Futurism logo

Earliest Computer Usage

When I became Familiar with Technology

By BigSteff SAPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have seen technology transform in my own life by the way it has advanced over time. During my childhood I remember it being mainly the desktop computer, which some people had at home. It seemed like a luxury at the time because most people went to the library to get access to or use a computer. Also, not to mention in school.

The oldest computer or device I remember using was a Microsoft Windows 95 desktop computer. I remember not being able to use it at first. My dad used to always sit by it in the living room for a little while. It was his favorite place to sit at, by the desktop computer. I had to get computer lessons from this Asian guy at some internet cafe around my way to master using it.

I was getting familiar with it in school, but we were just then being introduced to it to use it for specific purposes only. I was probably like 8 or 9 by this time; maybe 10. It took some time, but by the time I was about 12 or so I was used to computers. By age 13, 14 I was using it like a pro. My dad then upgraded to a flat screen computer by 2005. I was 14 at this time. He had some man come to the house to show me how to use it in depth, but I became an expert and his services were no longer needed.

This compares to the machines I use today on a small scale, I would say considering how much technology has developed. Now we have smartphones, which you can do most of the things you can do on a desktop computer. Also, laptops which used to be not too common, which were used mainly by those who work in an office, big companies, etc, were now being used on a broad scale. Everything now is technology based. We live in a technological world, so one must be able to use technology. You should try and be computer savy.

I don’t really have any favorite technology that is no longer popular or in common use. The modern benefits that I’m grateful for is smartphones and tablets. This has greatly changed the word of technology forever. Now it has become a normal way of living to use technology. I rely greatly upon it. I use my smartphone for everything. Smartphones have become one’s source of everything and anything. You simply can’t do without it. It must be embraced.

So I owe it all to my parents for buying me my first computer. I thank them for instilling in me a sense of a strong desire to acquire knowledge and learn. I used the flat screen computer my dad bought in 2005 to record my second demo “Mischief of a Selfish Ambition”. For the first time with that computer, I learned how to make my own beats for my songs. I learned how to record songs on that computer with a mic hooked up to it. I was also able to really learn how to be a sound engineer, even though I just rapped and that’s it. I was so proud of myself.

I got the program that I used to record my music from an old retail store called Circuit City. It was very popular back in the day. They sold music cds, movies, video games, etc. I won’t forget the day I saw it and immediately wanted it because I knew it’s importance. I read the packaging and realized I could use it to record my music. Technology is a beautiful thing.

tech
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.