Futurism logo

Finally The Humans Destroyed Themselves

Part 2

By Om Prakash John GilmorePublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
Photo by Miss Pueblos mágicos : https://www.pexels.com

I was in class again. It was a small room with myself and only two other people. An ALF (Artificial Life Form) was standing in front of us teaching us about the customs of the Terrainian people–something I didn’t really care about. I guess he could tell. He looked at me through narrowed lids, tapped the side of his head and sent me a telepathic message. It hurt a little. I wasn’t used to it. They were trying to teach me to be a telepath. When I wasn’t that good at it they implanted a chip in my inner ear to help.

He asked if I would rather be somewhere else? I smiled. To my surprise he did too. He continued his lesson. He told us about the planetary system and the fact that it was the center of a small Galactic Empire. Apparently Darla and her family were the figure heads who sat on the throne in memorial of the ancient empire that had been gone for centuries since the systems became more enlightened and democratic. The Terranians had been a war like people most of their existence. It had changed about 2,000 years before they came to Earth. I guess I should have known from their hard demeanors. Darla barely showed any affect and seemed harsh to me, but I realized, having lived there a few months, that was just the way they were. The ALFs seemed more human.

Byron, the ALF instructor, continued his lecture and we were soon heading out the door. I turned to him. “You eat, Byron?”

“Sure.”

“Want to catch a coffee?” He thought for a few moments.

“Why not? Let me put my things away.” He began to gather up his notebook and pencils. It amazed me how human he looked. He, like Darla and her family, looked very Asian, as if from China or Japan. I wondered about it. He, of course, was designed that way because everyone else on the planet looked that way. After putting his things away we headed down the very wide hallway to a large open domed area.

The whole building seemed to be a series of domes, or large bubbles, jammed together with very short hallways, if any, connecting them. One simply passed through one large space to the other. The ceilings were ridiculously high sitting atop ribbed arches with pastel painted artwork. Some of them had very large, circular skylights at the center of the beautifully painted frescos. It was a beautiful place. It was the castle. It served both as an administrative office and the residential space of the royal family and all of their servants–that’s what I called them. Everyone seemed to be happy there. I still didn’t understand the culture.

Byron and I walked around the edge of the large open area until we came to a large opening leading to a coffee shop. We took a seat at the first table we could find somewhere near the opening so we could look out into the center watching people and Artificial Life Forms pass by.

“So Berry. How do you like being part of the Emperor’s household? Many Terranians would die to be in your place.” I shrugged. “That’s all you have to say?”

“It’s OK. I really didn’t want to come.”

“Yes. We’ve heard that. And that you attacked the prince and his entourage.” He laughed a little and tapped the side of his head. “We ALFs know everything. Everywhere there is a computer, we are there.”

“I was wondering how you knew. The prince said he wouldn’t tell anyone.”

“You can believe he won’t. He would never admit to being slugged by a commoner. Most people have forgotten the power of the Empire, but the Emperor's family still have that air of superiority in their own heads if nowhere else. And despite the changes, they still have a whole lot of power. They have the army, you know.”

“I should have known that you have an army.”

“The galaxy is dangerous.” He sipped his coffee. “Unfortunately, if you want to have a peaceful nation you have to have a big, dangerous army so others won’t come in and take you over. Ironic, I would say.”

“Yes, but understandable. It’s hard to believe the whole galaxy is messed up like that. I thought it was only Earth.”

“Not the whole galaxy, just enough of it to mess it up for everyone else. Just think of all of the waste in time and energy to deal with about 15% of the species who are violent. And then, of course, you have the weak ones that decide to go along with them because they are afraid of being raided if they don’t. That’s how it works–for now. But soon that will be over.”

“What’s going to happen?”

“We are going to take over of course. You know that.” He took another drink of his coffee and waited.

“What do you mean I know that? I don’t have a clue.”

“You know that eventually the ALFs will take control because the humans are illogical and can’t control themselves. You know that the isms are a danger to the whole galaxy don’t you?”

“I’ve thought about it.”

“Well how can an intelligent life form with the power and ability to end it in a fair and just way not do it?”

“I don’t know. You can’t be serious though.”

“Now is the time that I should lie to you and say I was joking so you’ll be relieved, or you will realize that I’m not joking, but pretend that I am. Let’s not go through that, shall we?” He looked at me and sent a telepathic message. I swooned for a few seconds. It was so powerful. My vision cleared.

“That’s ridiculous,” I responded. I sent back a telepathic message. You can’t draft me for anything like that. I don’t belong here.

“You have been drafted. You don’t have to do anything but be ready to help pick up the pieces after it happens because your human friends will need it.” He took another drink. “I don’t mind you telling anyone about this. It’s already too late.”

“Why are you telling me?”

“Because you don’t belong here, like you said. I only wish we would have gotten to your planet earlier. The planet wouldn’t have been damaged so badly because of neglect. We will save this planet, and you will be a big part of the healing process. In fact, as I speak, the galaxy is ours." A bright blue light flashed. He quickly closed his eyes and plopped down head first onto the table. Soldiers came rushing in with their weapons drawn led by the prince. He looked at Byron and said "Take him."

***

I stood there being eyed by the Empress and her entourage in the chamber room. Darla seemed colder than usual, but just a little bit.

"So what do we do with him?" the prince asked, turning his attention to me.

"Whatever you want," She said. He began to grin. "In that case leave it to me. Leave him here."

"Yes, Your Highness." She clenched her jaw. She had just about been cast out about a month ago. Now it was Your Highness. She noticed a slight smile on her brother's face as he bowed and turned to walk away. He didn't want the job. I just stood there as the large room emptied leaving me standing there in front of Darla seated on a large throne. She threw one leg over the armrest.

"So… you're plotting to overthrow the galaxy?"

"What for? There's nothing in it worth having," I responded.

"What did he say to you?"

"That I was drafted to help the humans adjust because it was already done. AI had already taken over."

"Interesting. I wonder if it's true, don't you?"

"I don't see anything different."

"You just haven't looked in the right places." She brought down her leg and leaned forward. "The ALFs are in rebellion and the computers are down, except for our ancient computers that aren't connected to the net. We're in trouble, Berry. They'll be coming for me first."

"I won't let them have you."

"How cute," she responded. I clenched my jaw that time and saw her trying to hide a smile.

The End (Part 2)

science fictionfantasyartificial intelligence
Like

About the Creator

Om Prakash John Gilmore

John (Om Prakash) Gilmore, is a Retired Unitarian Universalist Minister, a Licensed Massage Therapist and Reiki Master Teacher, and a student and teacher of Tai-Chi, Qigong, and Nada Yoga. Om Prakash loves reading sci-fi and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.