Futurism logo

Dystopian Life

Futuristic

By LexxPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
2
Dystopian Life
Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

Sarah's POV:

"Hey Ms.Davis" my therapist said greeting me.

"Hey" I returned the gesture

"How have you been holding up?" She asked me

"I'm-- I'm okay..." I answered hesitantly

"Are you sure? You've been coming in here for months and you've not said

one word about the incident." She said

"I think...I'm ready." I told her

"I don't want to pressure you in---" she was saying before I cut her off.

"No, I said I'm ready it's now or never." I answered her

"Okay well start from the beginning." She told me

Well, it all began with my parents, Lillian and Jared Davis. They made sure that me and my brother Alex grew up in a loving and stable home. My parents were happily married and every day was an adventure for us especially with the world we lived in once before.

One day that feeling just died and everything that was just wasn't anymore. I'm not sure what happened but something did. All I remember was one night my father came home upset about something. I remember their argument like it happened yesterday.

"Were not going back we have to protect our family by any means Lily." My dad said to my mom

"But if we don't its no telling what---" my mom was saying before my dad cut her off

"It's final we're not and this conversation is over Lillian." My dad responded

Therapist interrupts...

"So what exactly were they referring to by "going back" ?" she said interrupting my story

"Who knows🤷🏽‍♀️they were never specific about it because it wasn't our business." I responded

"Okay you can proceed." she told me

After that night things changed a lot and life for us took a sharp turn. We didn't go out as much as we used to. My mom and dad became overprotective.

I didn't like this new life but I had to accept it. But what I didn't know was life as we knew it was about to come to an end completely. Our world was under total control of John Davis.

One night my mom and dad decided to go out for date night. So they sent us to our grandmother's house for the night.

"Hey guys, try not to give your grandmother any trouble. Make sure that you guys do your nightly routine and always keep these at all times." my dad said handing us both charm bracelets

The bracelets read "We love you and we're always with you no matter what."

That night as I laid in the bed at my grandmother's house I played with the bracelet all night. I finally dozed off into a deep sleep.

Lillian's POV:

So tonight Jared and I really didn't have a date night plan. We went to this gathering with some of our other friends. Our family was in trouble and it was a necessity to leave that lifestyle behind.

"Aren't you happy that we're finally free?" I asked Jared

"Actually no I'm not because that was too easy. And you know the ... doesn't play about these type of things."

"Can't you just accept that we're free with no worries. We can finally be happy with our little family."

BOOM!!

Therapist interrupts:

"So let me get this straight your parents were involved into some secret business?"

"I'm not sure at this moment you'll just have to wait and find out."

Sarah's POV:

When I woke up I smelled breakfast. I got out of bed and did my morning routine. Then I ran to the kitchen to see my grandmother cooking.

"You guys can set the table and get ready to eat." my grandmother said

We proceeded to set the table with plates, utensils, and napkins. My grandmother placed the food on the table. Then we all sat at the table and ate.

"Were gonna have to do this more often guys." my grandma said

"Yes we will grandma." I responded

"So how have you guys been?" she asked

Bang Bang!!

Alex and I stayed seated as my grandma went to answer the door. I peaked a little to see who it was and I saw it was the police.

Grandma's POV:

As me and the kids were eating breakfast we heard a knock on the door. So I got up and answered the door. When I opened the door it was the police which surprised me.

" Hello, how may I help you?"

"NYPD, we're here to see Gloria Davis."

"Okay I'm Gloria Davis, how may I help you officers?"

"Well I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news." The officer said

"Bad news?" I questioned

"Yes ma'am, your son and his wife were in an incident last night"

"Are they okay? Where are they?"

"I'm sorry but they were pronounced dead this morning."

"Whatttt?" I cried and just broke down

"I'm sorry ma'am." And with that they left like it was nothing.

John's POV:

So last night my brother Jared and his wife tried to leave SSS (Special Supernatural Spies). I couldn't let that happen so I staged a car accident.

7 years later...

Sarah's POV:

Today is the anniversary of our parent's passing and it was gonna be a rough day. After they passed my grandmother fell sick with dementia. But over the years me and Alex learned how to take care of her. Alex and I are now eighteen years old.

I was just getting home from work and I peeked into my grandmother's room. I saw she was laying down in her bed.

"Grannyyyy" I called out

"Yes my love" she spoke

"Wanna hear about my day?"

"I'm sorry but not today."

"What's wrong?"

"It's time"

"For?"

"Time for me to go on home baby." She said

"Don't talk like that I need you."

"I'm sorry but that's not how it works."

" I'm not taking this I'm not losing you too." I cried

"Baby I'll always be by your side whether I'm here or not." She said

She took my hand and kissed it placing a heart shaped necklace in it.

"As long as you have this you'll always have me. This necklace can open many doors for you believe me. Tell Alex I love him and keep being the strong man he's grown into. I love you Sarah."She spoke her last and final words

A week later...

I received my grandmother's will and she left me this chest. I kept trying all the keys she had to open it but it wouldn't budge. With the will and the chest she left a letter for us which read:

Dear twins,

I know I left you guys but you're strong both of you. Maybe now that I'm gone you guys can chase your destiny. Remember it can open a lot of doors for you guys. And while your chasing it contact your Uncle John. Love you guys.

I thought about her last words and remembered what she said about the necklace. And then I thought about the chest. I ran to get it and found Alex trying to pick the lock.

"Really dude I leave you for five minutes and your already trying to break into it."

"Well your not making progress so why not."

"Just hand it over."

He pushed the chest to me and I took off the necklace. It made sense because the lock was shaped as a heart. I placed it in and the fit was perfect. *Click* And the chest popped right open.

It was filled with a whole bunch of papers about supernatural people. But it's no way they actually existed. There was another letter from our granny.

Dear twins,

If your reading this I take it that I'm dead. So now it's time you know the truth. Find your uncle he'd know what to do.

"That's it nothing else!!" I said angrily

"Chill sis we'll be okay."

"No she keeps leaving us in the dark just like mom and dad did. Feels like our whole life was a lie."

"Well let's find out uncle that we barely know. Maybe he'll have all the answers we need." Alex said

"Okay come on."

"Wait Sarah what's on the back of the letter?"

I looked and it was a number that said John Davis. My granny was always leaving around something. She wanted us to contact The John Davis. The man who made the world fall into complete shambles.

"Call it" I told him

Dialing (509) 274-7374...

"Hello" the person on the other line said

"Yes is this John Davis?"

"Who's asking? He's not available right now."

"His nephew and niece."

"Come to 1101 croak drive and he might be in."

And with that the phone hung up, we grabbed our things and headed out.

It was an abandoned building which was weird. We got out and knocked on the door. Someone slid the little hatch and all we seen was their eyes.

"We're here to see John Davis."

"I think your at the wrong place."

And with that they closed the hatch right in our face. This made Alex angry because he started beating on the door. Which worked because some man opened it.

"Just like your pops always ready for a fight but could never finish it." The man said which made Alex swing but he caught his hand.

"I'm just messing come on in."

We walked in and the inside looked better than the outside. It was huge and there were mutants surrounding everywhere we looked.

He lead us to this room and on the way we saw this big door with a big lock on it. I wondered what was behind it but it was no way we was getting in there without a fight.

"You guys can take a seat." He said so we sat on the sofa.

Someone came into the room and brought us drinks. As we drunk the refreshments I started to feel drowsy. I wasn't tired so I don't know why I was feeling this way.

"How have you kids been?"

"Don't worry about that, why are we here?" I asked him

And before he could answer I passed out.

John's POV:

I knew after my mother died the twin would come crawling to me. And they fell for my plan to capture them along with there parents.

That's right my brother and his wife is still alive after all these years. They've been under my captivity because it was all apart of the plan.

Alex's POV:

I woke up and all I heard was my name being called by a familiar voice. When I looked around I couldn't believe my eyes. It was them after all these years they were alive. I knew that they weren't dead.

"Dad, Mom!!" I yelled

"Shhh my dad said you can't let them hear us."

"Okay I'm sorry but why are we here locked up."

"I'll explain later but right now we have to get out of here"

We weren't the only ones here there was cells filled with people. It went on like a never ending road.

"Hey baby, you see how we have these cuffs on our hands?"

"Yeah mom, what about them?"

"You and your sister doesn't have them.  You can use your powers to get us out." My mom said

"Powers?" I questioned

"Yes you and your sister have powers. You can break through things and she can burn through things."

"How is that even possible?"

"Just focus and try Alex!!"

I shook my sister and woke her up then explained everything. We tried and at first it didn't work.

"Focus!!" Our parents said to us

We did it again and surprisingly we broke through the cell. After we got out we helped our parents and all the others. Then we escaped and faced our uncle.

We defeated all the mutants and our uncle. He went to jail along with all the others. Finally we were back at peace to live our lives normally.

The End

science fiction
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.