Futurism logo

Far Side of the Universe

The Great Beyond.

By Dale CalhounPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

FAR SIDE OF THE UNIVERSE

A Screenplay Series by Dale Calhoun

The journey into the universe is long as the Crew of the WESSEX goes on from generation to generation. They left earth 100 years ago its 2128 their final quest is coming closer to their assignment to terraform the plant they are assigned to in the habitable zone They were finally getting closer maybe less than 100 years to go. Sitting there so proud of his son standing with his graduation class of 21. CAPTAIN ALBERT SWANN knew that this could be last he will see him for some 27 years as this class would follow many of the other generations that had gone before them, they are part of the new harvest of the new generation when CAPTAIN SWANN would breath his last breath in space. They would set the new government for the WESSEX and the new planet they would terraform. They would be the new mechanics and engineers for the AI’s Everything the good Captain new about Earth was what he saw on disc or A.I. projections living his life in space while his father had gone before him. Captain Dwaine Swann lived on earth and he told him many stories about planet earth. It was A.I that had engineered the stasis machines that the young could live on there years as the old to sustained life beyond his years until their arrival on their new home. AI had worked fine they did as what they were instructed to do build that which would sustain humanoid life beyond its years. Now it’s the new life through his son’s generation that would govern the new world. The good CAPTAIN knew there was no way to go back, because by now there would be no way to reverse what EARTH would become a homeless shell of life.

SOME YEARS AWAY, DELTA AI UNIT 12, May 2121

Captain SWANN is talking to his son QUAM after graduation with his class who questions what is about to happen to him and his class of 2121 cadets.

QUAM

Father what happens from here? Every year a class of graduates go into stasis and sometime we’ll wake up?

SWANN

It’s the order of things my son when you awake, we’ll only be miles away from our new home. Our new home planet, not to be a number ever again. We’ll be able to name it and it will be ours.

QUAM

It just doesn’t make sense you’ll be old maybe dead where when I awake?

SWANN

No my son you’ll see what the future beholds I will be there the founders will be with the AI’s will be with us you will be a new fresh generation to inhabit our new world.

QUAM

I will never see planet earth I was born in space, so your right father it will be a new aria for me.

SWANN

Be proud of this new adventure you’re in QUAM we where rescued from the PLANET EARTH, those who couldn’t come have to wear masks because of the pollution the mad scientists made of it. And greedy politicians with their own agendas.

QUAM

Most of the old founders on board here look like robotic beings.

SWANN

How else do we survive such a long journey my son unless we copy everything we are and make perfect? Overcoming death to be with you on our new planet.

QUAM

Already your looking old, sorry but its true you’re in your 70’s and living like a younger person.

SWANN

All to help your generation grow when we get there and then we will be in the hall of records for eternity.

QUAM

I’m nineteen I should live a youthful life.

SWANN

Oh you will live a full life and when you awake you will be 32.

QUAM

It doesn’t sound real at all.

SWANN

The simulation is necessary my son, you will attain the knowledge of a life time.

QUAM

So I will be in a game of life?

SWANN

So funny you’d say that, we’ve all have said that at one time or another.

QUAM

So tell me?

SWANN: Yes?

QUAM

Have you ever seen planet earth?

Deep down inside him SWANN was proud of his son’s wisdom beyond his years. He smiled at him with a twinkle in his eyes just before he answered him then he spoke.

SWANN

No only in my dreams. In my simulation I was Thor the Wanderer an antagonistic business man egging on everything I could get my hands on.

QUAM

You were and evil man?

SWANN

Greedy and lustful and selfish about everything.

QUAM

Why this or that?

SWANN

The simulation is to teach us our deepest fears and anything that made us selfish, it’ll bring out the real you then help change you.

QUAM

No more virtual games for me?

SWANN

So much more then that, you will see me everything 50 years unless an accident happens and I die.

QUAM

Why??

SWANN

You are top in your class son; you will know the AI’S will help you with your awakening assignments. You got to check on us.

QUAM

How old will I be?

SWANN

Seven years old then you are now and seven more until your 32, by then we will have arrived at our destination.

The men approached the statis port where Tesla there AI drone awaited them.

QUAM

What do I do if something goes wrong?

SWANN

Tesla will help you and guide you, that’s why you must awake to check on us and the ship and AI’s are functioning right.

QUAM

What if??

SWANN

Stop my son, SWANN order him, I will miss you but be son happy to see you, how much your mind has grown and how you have changed.

QUAM

OK I got no other choice I guess???

SWANN

You will always have choices we can never take that away from you my son, explore.

LOCK DOWN IN THE SIMULATION

to be continued….

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dale Calhoun

Writer, singer/songwriter, musician on spotify artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.