Futurism logo

Find us, help us, save us...

Transmission Sent...Pending...

By G.L. JonesPublished 3 years ago 16 min read
Like

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Medical Officer, Liza Murphy

DATE: November 22, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 0604 Hours

“This was supposed to be a standard op. Land on the comet, extract the minerals and bug out. Needless to say things didn’t go as planned. If I only knew what awaited us on this frozen hell of a rock... I would have told captain Mason to turn around. No, I would have made him. We just landed a little less than thirty six hours ago. None of us have had the chance to sleep... There were eighteen of us originally. Now there’s only six... Mason, Rip, Dirk, Janie, Mags and I... The rest are dead... They’re all dead... We checked the scanners when we got here. They didn’t pick up anything out of the ordinary. I’d know considering I’ve been on over a dozen comets. I should’ve checked under the surface... I should have just... it doesn’t matter anyway. Those of us who were lucky enough to escape to the cafeteria when those things entered our ship have been trying to re establish connection with the satellite above us. I fear if we can’t... I fear that we won’t have much longer... Dirk is our chief communications officer. He says we should have a baseline established in the next few hours. I pray that he’s right... Mason told us to record these audio logs for insurance... for proof. If we... well...I’m sure you know.”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Head Security Officer, Rip Sanders

DATE: November 25, 2379 C.E.

Time: 1748 Hours

“We’ve been locked up in this cafeteria for over one hundred hours now. I don’t know how much more of this bullshit I can take. At this point I think we should just take our stand. We have five plasma rifles and a few hand grenades in the armory just down the hall. I don’t see why Mason won’t go get them. Oh wait, yes I do. He’s a damn coward. The guy supposedly served a couple tours on Mars right? I sure as hell can’t tell. I get it. Those things out there look like they were born in hell and raised by the devil himself but come on man. This is a mining expedition to some random ass comet on the edge of the solar system. He knew the risks when he took the job. I don’t mean to waste my first log talking mad shit about our captain but if he doesn’t get his shit together I’ll take control of the situation myself.”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Captain, Mason Bright

DATE: November 26, 2379 C.E.

Time: 0500 Hours

“I decided that it’s time to draw straws. We need to evacuate this place before the comet gets too far out. Security officer Sanders has been less than helpful in my endevour to save my crew. Maybe that will change now since he drew the short straw. He’ll be making a run for the armory in less than an hour. I don’t care what these things are made out of... a plasma bolt to the face will drop any living thing in the universe. I didn’t get a good look at the things but... I heard them... I heard how they tore Jameson apart... I heard his bones as they snapped like little twigs... His cry for help... Only God can save us if one of those beasts get in here with us. Dirk needs to make it to the bridge in order to send our distress signal. The cafeterias terminal is too weak. He’s tried for days to reroute the power he needs but it just isn’t working. This is it. This is our last chance. Let the record show that I’m doing every thing in my power to save my crew. I will get us through this. I swear it. My crew and I are coming home...”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Second Engineer, Janie Burchett

DATE: November 26, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 0611 Hours

“I don’t want to be here anymore... I can’t do this... I can’t... Those things... They... They killed him... They killed the captain... He was trying to help Rip when they... I... They’re monsters. Mason yelled for me... I could have taken his hand. I could have saved him. I was right there at the door... I just froze... There’s blood everywhere... Those freaks... They’re right outside the door... Waiting... Watching... There’s nothing left of him. They devoured all his body... All of his soul... Rip managed to kill one of them with a rifle. The others ate it’s carcass too... They eat death... They... They are death...”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Chief Communications Officer, Dirk Johnson

DATE: November 26, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 1339 Hours

“I floated the captains dress blues out of the air lock today. There was nothing else left. We’re all on edge. We know now what we’re up against... I try to be optimistic but I honestly don’t think we are going to make it. In all my years of exploring space I’ve never encountered anything like this. These creatures are vicious and brutal killing machines. I watched them slaughter the drilling team from my rooms window. The others didn’t see what I saw... Look, I know how these type of things play out. Fifteen years in the Space Force taught me that the military isn’t going to send a rescue shuttle when they receive our distress beacon... If they even receive it at all. They’re going to send a whole damn platoon of soldiers to kill everything that moves on this icy rock. Then they’ll gather up what’s left of these creatures and carve them up in the name of science. I don’t even know why I should even bother sending a distress beacon if that would be our fate. In the event that we get extremely and I mean extraordinarily lucky... there might be a freight ship out here in this quadrant that’ll pick up the signal before the military does. That’s our only hope. If Uncle Sam gets here first... it’ll be game over and I don’t have the heart to tell my crew...”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Biochemist, Maggie Heath

DATE: November 27, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 2124 Hours

“I didn’t want to leave one of these logs for some person I’ll never meet to piece together the horrors that transpired here. Now that the captains dead I’m not sure why we are still recording ourselves. Perhaps we hope in our hearts that these logs will reach our families. No, we can’t be that gullible can we? It doesn’t matter. I’ve accepted that I’m probably going to die. Considering all the variables involved with this ungodly equation I’ve decided to at least help those who happen upon my corpse... or lack thereof. Rip killed another one of these comet dwelling monstrosity’s. He managed to drag its body in here with us so I could study it. To find a biological impairment for us to exploit perhaps. I was shocked to discover that these things are... Nearly perfect organisms. They require no air nor an atmosphere to survive. They’ve had to exist on this comet longer than humans have lived on Earth. Their hide is coated with an almost metallic substance. It’s organic in nature obviously but somehow it’s atomic structure resembles the titanium alloy we use to line the walls of a spacecraft. The only way Rip has overcome one of these things was with a class one plasma rifle. If he had used something with less stopping power he’d be a dead man for sure. This creature is roughly the same size as an average human being, maybe a bit taller if it stands straight up. It has six limbs... Four arm like apendages with razor sharp claws and two hind legs with equally dangerous claws to tear apart their prey. After using a laser cutter to open up its stomach I realized that this creature has only ever eaten its own kind... Excuse me, it’s own kind besides those of us it’s fed on. Also, they have no sense of sight and there is an utter lack of sensory organs of any kind that I can find. Granted it was indeed shot in the head. The scanners picked up absolutely no life on the surface so my theory is that these things evolved in the core of this comet. Forever feeding on each other. Forever adapting to the carnage. It is my personal opinion and recommendation to whoever receives these logs... I suggest that you destroy this comet in it’s entirety. Even our mining vessel. Our engines are fried. They must have felt the heat and tore them apart as if they were alive. If one of these things make it back to Earth... if they copulate and reproduce... We would be facing an extinction level event. The war against the colonies on Mars would look like a pillow fight compared to a war with these things. I don’t want to die... I really don’t... I want to hold my children in my arms again... I want to feel my husbands sweet kiss on my cheek... but that is just a pipe dream now. Whoever you are... whatever agency you’re with... I’m warning you... Destroy this entire station... Burn it all... Please don’t bring these things back to my family... Please...”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Medical Officer, Liza Murphy

DATE: November 28, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 1001 Hours

“Rip almost died this morning. The big brute decided he’d had enough of the waiting around for the right moment. He waited until we were all asleep. That’s when he made his move. I woke up just as he slid open the door, I tried to stop him. He made it about fifteen feet before his gunfire woke the others. The sound those creatures made when the plasma bolts pierced through them... They didn’t roar or bellow in pain. It was like they laughed. You know how a hyena laughs when they surround a gazel, right? Rip was unloading a payload of hellfire on those things and they just... Chuckled... They giggled until they died... Rip almost made it to the bridge. He was so damn close. One of the things gashed his leg open like it was a big ketchup packet. He blew its brains out just in time, too. I thought he was dead when it razed it’s arms into the air but he acted fast. One things for sure... We hired the right head of security. Rip hobbled back into the cafeteria and collapsed to the ground. I patched him up but he’s lost a lot of blood. If we don’t send the distress beacon soon I fear an infection might set in. Dirk has to make it to the bridge. It’s our only hope now.”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Second Engineer, Janie Burchett

DATE: November 28, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 2317 Hours

“I’m scared. The rations have been growing dimmer by the day. We may be in the cafeteria but ever since the main power shut off we’ve been relying on the emergency freezer for food. We’ve been in this room for over a week now. Those things have been scratching at the door every second of every day. Rip did a number on them... but they did a number on him as well. His leg is looking really bad... I don’t think he’s going to make it. I have a favor to ask of you, whoever you may be... In case I don’t make it home. My son, Jasper, he’s a fragile boy. Don’t tell him that I’m missing. Tell him that we all perished in a mining accident here on the comet. Tell him I died quickly. I didn’t feel a thing. Tell him that I love him and I know that he will do great in the world. His father went missing during the war with the colonies... He needs to have closure with me. Please, that’s all I ask.”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Head Security Officer, Rip Sanders

DATE: November 29, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 1230 Hours

“Somethings wrong with me. Ever since that piece of shit snagged my leg I’ve been having these... thoughts. Sometimes I look over at Janie and see the fear in her eyes. It makes me so angry. Last night I... I thought about strangling her to death in her sleep. I wanted to see her life fade away into the abyss. I almost did it, too. Something inside me is growing... I can feel it burrowing through my being. Liza tells me that the burning in my veins is an infection. She says that I need to rest and take things slow. She says that this may kill me. I know that’s not true. Her lies do not convince me. There’s something else in my blood. Something pure... Something ancient. They whisper to me in the night. They aren’t monsters... They’re servants. Something bigger than any of us lives here. The drilling is what woke it. It’s essence is in me now. It’s essence is in me.”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Chief Communications Officer, Dirk Johnson

DATE: November 29, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 2003 Hours

“We need to make our move fast. There isn’t much time left. Tomorrow I’m going to suggest my plan to the crew. If each of us carries a rifle we may stand a chance. Once we get to the bridge we can barricade ourselves in with enough rations until help arrives. Although, more likely than not the military will be a bigger problem than these creatures. It still can’t hurt to try. I’ve noticed something else. Rip has been acting kind of funny. He’s stopped talking to us and he mumbles to himself constantly. I think whatever infection is setting up in his leg will drive him mad. I’ll carry him to the bridge if I have to. If we don’t make it... I guess that’s it. Our hands are tied here. The only thing keeping us going is a glimmer of hope. I know that we’ll hold onto that until the bitter end.”

DATA FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Biochemist, Maggie Heath

DATE: November 30, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 1115 Hours

“Janie is missing. We’ve checked the cameras and there’s no sign of her anywhere on the vessel. We used Rips security code on the database to retrieve the footage but the servers are down. Liza thinks she broke down and gave up. She could have just walked out of the cafeteria in the dead of night. Wandered the halls until one of them snatched her up. I know her better than that, though. Janie is timid natured and I’ll be the first to admit that. That still doesn’t explain why she wouldn’t tell us. Something is horribly wrong and I can feel it in my gut. There’s a piece to this puzzle that we just don’t have. It’s missing... Dirk says we need to make a break for it. If we can get him to the bridge we can set off the distress beacon and send these logs with it to the entire solar system. I still believe that you need to terminate this station, comet and every living thing that resides within. The only reason I’m fighting to get the distress beacon out there is to hinder the risk of someone else just happening upon this site without the knowledge of what’s happened here. I think this will be my last log. I can’t stand to do this... I feel like I’m writing my own gravestone.”

DATE FILE: Audio Log

CREW MEMBER: Head Security Officer, Rip Sanders

DATE: November 30, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 1300 Hours

“Last night I dragged Janies lifeless body to the air lock and expelled her from the vessel. He told me to do it. He told me that I was chosen, his chosen. My crew mates woke him up with the drilling... we’re aliens to him... we’re evil to him... He took away the pain in my leg and filled it with power. The power of some dark god thats slept for forever. He told me that these creatures were his children... His little helpers. I asked him what I should call him. He has many names. I am blessed to call him nothing more than the entity. If I knew anymore my mortal shell would collapse and decay... like all the rest here in this place. No one suspects it was me that killed Janie. I was careful like my new lord told me to be. I used her code on the air lock... I deleted the security footage and disconnected the servers... I could have opened the cafeteria door and let my new brothers in. I could have given them a feast. The entity told me to be patient... He told me to take my time. I obeyed my master... My father. Deep within the core of this comet he wakes. Deep within this comet I will go after the others are dealt with. I will go there and await further instructions.”

DATA FILE: Audio Log and Subsequent Logs attached/ Distress Beacon

CREW MEMBER: Chief Communications Officer, Dirk Johnson

DATE: November 30, 2379 C.E.

TIME: 1642 Hours

“This is Chief Communications Officer Dirk Johnson of the deep space mining vessel Sarasota. I am requesting the immediate evacuation of two crew members. Medical officer Liza Murphy and myself are the sole survivors of a cataclysmic event. The details of said event are enclosed in this audio log chain. To fill in the gap at the end, all you need to know is that Head Security Officer Rip Sanders turned on us as we fought our way through a legion of these things. He held Mags back as Liza and I entered the bridge... When the doors slammed shut behind us... He... He just threw Mags into those things... He smiled at us through the glass... He must’ve lost his mind... Except... Those things didn’t hurt him... They just let him pass. The last I saw of him he was dawning a space suit in the cargo bay... he’s out there somewhere now but he made his choice. We have about three days worth of rations. We can still make it if you come now. I repeat we can still make it if you come now... If anyone can hear this in our quadrant... Please find us... Please help us... Please save us...”

DATA FILES: RECEIVED

MISSION: Terminate all organic life on Comet 22-7B

ETA: One Day, Twenty-two Hours, Five Minutes

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

G.L. Jones

Always aspire to inspire

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.