Futurism logo

ESCAPE Part 2 Sneak Peak

This is a sneak peak for part 2 in the ESCAPE series! The full part 2 will be available soon!

By Ash AdamsPublished 4 years ago 28 min read
Like
Written by Ashley Smith

Chapter 1

I woke with a start, launching myself out of bed ready for a fight. Rory and Alistair just looked at me with wide eyes. Sorry we didn’t mean to wake you Freya, it was Alistair’s fault for dropping the pan, Rory chuckled. Of course, blame the cat for knocking things off the counter, Alistair quipped. Come sit down with us Freya, the oatmeal is almost done cooking.

Thank you, it’s Rory, right? I asked the one with copper hair. Correct, he replied smiling. His smile stunned me in place for a second. Odd how his teeth were perfectly white and normal. There were no jagged or sharp teeth indicating he was an Irish werewolf. I’m going to need to question them more during breakfast but first I need to wash up. I could tell my hair was a mess without even looking at it. Half of it was out of my braid and hopefully not looking like a rat’s nest.

Is there a stream nearby where I can freshen up? I asked the boys. Yes, just down the hill behind this cabin there is a small lake, Alistair replied. We can take you there if you need us to. No, I’ll be fine, thank you though. I grabbed my black bag, slipped on my boots and headed down to the lake.

I needed the alone time to collect my thoughts. It’s just too overwhelming. I still think I’m in some sort of weird dream and that I’ll wake back up in the woods where I collapsed. I took a deep breath of the fresh air and soaked in the warmth of the sun. The sun! I looked around noticing the cabin and lake were out in the open, surrounded by the dark forest. The half-melted snow crunched underneath my boots as I made my way to the lakes edge.

Finding a rock to set my stuff on, I opened my bag to take out some fresh clothes and found a bar of sandalwood soap packed in the bag. Thank you, Holly, I whispered to myself. After stripping off my clothes and removing the bandages around my back I waded my way through the cold water to the deepest part. The cold water stung my skin but I knew it would help my body heal faster so I stayed in longer even after I already washed up.

Everything was so peaceful around me. I laid my head back in the water just looking up at the clear sky and pondered my situation.

I’m so screwed, I thought to myself. First my foster mam gambles my life away. I’m forced to marry a Laird I don’t know and live in a land I’ve never seen. The Laird ends up being cruel and I have no choice but to run away to save my life. I almost die in the woods and I’m saved by a couple of shape shifters. Then later I learn the Laird I married is Arawn god of the underworld and he needs me for some sort of war. And to top it off, I have strange talking owl dreams about my destiny.

My brain feels like it’s going to explode from everything I’ve been through. Not to mention my heart racing whenever I see Rory. I know I shouldn’t trust the men after just meeting them but for some reason I feel safe when I’m with them. And Rory, oh my word I can’t stop drooling over his… well everything. His tall, bulky muscular body, coppery shoulder length hair, bright smile and soft brown eyes. Oh, and can’t forget about that kilt he wears around his strong waist.

Rory and Alistair looked like complete opposites, yet the bond feels like brotherhood between them. The best comparison I could think of is the sun and moon. Rory being the sun and Alistair the moon. Alistair is just as good looking as Rory, just in a different way. He is tall and skinny yet very toned and muscular. Alistair’s hair a pure white color, cut shorter around his head and mysteriously deep green eyes. He is dark and mysterious yet I sensed not one evil bone in his body.

Freya, breakfast is ready! Rory called loudly out the door. I was so startled, that my head slipped under water making me swallow a mouthful and cough out the rest. Well, that was embarrassing. It’s a good thing he can’t see me.

I forced my cold stiff body out of the water and dressed myself in a clean shift and a plain form fitting dark heather gown. Strapped a black belt around my waist where I could hold my dagger close and wrapped a black cloak around my body to warm up. I felt so much better and cleaner and won't be embarrassed when Rory looks at me. I ran my fingers through my long hair untangling it on the way up to the cabin.

Chapter 2

Rory filled his bowl to the brim with oatmeal, set it down on the table and filled another for Freya so it would be ready for her when she came in. There was something about her that made his protective instincts go primal and not because he was ten years older. She made the wolf inside him need her in every way.

Freya walked in through the door and almost made Rory drop her bowl of oatmeal onto the floor. She made his heart beat faster than any woman he has ever been with. She set her bag down on the floor next to her chair at the table and sat down. Rory set the bowl of oatmeal in front of her and apologized that the taste is a bit plain, he didn’t have any honey to sweeten the oatmeal with and it just has a pinch of salt.

No worries, she replied smiling. Thank you, Rory, for the meal. His heart hammered at the sound of her sweet voice and innocent smile. He would kill anything that harmed her again. Rory sat down across from Freya and next to Alistair. His eyes never leaving her sapphire blue ones until she looked away blushing.

Alistair jabbed Rory in the ribs with his elbow. Are you going to eat or just make the girl uncomfortable, he mumbled under his breath to Rory? Rory shot him a glare, making Alistair hide a smile.

So, Freya, how is it that you ended up here in Scotland and married to Laird MacDonald? Alistair asked. She set her spoon down and stayed quiet for a second. Darkness cast over her eyes, making Alistair regret asking the question. You don’t have to tell us, Rory commented. We didn’t mean to upset you. Her eyes softened a little. It’s OK, you guys deserve answers after saving my life, she replied.

The men listened intently about how her foster mam gambled her life away and was forced to marry him. She told them about his murders and how he beat her. She told them of her plan to escape and how she did it. She told them how he tortured her in the dungeon just before she ran and told them about his secret meetings in the middle of the night.

When Freya finished her story, both men sat in silence, not wanting to finish their oatmeal. They were sick to their stomach that this poor lass went through so much and not surprised by what Julian had done considering he was Arawn; god of all evil. The one thing that did surprise them was why he kept her alive for so long. What was his plan, why is he going through all this trouble to find her?

Since I answered your question, could you answer mine? She asked. Anything, they both said at the same time. She smiled, tell me how you became an Irish Werewolf Rory and how you became a Cat Sidhe Alistair?

Rory went first, knowing in his heart he could trust her. My mother was an Irish werewolf and my father was human. He loved her with all his heart no matter the danger she put them in. They hid their secret for quite a while in Ireland. They were happy and felt safe so they started a family. My mother had one son and one daughter a year apart from each other. We lived in peace in Ireland for thirteen years before the Hunter's came.

The Hunter's came to our home not caring that our ancestors were different than the Teutonic werewolves and that we don't harm humans. They killed my father first, thinking he was the werewolf. My mother forced me to take my sister and run as far away from Ireland as we possibly can. I wanted to stay and fight since I had changed a couple years back and could be useful but she needed me to take care of my sister and keep her safe.

My mother sacrificed her life in protecting us from the hunters and giving us a head start. We traveled for months looking for a place to call home again. The roads were a dangerous place for children. We barely escaped capture dozens of times, and that was because running away on four legs is quicker than two.

We weren't so lucky on the last ambush though. There were just too many men and they over powered us. Right before they could tie us up though, a black cat launched out the trees above us and clawed the eyes out of the kidnapper.

The rest of the men were so stunned it gave us a second to break free and fight back. The black cat was so fast it took down more men than me and my sister combined.

Ever since that day, me and Alistair were inseparable, we became brothers. Alistair being the oldest by three years helped us navigate around Scotland. Eventually we found a home within the Stewart clan and the Laird took us in and treated us like family. As we grew older, me and Alistair trained and fought in battles together.

We kept each other's secrets and he helped me get revenge on the Hunter's in Ireland for murdering my parents. I will always owe Alistair my life for what he has done for me and my sister Moira.

Do you always have to be so touchy-feely Rory? Alistair gagged. What's the alternative Alistair, being frigid like you? Rory smirked.

Freya laughed, what's your story Alistair? Not much to tell, he replied. Alistair doesn't like talking about his past, Rory said to Freya. That's ok, I respect your privacy Alistair. We better start heading out before the rest of the guards realize their men are missing, she softly replied.

Chapter 3

Where is she, Laird MacDonald roared! We will find her, one of the guards spoke up. My Laird, we sent out four men just two nights ago to search the same area again, for her. Captain Killian O' Donnell, it has been over a week since her escape and there has been no sign of her. How is it possible that my wife, a young woman can evade your men for so long! I sent the whole bloody army after her! Julian screamed.

Get every one of your men to search for her and capture her alive. If she ends up dead by any of your hands I will personally make you and your entire family a sacrifice for my pets in the underworld! Is that clear, Captain? Yes, my Laird, he replied with his head down. I will personally see to it that she returns home alive.

That will be all Killian, you may leave now. Killian and the rest of the guards left his study in a hurry. My Laird, would you like some supper, Molly asked hesitantly. Yes, I would Molly, thank you. And while you're getting my supper, I need you to inform all the servants that if any of them helped my wife in any way, I will find out soon enough and punish them. Molly curtsied to the laird before she left.

My Laird, why do you need Freya? Callum asked right beside Julian. Wouldn't it just be easier to kill her and find a new wife? She is not just any girl, Callum. She is the only one who can bare me a son. No human body is strong enough to carry an immortal's child unless the mother is immortal herself. But Freya isn't immortal, Callum replied.

No Freya is not, but her mother is. I can feel the immortal power in her blood, she is half. Her father must have been human. The moment I saw her in Fishguard, Wales I knew I needed her. Without a son as Heir and her as a sacrifice, I can't make this body permanent and take control of the lands. She is the key to breaking my chains to the underworld.

Bring me more souls from the town, I'm going to need more strength to bring my Cwn Annwn "hounds" up here from the underworld to track Freya if the guards can't seem to find a way to do it themselves, Julian commanded to Callum. Yes, my Laird, Callum responded.

Chapter 4

I followed Rory and Alistair through the dark forest for hours without speaking. My mind was still going a thousand miles a minute. Finally, the tree line broke and my breathe was taken away by the beauty of the land ahead of us.

I have never seen so much green in my life. The grounds were covered in lush, dark green grass for miles. The hills and peaks were also a stunning green, jutting into a bright gray sky. Its breathtaking isn’t it, Rory stated. I couldn’t form the words to reply so I just nodded.

Come on you two, we need to get to the safe house before anything discovers our presence here, Alistair said as he started off again. The way Alistair said it gave me goosebumps, and stopped me from gawking at the land ahead of us.

Why is there no snow, when it’s almost the middle of winter, I asked them? Because we are cutting through the land of the faery’s, Rory replied. It stays the same all year around, their magic keeps it that way.

Are Faery’s nice? I asked. Hell no, Alistair grumbled. I almost giggled at Alistair’s reaction to my question but kept it together enough to ask, how so? I’d rather not talk about it, Alistair mumbled and walked off ahead of us.

I looked over at Rory with a confused expression on my face. Don’t worry, Alistair is always in a mood whenever he must be in a close proximity to faeries. They are perfectly harmless unless you threaten them. Then why is he so upset? I asked. Rory leaned over close to my ear and I shuddered from his soft breath against me. He dated a faery and it didn’t go over too well, Rory whispered in my ear then pulled away smiling.

That makes sense I thought to myself, poor Alistair. What is wrong with me, why am I feeling this type of connection with these men. I have only known them for a short time and already I trust them and feel for them. Am I being naive by trusting these shapeshifters with my life?

I hadn’t realized that Rory was speaking to me until we stopped, and he shook my shoulder. Are you OK Freya? I looked up at him after I shook myself out of my thoughts. Yes, I’m good, I replied quickly. Rory furrowed his brow and looked like he wanted to ask something else but decided against it.

Let’s make camp here for the night, Alistair cut through our silence. There wasn’t much cover for our camp and as the sun went down I was all nerves. I felt exposed and vulnerable and scared of being found by Julian. The one thing that gave me some comfort was having Rory and Alistair with me to watch my back. But I still felt guilty that they were brought into my mess and I wouldn’t forgive myself if they were killed or tortured by Julian.

I sat down on the wool blanket by the fire and wrapped my arms around my legs and rested my chin on my knees. Rory was cooking some sort of stew with the dried meat and barley from his pouch and extra water from the stream he collected on the way.

My body ached everywhere from all the walking and stress on my healing injuries but all I could think about was the dark surrounding us and imagining Julian showing up with his tools to torture me more, I shuddered at the thought.

I then noticed that Alistair wrapped a blanket around my shoulders and sat down next to me without a word. Thank you, I managed to softly say. He smiled back and handed me a bowl of hot stew.

I didn’t realize how hungry I was until I finished off my third bowl of stew and blushed from embarrassment when the boys didn’t say one word about how un-lady like I probably looked stuffing my face.

Oh well, I was too tired to over think and decided to lay back and let sleep claim me while my thoughts were calm.

Chapter 5

I’ll take first watch, Rory said to Alistair. That’s fine with me, he replied. Rory watched as Alistair once again changed into a small black cat and curled up to Freya’s feet to give her some comfort as she slept.

Rory threw another piece of wood into the dying fire and sat down with his guard up. Nothing will lay a finger on Freya again, he vowed to himself as he looked at Freya’s innocent face. She looked so peaceful sleeping, I hope the faeries bless her with good dreams tonight, he thought.

Rory sighed, and looked out across the land for anything strange. He couldn’t keep his thoughts about anything other than Freya. How is it possible to have these feelings for a young woman that I don’t know anything about? I have barely known her a week and the moment I looked into her deep blue eyes in the dark forest dying, I knew instantly I would give my life for her.

There is something about her that draws me in and I have no control over it. Of all the girls that could have caught my eye, I get the most beautiful and most complicated one of them all. She just escaped her husband, God of the Underworld and war is on her heels and now Alistair and I have sworn to be her guardians.

I don’t know where this path leads or if I’ll be alive at the end of it, but I do know I would follow her to the ends of the earth if need be. I won’t have her taken away from me by Arawn, I will rip his throat out with my teeth before he even gets close to her.

After a few hours on watch, I went over and nudged Alistair with my boot, waking him for his shift. He jumped up and hissed then transformed back and put on his kilt. Alistair can be an arsehole when you disturb him sleeping.

Rory grabbed his blanket and laid it over Freya as she slept to keep her warm, after seeing her shiver. He changed and curled up on a soft patch of grass a few feet away from her, so she won’t freak out when she wakes up.

Chapter 6

I woke up to Alistair speaking to someone in a hushed tone. It was still dark out, but I could tell it was early morning. I tried listening to Alistair’s words, thinking he was talking to Rory about our situation, but when I heard an unfamiliar voice, I threw the stack of blankets off me and got into a fighting stance with my blade in my hand facing the unfamiliar voice across the fire.

Who are you I asked in a firm voice, even though I was shaking inside. The woman next to Alistair looked at me questioningly then asked in a soft musical tone, “you can see me”? Of course, I can see you, I can also see the five men in the shadows behind you, I’m not blind I retorted. The woman and Alistair looked at me with shocked expressions and Rory cocked his head to the side in confusion in his wolf form.

The men behind her started whispering profusely to each other, which freaked me the hell out, not to mention their creepy similar looks. The men all had long silver hair with smooth iridescent complexions and violet eyes. They were tall and skinny with no muscle but looked dangerous regardless of that fact.

I looked back at the woman who seemed to be the leader. She had the same features but beautiful and deadly. Her hair was braided on one side and hung loose over her other shoulder. Her hair was thick and wavy, and the length hit the bottom of her hip. She had silver eyelashes and pale pink lips. She wore a pale pink shimmery gown that hugged her lengthy frame. The way she held herself told me not to underestimate her.

I lowered my blade and stood up slowly,” you’re a faery” I stated instead of asked. Yes, I am my dear, my name is Tyballa, I am the faeries princess she said in that musical voice again. She looked to be about twenty-seven years old but talked as if she has lived many years past that.

And what exactly are you my dear, she asked? Excuse me? I said confused. She is none of your business, Alistair harshly said to Tyballa! I looked at Alistair, then back at Tyballa confused at his tone with her, then it clicked. My eyes widened, she’s your faery ex-girlfriend! I blurted out before I could stop the words.

She smiled then looked over at Alistair, I see you haven’t completely gotten over me if your mysterious friend can figure it out by just looking at us, she sneered. Shit, I’ve got to control my big mouth better I thought to myself. Alistair looked like he was about to explode with anger at Tyballa.

Is there something you need, I asked Tyballa roughly to change the subject. I was just about to ask Ali that, she sneered at him. We just need safe passage through your lands Ty, he snapped back. Damn their relationship must have been complicated, I thought to myself. This is getting awkward.

Rory growled at them to shut up then slowly went a few feet behind me to shift back human and dress himself before standing next to me, facing Alistair and Tyballa. We have bigger problems right now than hashing out your failed relationship, Rory commented to both.

I almost yelled Burn, to Tyballa but I managed to keep my mouth shut this time, barely. I felt bad for Alistair. He still looked hurt, which gave me a clue as to who did the heartbreaking at the end.

Ty, there is a war coming, Alistair said. Yes, I’ve heard the rumor about Arawn escaping the underworld and using a Lairds body to take control, but it’s just a rumor Alistair, she said back. I’m Afraid it’s not, and with the information I have collected, he is building an army.

How do you know this information is trustworthy or correct, she questioned? Ty, I would like you to meet Freya…. Arawn’s wife.

Tyballa whipped her head in my direction and looked me up and down with fear in her eyes. Shite, she yelled! Hurry and grab your belongings, we need to discuss this in a secure place, she quickly said, then turned to her men and spoke to them in a beautiful language I have never heard before. The men quickly formed a circle around us, facing out to guard us.

My heart sped up and I began to shake from panic. I held my dagger tighter in my hand until my knuckles turned white. Rory put a hand on my shoulder gently to comfort me. It’s ok Freya, they are just taking precautions. None of them will let any harm come to you and neither will Alistair or I let that happen. Go ahead and grab your bag and Alistair and I will pick up the rest.

I felt a little better by Rory’s words and hurriedly grabbed my small bag. The boys finished collecting their belongings and stood next to me, waiting for Tyballa’s command.

Tyballa whispered something under her breath and the fire disappeared along with any trace of us camping in that spot. Then she turned and walked off, motioning for us to follow.

Chapter 7

Tyballa led us to a large sheet of rock against a dark green mountain. Are we supposed to climb that I whispered to Alistair?

No dear, we are going to walk through it, Tyballa commented after hearing my question and smiled.

She must have seen the confused expression on my face because she chuckled and motioned for me to take her hand. I looked up at Alistair’s hard face to make sure it was safe, and he just nodded for me to take her hand.

I took a hold of Tyballa’s hand and immediately noticed a swirl of colors in front of me against the sheet of rock. After about thirty seconds the swirl of color disappeared and what was left made me speechless. The sheet of rock was nonexistent now and in its place, was a large open doorway leading into a glittering town.

Welcome to the home of the Fae Freya, Tyballa chuckled at my wide-open eyes. Rory stepped up beside me and took my hand in his, leading me through the doorway.

How is this even possible, I mumbled under my breath looking around. The entire town was made from white marble. I look straight up and notice we are in a huge dome and the ceiling is covered in gems of every color and size.

Are we inside a mountain? I asked while still staring at the ceiling. Yes, we are, Rory replies. I walk forward away from Rory and just take in the beauty of this place. It must have taken years to create a home like this. I look around, noticing more gracefully dangerous silver haired people going about their day. Even the children looked dangerous and ethereal while they played and laughed.

What is your name? I heard a small voice say next to me. I turn around and look down at the little girl who spoke to me. She wore a dark red gown with puffed sleeves. She couldn’t have been more than six years old. Her eyes were cast down towards the floor and didn’t look up as she waited for an answer.

I knelt in front of her. My name is Freya, what is yours? Larielle, she replies with her eyes still cast down. Nice to meet you Larielle, I smile. Why don’t you look up, I ask? I don’t like my eyes she says back. Why not? She looks up at me and I realize why she may think that. Her eyes were not the light violet color all the other Faeries have but a stunning dark black violet.

Your eyes are the most unique and beautiful color I have ever seen. I wish I had that color, mine are just a boring blue, I would love to have a dark velvet color like yours. Really? She asks smiling at me. Yup, it’s more fun being different, I smile back.

I hold my arms out to give her a hug and she freezes with fear in her eyes. What’s wrong I ask frowning. I don’t want to hurt you, you really shouldn’t touch me, she says sadly. Nonsense, you won’t hurt me, I smile. Come on it’s only a hug. OK, she hesitantly says and steps forward into my embrace.

Freya NO! I hear Tyballa screaming and the whole town gasps just before I embrace Larielle and scoop her up into my arms in a hug. I stand up with the girl still in my arms confused about why everyone was freaking out. I notice all the faeries standing around me and Larielle, looking at us with shock on their face and whispers bouncing off all the walls in this place.

I look over at Tyballa and the guys and they looked terrified. What’s wrong, I asked? I adjusted Larielle, so she could lay her head on my shoulder and wrap her arms around my neck. They didn’t say anything. Why is everyone freaking out, did I do something wrong?

Are you not in pain, Tyballa asks? Why would I be in pain? She bursts out laughing like I said the funniest thing in her entire life. I frown in confusion at her laughter. The boys slowly approached me. Freya, Larielle has a rare and special power, which makes it impossible for anyone to touch her without feeling excruciating pain and almost dying, Alistair whispers.

Poor thing, I say while smoothing Larielle’s hair down. I feel her breathing softly on my neck completely relaxed. She must have fallen asleep from the comfort she probably has never received before.

I look up at Alistair and Rory, then how am I holding her and not feeling pain? Honestly, we have no idea Freya. Everyone is shocked and scared and no one in here thinks you’re just human now.

Let’s go, Tyballa says to us. We need to discuss some things in private, you can take Larielle with us Freya since she is asleep. Where is Larielle’s mother? She is dead, Tyballa replies flatly.

We follow Tyballa and her guards past all the small homes and reach a large structure with crystals protruding out of the walls. As we reach the solid granite double doors, Tyballa turns around and faces us.

Once we enter through these door, no one will be able to spy on our conversation. These crystals that surround the building make it possible for us to talk freely without worrying about secrets being heard. Anyone with ill intent that enters through these doors will become deaf and their ears will begin to bleed.

Holy shit that’s intense, I mumble under my breath. One by one we filed through the door and took a seat at a large round solid oak table. Two guards shut the double doors behind us and took post there.

I sat in between Rory and Alistair and adjusted Larielle in my arms so I could sit more comfortably. Tyballa sat across from us with her right-hand man. He looked extremely tense and started to creep me out by the way he was staring at me. At least I know he has no ill intent towards me since his ears aren’t bleeding. But still…. Creepy, I shiver as I glare right back at him.

Ok, let me get this straight, Tyballa starts. Arawn is not trapped in the underworld anymore? And you are his wife? She stares intensely at me, waiting for my reply. I was about to reply when Rory interrupts. She had no idea that Laird Macdonald was Arawn and she was forced into the marriage. The real Julian Macdonald sacrificed himself so that Arawn can take over his body and walk free.

Still… how do you know for sure that her loyalty is with us, Tyballa asked. I am sitting right here, you can ask me that to my face, I said hotly. She ignored my comment and kept looking at Rory and Alistair for the answer. Both said, I trust Freya with my life. Tyballa nodded as if that’s all she needed to here.

Tyballa turns to one of her guards by the door. Send as many scouts as you can to our friends warning them a war is coming and to be ready by the time I call for their help, she commands. Yes Princess, the guard gruffly states then opened the door and left.

Now, next order of business. What are you Freya? I don’t understand… I’m human, I stated to Tyballa. You are not human and most definitely not a faery or shifter so what does that make you. I don’t know I say flatly. She pursed her lips as if she didn’t believe me then after a moment she turned to her other guard by the door. Find my guests some rooms for the night and make sure to draw them up a bath. Yes Princess. The guard held his hand up to guide us out. There will be food ready in an hour at the banquet hall so get cleaned up and rest then meet there.

We said our thanks to Tyballa then followed the guard out. I kept Larielle in my arms since apparently, she seemed she needed the sleep. I figured I could just lay her on my bed when I got to the room Tyballa had for me.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.