturing the readers attention so that it distracts you from the time warp going on in the middle of the story. This book was very well-written to the point where you forget the changing timeline and really get involved in the characters’ lives. In my opinion that is the sign of a great author.

    I highly recommend this book to those readers who love Sci-Fi and travel. I also would say that those who love romance may like this book as well. It is a nice little read for people of all ages. However, there are some swear words so take caution if you let your kids read more adult themed language. All in all this book was a very easy and pretty fun read. It was not my usual cup of tea but I did enjoy the little things involved in the story line.

Here is a poem I wrote that is inspired by this book:

The emotion today is fear

Never feeling here

Only wet from a tear

Falling into a beer

Everything is queer

Frozen as a deer

Ending feeling near

Faith stuck in the rear

Evil lurks in leer

Cogs in brain’s gear

Lost control to steer

Jumping off the pier

Joke don’t jeer

Look don’t peer

Thank you again to all who read this review and support my writing. Please feel free to let me know what else I should review whether it be a movie or a book. I am open to suggestions. I have also been thinking of writing Disney movie reviews by going in order that the films were released. How do you guys feel about that?

I really do enjoy receiving input about what I write and if you guys would like to read more. Your support and your thoughts are very important to me and help me to improve as a writer as well as an artist. I really do enjoy being on this platform and can’t believe that I get any reads at all. Thank you so much and I hope to write more soon. I have just been busy lately and hope to write more often.

book review
1

About the Creator

Tangerinehippiestudios

☮️Inspired by the inspiration around me☮️Get inspired to change the world☮️Or take a look at mine☮️My aura is orange and bleeds throughout my words☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.