Futurism logo

Fire Sign

feel the heat

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I’m a Sagittarian. Come closer. Let me hug you. From head to toe. I’m true to my zodiac form. No need to duck or hide. I have an arrow and hoofs in case you forget. I can kick you in the head or shoot an arrow right through your heart. Right after I kiss you full on the mouth. I will either talk you to death of kill you with my bluntness. I don’t seek revenge. I will not forget what you’ve done however, and you will go on the shelf and collect dust. I was born on my Uncle’s birthday and when we had a three-foot snowstorm, we talked to each other for eight hours. At least we weren’t bored. Either way resistance is futile. And you’ll never understand what hit you because I greeted you with the biggest, friendliest bear hug when I saw you. I made you laugh at my funny jokes, puns, and stories. But why is it when I begin to talk to my family, they roll their eyes, exhale, and poke out their lips. I told them that the story was short. Why don’t they believe me? Please don’t be stupid around me. I have zero tolerance for ignorance and nonsense. And if you lie, you might as well have a built-in combustion device. I will incinerate you. Like the heat from a fire breathing dragon,

I raised four children. Two of each. Disciplining them was not my thing. Happy they had a father, or they would still be outside playing hot buttered beans and red-light green light. Hey, at least I instilled in them the desire and love of reading, exposed them to create art and helped them to be intellectual nerds who love and enjoy all kinds of music and geekdom like anime, comic books, manga. They’re nerds just like me. Dancing and athleticism too. Don’t forget our love of sports. We are also hard workers who hate authority. One of my supervisors called me into his office and asked me to train another employee on a device that I was the resident troubleshooter for the staff. There were politicians visiting the office and he wanted one of his favorites to receive the accolades. I refused to train her, and he told me that I thought I was too smart. I replied, I know I’m smarter than you. He stormed out of his office.

Sagittarians have psychic ability. I’m not talking about Déjà vu. When I was a young woman, I remembered having a vision about our pet cat, Kitty. Kitty had jumped on the kitchen counter and clawed through a birthday cake I had made for my brother. No, I didn’t will her to the cornfield. Don’t have Twilight Zone powers. She did spend time on the shelf though.

To be honest, I’ve always enjoyed traveling and experimenting with things that were outside the box. Birds, bees anything outside of the box. The wildest thing I remembered doing was hitchhiking around the city. I had to because there was a bus strike going on and I didn’t have a car. It was my freshman year at the university, oh, maybe you should count the civil rights protests I participated in during my college years. Would you consider sitting in the street blocking cars as they sped toward you a wild endeavor or just social protest. I believe my Sagittarian tendencies lay dormant from the time I was born until I started my career as a teacher at an all-boys school in the city. I was an extremely shy child.

The two daughters always caution me when I am being ‘savage’ as they say when people are showing a lack of decorum, intelligence of both. I agree that I might be a little blunt, but I am not speaking out to hurt anyone. That was not my intention. Why won’t people believe me? They also accuse me (well, just the two Cancer children; the Libra and Capricorn don’t protest much) of always wishing to have the spotlight on me. They say that I want to be the center of the universe. Every time an anecdote is told, I always have a personal story to add. There you go again, they say. Can I help it if the subjects they discuss remind me of things I have experienced in my life? What’s wrong with sharing? That’s not being a Sag, that’s just being adorable, don’t you agree?

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.