Futurism logo

Enchantment

Chapter 1

By Ashley StonePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
photo by Guillaume Meurice - Pexels

It was unusually cold for the season, it seemed that the leaves had changed from green to orange overnight and we went from cicadas in the trees to wind howling outside of my windows in just a few weeks. The steam from my tea was dancing in the sunlight with both of my hands wrapped around my oversized mug to hopefully help take the chill out of my bones a little quicker. I looked to Emery stretched out on the back of my sofa his paws seemingly reaching for something I could not see. Emery is an orange tabby I had found digging through my trash a few years ago, long gone are his days of scrounging for food as he must be one of the fattest cats I know. His eyes opened as I went to scratch his belly his head perking up.

“Oh, the life of a cat” I took a deep breath and slowly exhaled trying to calm myself. Nothing was working.

It was a week ago today that I had found out that my grandmother had passed away. They say it was a heart attack, which, I just couldn’t believe. She seemed so young for her age. My grandmother Beatrice Bishop had practically raised me since my mother's disappearance when I was only six. We lived a very peaceful life in the countryside, our house shrouded by trees, secluded from the busy world around us.

We spent our days working in our greenhouse, growing herbs to eventually turn into remedies and oils. My grandmother spent a lot of time studying botany and the effects plants had on the body, to the point in which some people would refer to her as a witch.

I was jolted back to reality with an urgent rapping at my door. I looked to Emery and then back to the door as if to ask him if he heard it too. It echoed through our quiet space again. This time a little quicker than the last.

Setting my mug down on the side table I slowly rose from the couch I had made my home for the past few days. It wasn’t very often that we had visitors let alone unexpected ones. I made my way to the door looking through the peephole.

Nobody was there.

Squinting my eyes and scratching my head, this made no sense. It wasn’t like anyone would come all this way just to play Nicky Nicky nine doors. I unlatched the lock and slowly peered past the door. As I opened it a letter fell from in between the door and landed on the ground. I popped my head out further to see if I could catch a glimpse of the person who was here. Nothing. Looking down again I picked up the envelope. It had a wax seal with what looked to be a purple flower in the middle of it. Turning it around my grandmother's name was written in the most elegant gold cursive writing. There was no address nor return address on it. Which means, the person who delivered this must have known my grandmother personally. Not personally enough to know she had passed though.

I could feel tears welling up in my eyes, just looking at her name brought back a flood of memories that I just couldn’t forget. Quickly I closed the door and latched it again placing the letter on the coffee table. Whatever it was, it wasn’t meant for me. I would figure out what to do with it later.

My phone left in the kitchen rang through the entire house. For some reason, a chill ran down my spine. It was starting to feel like I had been placed at the beginning of some odd horror film.

“Hello?”

“Hello is this Ophelia Bishop?”

“Speaking, how can I help you”

“This is detective Cooper from the Evergreen Police department.”

“Police department?”

“Yes, I need to speak to you about your grandmother, Ms. Bishop. Are you able to come down to the station?”

“I-I’m confused” I paused. My heart was racing. Why would the police need to speak to me about my grandmother? She died of a heart attack! “If this is a prank, it’s not funny!”

“I assure you, this is no joking matter, if you could please just come to the station, I could explain the reason I am calling.”

Silence filled the phone line. Why is this happening? Am I not allowed to grieve in peace? Emery sauntered off the couch in the living room and started to rub himself against my legs. He always had a way of soothing my soul.

“Ophelia?” The detective's gruff voice brought me back to the matter at hand.

“Yes, yes, I will meet you tomorrow afternoon.” I had to find out what was going on despite wanting to just hide under my blankets like I did when I was a kid.

“Thank you for your time, we will talk more then.” Detective Cooper ended the call.

Dropping my phone to my side I let out another deep breath. I had to be strong. Whatever was going on I had to get to the bottom of this. I’m sure there was just some sort of misunderstanding.

fantasy
2

About the Creator

Ashley Stone

Writing creativly is not just a hobby but a passion. I love to take my readers on adventures to places they haven't been.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.