Futurism logo

Elven Mystery

Character Narrative

By Natalie C..Published 5 years ago 4 min read
1

I sit on the soft moss that was growing throughout the tree, thinking to myself about what I could do to help the dying elven citizens. Were they poisoned? If they were poisoned, then why wasn't I poisoned? I don't understand what is happening here. Everyone is dying. The next thing I know, I hear a deep voice behind me trying to give some words of support and comfort.

"Raya, You know you can save everyone and everything. Sometimes you just need to let them go."

I sighed softly at his statement, "Elliot you wouldn't understand. All you know is that you were trained to go into battle. You haven't been here when I have elvens coming back wounded and mangled. I am the one who has to fit them. I have to!" My voice begins to build up with a harsh tone of disbelief and pain.

"I do understand Raya I do."

I could hear his voice crack while he was searching for the right words to say. I look and catch the view of the few eleven citizens left as they work frantically to keep things running. I drown out Elliot's voice with my thoughts. It'll be all my fault if I can't save this realm. Without any thought, I jump off the branch and started to freefall, only to be caught by a passing dragon. His breathing pulsating under my legs as I hold on, my long light brown hair trailing behind us. Elliot doesn't understand! I make my way to the ground and slide off the side, starting to walk towards some of the workers that are picking walder berries from their prickly bushes. My long green dress gets stuck to the bushes underneath, with my hair sweeping off my shoulders down my back to rest. I finally make my way down to my knees and begin helping the worker with the picking.

After a while of picking, I placed my portion of the berries into the woven basket and stood up planning to go help some of the others with their work, the sound of nature being covered up by the whispers of the girls behind me as I started to walk over to the cooking center.

"Raya shouldn't have to feel like the world is on her shoulders. She is an amazing girl who needs to enjoy her life. We will find a cure for the others, just wait," one of the girls said to the other girls.

The other started to reply before I walked out of range to hear, "She wants to help the world, but she honestly needs to worry about herself first. Her parents did just die not too long ago. That poor child."

I close my eyes and walk over to one of the wooden benches and sit down next to another worker and pick up some dry leaves to grind up. My breath soft and gentle, I can finally hear the sounds of nature above me again. The smell of fresh elven bread feeling my nose as I take a deep breath. I’m going to miss this if I don’t find something fast to help the others. I grind the leaves into a zillion small pieces and pour my bowl into the mix of water and nectar, letting the others finish it. I stand up and start to walk down the trail just wanting to be alone to think. The next thing I know, Elliot is walking behind me.

“Elliot can you please just leave me alone?”

“Why would I do that? I want to help you Raya. Why won’t you just let me do that?”

“It is on my shoulders to heal everyone. All of the other healers have already passed away. What else am I supposed to do? Sit around watching this happen right in front of me?” I walk faster trying to get away from him, my brisk walk turning into a light run. “I am going to the den!” I run to the dragon den, breathing heavily as my legs are throbbing from the unexpected run. This is where I belong. “Hey, Rivermade!” My hand gently brushes up against her blue scales. “Why can’t you guys just help me?” I gently wrap my arms around her neck to give her a hug, her heartbeat a soft relaxed metronome in my ear. “You always find a way to help me no matter what. When the time is right, we will find something.” I plant a gentle kiss on her shoulder as I let go, her scales a silky smooth under my hands.

“I may be a healer, but I don’t know how to heal this,” I say softly, sitting down just outside of the den on the edge of the cliff with my legs dangling down. I run through all of the possibilities in my head of what it could be. Nothing of my knowledge was fitting the description of the victims. “What could it be?” My eyes fall down to the forest floor spotting some crystal nectar flowers. “Wait!” I smile and jump to my feet. “Rivermade can you give me a ride down?” She nods her head as I climb on to her back.

Character narrative, not going to be a full story.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Natalie C..

I am a young writer who lets her creative flow through her writing. I tend to write on the darker side of topics because a lot of people don't. I have a darker imagination than most people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.