Futurism logo

Escape from Reality

A Space Opera Review

By CPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Escape from Reality
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Everyone is unique when it comes to finding out what kind of television they like to watch and what movies they tend to enjoy. I have a love for science fiction movies and historical dramas. I am one of those people who are secretly a nerd but have never fully embraced myself Into that narrative. It’s my little getaway from reality. This challenge allows me to show and explain what type of shows I watch and why you should watch them as well. I love looking into stuff that involves space and futuristic things that could happen. The science fiction genre just had such a fantastic amount of content that keeps getting better every year. Even if that stuff seems a little bit far-fetched, If you have the imagination, then there is no end to what you can or want to believe. The more science advances, the more that this seems less out of this world, and I love it. If that makes me a child, then so be it; I will be a child for the rest of my life.

I'll start by introducing a late 90's show that I love and can watch multiple times. It is the one and only Farscape. If you love a good sci-fi space opera with all the action, romance, space travel, and dramedy, then this show has everything for you. I think they chose a fantastic cast for the show. Claudia Black, Ben Browder, and Wayne Pygram are just perfect for the role in the show. Browder and Pygram had a fascinating relationship in the movie, and it captures your attention. The hero and villain banter kept the show appealing and exciting. The rest of the cast in the show was nothing to gloss over neither. They were headstrong, funny, and at some points annoying, yet somehow grow on you. The strange alien cast members add an amazing comic relief and story. Every television show should have each of these types of characters and extras.

I don't want to spoil the plot too much, but what got me engaged in the show was the science. It starts out as with everyday humans testing out a NASA experimental ship, which ends getting caught in a wormhole. That was pretty amazing to think about because we believe they exist and know nothing of them. We base them on the Einstein field equation, which relates the geometry of space-time to the matter within it. Maybe while you enjoy this show, you can learn things as well! The fact that the show kept to the science at the beginning made for good writing. This stuff goes way over my head, but it still intrigues me and makes me want to know more about space and time travel. The last thing but not the least important is where this story takes place! Not only in another part of the universe, but It also takes place in a living spaceship! How can you not be entertained by something like that? I have always believed that things could survive in the vacuum of space, and this show entertains that idea for me, and I absolutely love it! Finding stuff like this show is like finding a big, beautiful diamond, which is very rare.

This television series is my idea of the go-to shows for a full nerd experience. Please watch this, and you'll enjoy the laughs, and all the drama included. At one point or another, it may or may not make you cry, and I’ll let you be the judge of that part. It has everything you're searching for in science fiction. So please check this out if you love this genre because if you don't, then you’re missing out.

tv review
Like

About the Creator

C

support me at cashapp- $CP4hunnid

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.