Futurism logo

Dragontine

Foolish Dragon

By NoctuvPublished 3 years ago 30 min read
Like
Dragontine cover. Art by Noctuv

Dragons steal princesses. They eat livestock. And they fight knights. Collect gold hoards too. That’s just what they do. That sounds so cliché though. I stretched my wings, feeling each feather flex individually before resting them back against my body. I turned my long head to look out the mouth of my lair. A single human rode his horse back in the direction I knew where the human town was. I was expected to go there in soon time and capture my first princess. As tradition and instinct called. Then as legend would go I would lock her away in my lair and keep her here as knights would challenge me to save her. Or whatever. I turned my head once again, my eyes resting on my own personal hoard. It wasn’t as big as most other dragons but it was impressive none the less. Gems, gold, and diamonds littered the ground in not so neat piles. Tomorrow. Tomorrow I’ll go get a princess. For today I will hunt and fill my belly.

I stood up, my light colored feathers and scales alike shimmering in the sun light that had filtered into my cave. I walked out slowly, my long whip like tail dragging along the ground as my claws left mark in the dirt. Once fully outside I spread my wings and dove. My slender body allowed for impressive air maneuverability, a trait I had since I was a hatchling. I flew for miles until I arrived at the outskirts of the human town. I was not the largest dragon but it was still enough to scare the humans. I stood only twelve feet tall at head but my wing span breached twenty six feet. I also was approximately thirty feet long including my tail. The farmers screamed as I landed on their property. Sheep and goat bleated alike as eyed them, running to the safety of their barn. The farmers came back hailing sticks and stones, trying to drive me off. I snarled and spat fire in their direction. That was enough to scare them for a moment as I dully looked back at my pick of the herds. A plump she goat caught my eye as I turned to catch my dinner. The farmers were persistent and started to throw their rocks at me. What a bother. I turned my head slightly and knocked them off balance with my long tail before going in for the pounce. The goat bolted when she saw me coming however it was a futile attempt. I brought my tail back around, cornering her within it. She screamed as I plucked her from the ground. The goat secured in my grasp I took off to the air, flying back to my lair to feast.

It didn’t take long to get back. I tossed the goat in first before folding my wings and walking in myself. It cowered in a corner against my hoard as I turned back around to make sure no humans followed me. They did not know where my lair was and I preferred to keep it that way. Safety reasons of course. Not being a big dragon I would surely have trouble if multiple knights were sent my way. I turned back to my meal and picked the goat off the ground with my taloned hands, swallowing it whole. Contrary to popular belief, we dragons had no reason to ‘cook’ our food. That was a silly human procedure. Belly full I lay back down next to my hoard, watching the sun set from the opening of my lair. Tomorrow will be the day I go capture the princess. Then that will be one more cliché out of the way. I sighed and closed my bright yellow eyes as the sun set.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The song of morning birds awoke me from my slumber. I yawned, a small stream of smoke puffing from my maw. I stood up and stretched my scales and feathers alike. The sun had not yet risen fully. I shook my head, pumping myself up for today, before taking off back towards the human kingdom

The humans were still asleep as I arrived. I eyed the castle as I circled it from above the clouds. The princess was already up it seemed. Her long platinum blonde hair swayed in the gently breeze and her bright teal eyes gleamed in the sunrise. A form fitting dress circled her body comfortably as she fed small morning birds which were drawn to her, just like every other ‘cute’ woodland creature. Well time to get this over with. I let out a mighty roar, alerting all the humans of my presence, including the beautiful princess. Humans screamed as I dove from the clouds, my eyes set on my target.

The princess shrieked as I wrapped my slender body around her tower. She ran to retreat to the back of her room but to no avail. I was quicker as I slipped my torso through the large window, snatching the princess in my talons. She hit my hand with her own, but I felt no pain through my thick hide. The door across the room busted open to reveal a pool of knights. They screamed at me and swung their swords. There were too many to safely fight at the moment so using my back claws to hold myself onto the tower, I pushed out, the princess still in my hands. Once out completely I spat out a burst of flame at the knights, the princesses room going up in flames and leaving the knights to tend to that as I flew back to my lair.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

“Let me GO! LET ME GO!” the princess screamed as I landed in my lair. I rolled my eyes and set her down in the back behind my hoard and all the way in the back of the cave. She jumped away from me, brushing her dress off. “Just WHO do you think you are dragon!? Do you KNOW who I am?!” She screamed at me. I turned my back on her and lay back down. I should probably have built a cage before hand. Well I could probably store her in a niche on the walls where she couldn’t get down in the mean time. I’ll get to that eventually. Now what though? I was stuck with this lady screaming at me until whatever happens next. The knight comes and saves her or some shit like that. Hell if I know.

I felt a sudden kick at my tail and I shot my head to face the princess who had of course kicked me. I growled lowly, exposing my glistening white teeth. She seemed to freeze in fear at this. “I’m sorry dragon! Please don’t eat me!” she suddenly begged.

“I don’t eat humans. That’s disgusting.” I growled in reply.

The princess seemed dumb founded for a moment. “Wait you can speak human?” she asked, still wary.

“No humans just speak dragon.” I replied dully, resting my head back on the floor but keeping my eyes on her.

“Ok then let me ask you this dragon, why did you capture me?” she asked.

I paused. I didn’t know how to answer that. So I just shrugged. “Dunno. Tradition I guess. Mother told me I must do so when the time comes.” I replied. “Don’t know why honestly. Nor do I know what happens now.” I added with a snort.

The princess, despite being clearly scared seemed somewhat amused by my answer. “So when do you let me go? Or does the knight in shinning amour have to kill you first?” she asked, the sternness in her voice back.

I snarled, my nostrils flaring. “Enough with the questions I’m going to sleep. And don’t even think about escaping!” I roared.

The princess cowered in fear for a moment before retaining her dignity. “And what if I do?” she snapped back.

I stood up, grabbing her in my claws again. There was a crack in my wall big enough for the princess to sit comfortably in and high enough that if she fell out she would die. That would keep her put. “Good night.” I growled, placing her in the crack before climbing back down and curling up, covering my body with my wings and my tail resting over my snout. The knight has to kill the dragon. That would make sense I guess. I snorted and shook my head. No the dragon wins. The dragon always wins. No point contemplating that though. For now I completed another task on my dragon agenda. Time for bed.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Several months had passed since I kidnapped the princess. She was good conversation to say the least. She told me tales the humans told their children. There was one in particular that I found amusing, it was about a wolf who blew the houses down on three pigs. She also told me about her life as the human princess. Her mother had died leaving her stepfather as the only ruler. He planned to marry her off to a man in soon time. It was actually supposed to be a few days after the capturing. She also told me about true loves kiss. Honestly it sounded like the stupidest thing but I let her talk. It passed the time.

I returned home to my lair one day to find the princess, whose name I learned was Aura, preparing some food. “Oh dragon! Can you light a small fire for me please?” She asked, pointing to a pile of sticks she collected. I rolled my eyes but obliged, spatting a small flame where she requested. I sat down on the other side of the fire, lowering my head to get a better look at what she was doing. “Here try this!” she said, holding up a small piece of chicken that I had to admit smelled enchanting despite being cooked. I flicked my long tongue out, grabbing the piece and taking a moment to savor the piece before swallowing.

“That was pretty good.” I chirped, still savoring the lingering taste in my mouth.

“And here you said dragons hate cooked food! It’s a treat we humans eat. Thank you again for getting the ingredients for me!” she replied happily.

I snorted playfully. “Yeah yeah whatever.” I grinned.

“Hey by the way I don’t know your name dragon?” she suddenly asked.

I paused a moment. “It’s Ocu. My name is Ocu.” I grumbled in reply, my tail flicking somewhat uncomfortably. The name felt so strange on my lips almost foreign. It’s been so long since it has been said.

“That’s a pretty cool name.” Aura replied with a cute smile. “Mister Ocu.” She added.

“Actually I am female.” I replied, with a blink.

There was a slight pause. Her brow furrowed as she tried to figure out what to say. “Ok Miss Ocu!” she responded.

She resumed eating her cooked chicken as I picked at my hoard. Just out of habit. The two of us exchanged a few words here and there until it was bed time. After the first month I stopped worrying Aura was going to sneak out in the middle of the night. I even left her alone to explore my lair when I went out to hunt. I curled back up with my wings tucked against my body and my tail curled. I felt small hands climb over my tail and I felt the warm body of the princess lean against my ribs. I opened one eye to see she had rested against me, something that has never happened to me, with any other living being, before. I felt the scales around my face warm slightly as she snuggled against my body. I stretched out my wing above her protectively and fell back asleep.

The two of us awoke the next morning to a call from outside. “Hear thee ye horrible dragon! Release the princess at once or I am to slay thee!.” I voice called out to me. I rose my head and snorted lowly. “And if I am to win I shall be graced to wed the fair maiden as her fathers reward.” He added boastfully.

I looked back to the princess so seemed horrified. “Am I just a prize to be won?” she asked. She stood up immediately and walked out of my lair. “Who art thou knight?” she called.

“I am Knight Arnold mi’lady. And I am here to rescue thee!.” He called back.

“My father promises my hand in marriage to you?” she responded.

“Of course! He offers thou hand to whomever shall bring the head of the horrible beast back to him.” Arnold chanted.

Aura shot a pleading look back at me. “I don’t want to go.” She whimpered. I got the hint.

“Very well. I shall rid of this pest.” I growled, standing up and walking out. The knight cowered down when he saw me for a moment before standing tall again.

“Fight me beast!” he hollered, drawing his sword as the horse he was on reared up.

This won’t be much of a fight I thought as I roared loudly, his horse shrieking and having to be forced to stay put by the human on its back. I was careful to walk over Aura as I leapt from my lair, taking to the air. The knight charged forward with his sword drawn to me. I swiped him off his horse with ease and blasted fire at him. It was not enough to kill him but enough to frighten him greatly. The reek of human urine clouded my nostrils as I went in for a second attack. I felt his sword scrape my arm as I clawed at him but the attack was not strong enough to pierce my thick hide. I knocked him to the ground and pinned him down with a single hand, roaring into his face. I removed his helmet with my jaw and crushed it between my teeth, his face now vulnerable. “Please spare me oh mighty dragon!” the knight begged. Much better. I roared again in his face and swatted him to the side. Arnold rushed to his horse and rode off. Weak.

I flew back to Aura who grabbed my arm to check it. “Are you ok Ocu?” she asked.

“It’s going to take a lot more then a piece of iron to get to me.” I replied with a smile.

I felt my heart skip a beat when I felt Aura grasp her arms around my leg, hugging me. “Thank you Ocu. I just can’t believe I am seen by a prize by these men.” She hissed into my scales. I paused a moment before resting my other hand gently on her back in an imitation hug. “I want to stay here with you, Ocu.” She murmered. My eyes widened slightly before relaxing again.

“If that is what you wish, then I will do my best to fulfill it.”

~*~*~*~*~*~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Many more months passed with the princess still ‘trapped’ in my lair. She slept curled next to my side every night. And when winter came I was sure to light a fire to keep her warm. She made clothes out of the hides of the animals I brought back for herself and even made me a small trinket every now and then. Around my neck was a necklace made from the pelt of a deer along with colored fabric from her original dress. I never told her this but it had become my prized possession. I myself had tried my hands at ‘sewing’ but had failed horribly, my claws too big to fully grasp the tiny needle. Aura found the entire ordeal quite amusing but congratulated me on trying.

“Ocu.”

I turned when my name was called. “Yes Aura?” I responded.

“What is it like to fly? To be in the sky so free?” she asked, looking out the entrance to my cave as she spoke, to the skies.

“Would you like to see?” I asked, walking over to her. She looked up at me as I lowered the front half of my body, my eyes meeting hers. I had grown a considerable amount since I first met her. Standing at least 20 feet tall. A smile grew wide on her face when she saw what I was offering and climbed onto the base of my neck. “Hold on, my dear.” I purred, jumping from the ledge. My feathered wings shot open, taking me into the sky with Aura grasping onto my feathery mane, her legs pressed against the sides of my neck.

I looked to the sky. Large clouds covered most of the sky, the sun filtering through every now and a-then. I shot strait up through them, coming to a stand still once we were above them. I heard Aura gasp out in excitement as she looked around. Clouds were below us and above us. It was surely a sight to behold. “This is incredible!” she breathed as I resumed flying along the cloud line. She reached out, feeling the cloud between her fingers. I dove back through the clouds and now over the forest. A herd of deer ran away seeing my shadow. Further out a pack of wolves gathered and howled over a successful hunt. I lifted high into the air once again next to a flock of birds. They took notice of my appearance but once realizing I was not there for a hunt they resumed their route.

After a quick circle over the area I head back to my lair, landing gracefully and laying down so Aura could get off. “Wow Ocu that was amazing, thank you so much!” she exclaimed, hugging my snout as I went to lift my head. A low rumble escape my throat. The dragon equivalent of a purr in lack of a better example. Aura must have felt it because she giggled and ran her hands through the feathers on my face.

Another night came and went, Aura and I tucked together per usual. The sound of hoof beats woke me at first light. I lifted my head and careful, as to not disturb Aura. She grumbled in annoyance as her feather blanket was taken from her. I peered out from my cave to find a dust cloud moving towards me and fast. I blinked the sleep from my eyes and narrowed them to get a better look. They were horses, and on their back men. Knights. My eyes widened as I quickly withdrew back into my lair. They were no doubt here for Aura. But I was determined to obey her wish to stay here.

Aura had woken up at this time and looked at me with worried eyes. “What is wrong Ocu?” she asked, rubbing the sleep from her eyes and throwing her cloak over her naked body. Since it was just me and her here, in the summer months she usually went naked save for a wolf pelt cloak.

“More knights have arrived. Many this time.” I replied, trying to mask the fear in my voice with boredom. However she saw through my lies. Before she had a chance to speak though I took a breath. “I will try and fight them off. You stay safe.” I managed to say.

I felt her delicate hand on my chest. “Please be careful Ocu. And thank you.” She murred softly. I nodded before shooting out of my lair and landing in front of the men. I roared as loudly as I could, trying to intimidate them.

“That’s it! That’s the beast!!” I heard a vaguely familiar voice scream. Then I remembered. Arnold.

“Oh horrible beast thou has my wife and I am here to slay thee and save her!.” The knight in the front chanted. His eyes were bright blue and thick blonde hair was seen under his helmet. This must be the man that Aura was arranged to, that other prince she told me about. She did describe his looks to me at one point.

I was a bit worried at first for even though I had grown, I was still a smaller dragon. But I was not going to back down. I roared again, this time blasting fire from my flame gland out and shooting it at the nights. Horses reared back and screamed but all held their ground.

Several men at the flank of the formation were the first to charge at me. They were an easy hit, using my long whip like tail to knock them from the backs of their horses. I shot back to the air and shot another flame to the men. My eyes landed on the prince. If I got him I would be able to stop the other men, I think. Humans followed their leader right?

I swopped down, aiming for the prince. The men flanking him saw through my plan though and pulled bows off their back, shooting arrows at me. I dove to avoid the first one but the second one pierced the top of my wing, right at the joint. They knew where to shoot. I hissed as the pain quickly shot through my wing, forcing me to land. I plucked the arrow out from my wing and spat more fire. The men from earlier swarmed me again, now off their horses, and swung at me with their swords. They were stronger this time, the humans learning from their mistakes last time. I snarled out as the weapons pierced through my skin. I roared out, whipping the knights away with my tail. Pain coursed through my body and my wing still throbbed from the arrow earlier.

Blinded by rage and pain I lashed out again, catching a knight in my jaws and thrashing my head to the side, taking him with me. He screamed once before the force of impact knocked him out. I felt another sword scrape the scales on my neck enough to pierce the skin. I spun my head around to find the prince on his horse who now looked quite scared. He had probably meant to aim further, harder, to kill me. To end my life. I roared and knocked him to the ground, pinning him under both of my claws. The other men surrounded us however I turned to face them, snarling as I held the prince hostage.

I felt him struggle under my grip. “YOU BLASTED BEAST I WILL MURDER YOU. I WILL TAKE YOUR HEAD TO THE KING.” The prince screamed. I don’t know if it was the pain, or the threats, or the fact that I was literally looking death in the face, but all I knew was that I was enraged and the human I had pinned under my claws I wanted dead. I looked up, shooting fire around me to prevent the other men from coming in and interfering.

I turned back to face my victim, a grin pulling onto my face as my nostrils flared inches from his. I will end him was the only thought going on through my head. I opened my maw again inches from his face. “Ocu! Wait, don’t do it!” a familiar voice called to me. My head shot around to see Aura standing at the entrance to the lair. “You’re better than that.” I saw her mouth. That moment of distraction though was all it took however. The other men jumped the fire barrier and chains roped me. I snarled, trying to spat more fire but couldn’t as my maw was chained shut.

I tried to take to the air but more and more chains roped around me. I was pulled to the ground, my head hitting hard against the dirt. I heard Aura scream at the knights to leave me alone however her cries were drowned out by the knights screaming. I struggled to get free but to no avail. The prince stood over my face, a wide grin on his. “Blind it, the king will quite enjoy this gift.” He announced. The next thing I knew there was a thick piece of leather over my eyes and my body was dragged along the ground as I was tied to horses.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I opened my eyes to find myself in a small, dark room. There were metal bars over the windows and around me. Aura talked about these at one point. They were called dungeons I think. I jumped up, however fell back down as my body was still chained. I went to open my mouth to roar only to find it had been chained shut as well.

The next few hours were spent tugging and trying to break free but to no avail. Finally I collapsed from pure exhaustion. The sound of foot steps alerted me as I lifted my head and growled lowly. A man dressed in lavish robes followed by multiple others, including the prince, walked in. My eyes narrowed to slits as they looked down at me.

“What a remarkable beast. It’s hide will look amazing on my wall.” The King grinned.

“Anything for you, your majesty.” The prince replied proudly.

“And the girl?” the king asked.

“She was rescued, wearing the skins of animals from the lair of this beast.” The prince replied over dramatically.

“Lovely. You two shall be wed tomorrow, then when my time comes, you shall have the throne.” The king smiled, the group walking out.

I snarled lowly. They saw Aura as nothing more than an object and it angered me so. I tried to break from my chains once again but to no avail.

I lay against the cold floor for several more hours until more foot steps were heard. I snarled lowly again, my nostrils flaring in warning however I stopped immediately when I saw the delicate figure of Princess Aura. My eyes soften as I rested my head back on the ground again.

“Ocu, I’m so, so sorry.” Aura whimpered, reaching her hand in to pet my snout. I flinched at her touch, growling instinctively but stopping myself immediately. Aura had pulled her hand back when I growled but still remained pressed against the rails.

I lifted my head and pressed it back against the railing, brushing against Aura. She brought both of her arms through to hug me. “The wedding is tomorrow. I don’t want to go.” She whimpered into my feathers. I wanted to comfort her but I did not know what to say.

Aura hugged me tight. “I have to go now before they check on my room but I will be back at first light tomorrow.” She said softly. With that she stepped back. “Good night Ocu.” She said regretfully. This will be the first time in many moons we will not be together in our sleep. I rested my head back on the floor and watched Aura leave. In time the candle that was illuminating the room also went out, leaving me alone in the dark.

At first light I heard foot steps re-entering the dungeon and my eyes blinked awake to find Aura. I lifted my head tiredly as she looked around quickly before using a key to open the door. My feathers rose in both interest and confusion as she quickly snuck un, undoing the chains over my body. Once done she stepped back as I walked out after her, stretching my body and wings. “Aura but you’ll get in so much trouble!” I said immediately.

“No because you and I are going to get out of here. We’re going to run away together!” she was quick to reply. “I do not want to marry him. I do not want to be an object to my step father.” She added.

I paused. “If that is what you wish. And I will protect and be with you until the day I die.” I replied. Aura smiled, water forming in her eyes. “What’s this?” I asked, brushing my snout against her cheek as the water dripped down. I have seen Aura form water in her eyes once before. They were called tears and it was what humans did when they were sad. “Are you upset?” I whimpered.

Aura shook her head, still smiling as she wiped her tears away. “No these are tears of happiness.” She murmured into my feathers as she hugged my face. “Let’s go before everyone else awakens.” She declared, stepping away from me and running off, me close behind.

We arrived to a large room with ceilings taller than the largest dragons and windows just as big. A large throne sat on one side which made me figure this was the kings main room. Aura was wearing her wolf pelt cloak as she snuck through quietly, myself walking low behind her.

“THERE’S THE BEAST KILL IT!” A sudden scream echoed through the room as knights swarmed in. I turned back to face Aura who was paralyzed in fear. I ran forward, lowering my head between her legs and scooping her onto my neck.

“Duck and hold on tight.” I hissed as I jumped towards the window, crashing through it on impact. I used my claws to grasp onto the roof of another part of the castle and began to run. I shot a quick look over the edge. We were high enough a fall from here would be enough to kill even me. My wings still ached but if I wanted to get us both out alive I had to push through it. I started to climb across the castle away from the broken window, Aura still on my back.

“Ocu!” I heard Aura scream but a moment late as a searing pain shot up through my flank. I snarled and turned around to find the king in full amour behind me.

“The dragon killed the princess but was brought down by the mighty king. What a lovely story no?” he sneered.

I snarled lowly. He was thinking about killing Aura. How dare he! “You lay a hand on her and I will kill you!” I roared.

“Is that so beast? Then I’ll just kill you first!” the king chanted, avoiding a swing from my tail and stabbing me now in the ribs. I yelped out as I reared backwards.

I dug my claws into the roof and leaned down. I smashed a nearby window with my tail. “Aura get inside and stay safe I’ll get you when I’m done.” I whispered. Aura quickly obeyed, slipping into the room. I turned back to face the king, a second snarl escaping my throat.

Sleep deprived, wounded, and dizzy, I did the first thing that came to instinct. I lunged forward to attack the king. However the move was predictable as he reached out with his sword, the blade going through the front of my neck and coming out of the back. I gagged out, blood spurting from my maw. The world was getting blurry around me. I slashed out with my fore leg, slashing across the kings chest and hearing him screech.

I felt the sword go deeper into my neck, more blood flowing out. It was when he yanked the sword from that the blood spurted out and caused the most damage. I gasped for breath as I fell over. I felt a slashing at my wings as I went down, feathers and blood littering the roof. Everything was starting to go white. It was when I heard Auras scream and saw her get dragged out by the king that I forced myself up. I lunged forward using the last bit of my strength to do so. The king screamed as I grabbed him between my jaws, the two of us falling from the roof. The castle was made on a cliff, the back end facing the forest having a several hundred foot drop. And that’s the end I took him off on. I heard Aura scream for me. Time seemed to slow as I locked eyes with her before my back legs left the roof. There were ‘tears’ in my eyes. But they were not sad ones. They were the happy kind.

“Be a good queen. I love you.” I murred as both me and the king fell. I opened my wings but of course that did not help at all for they were useless to me now. The last thing I heard before impact was the screams of the king.

~*~*~* ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Years Later

“You’re majesty there is someone here to see you.” One of the maids said. Queen Aura looked over from where she was looking out the window. Her eyes were on the part of the roof where years ago a dragon took down a tyrant. The kings body was found however the dragons was not. The beast was not in it’s lair and the blood trail ended abruptly in the middle of the forest.

“Let them in.” Queen Aura sighed, her eyes traveling back to the window.

The maid nodded and head out, to return a few moments in with another woman. She had a somewhat tall slender body and short feathery light hair. Her shining yellow eyes shone with life as she rose a hand to a deer hide and colored fabric necklace that was covering a scar on her neck. “May I present to you Ocu.” The maid said.

Queen Aura turned around sharply, her eyes widened and she gasped. “O-Ocu?” she managed to whisper, jumping up and running over to hug the woman.

Ocu hugged her back. “Hello Aura. I’ve missed you”

~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~**~~

I opened my eyes slowly. The dead body of the king rest beside me. I felt no pain even as I stood up and walked off back towards my lair. I had made it to the forest before my body ached for me to rest again. I collapsed on the ground, breathing heavy. I have no idea how long I was laying there before the sound of gentle hooves against the soft dirt caused me to open one eye and look up. A pure white equine was making its way towards me. A small growl escaped my throat as it lowered its head to mine, a long single horn gently grazing my feather mane.

“Oh dearest. It seems you have lost so much blood. To save a human? How strange of a dragon.” The creature cooed. “Tell me dragon, why did you do so?” the creature asked.

“I swore to protect her.” I answered shortly. A small smile formed on it’s face as if it were waiting for me to add more. “Because I love her.” I added.

“How very sweet. She misses you greatly too.” The equine said.

I looked back up at it now with both eyes. “How do you know?”

Her first order as queen was to find your body. However as you might be able to tell it is no longer in the mortal world. She has spent every day since thinking of you.” The creature replied. It was at that moment I realized the semi transparency my body was exhibiting. And the world around the two of us had a strange blue tint.

However that was not what I commented on. “She is queen now?” I breathed happily.

The creature smiled again. “You do care greatly for her. And for that you will be given a second chance. The creature raised it’s horn, a strange light emitting from it and surrounding the both of us completely. The smell of the forest flooded back to me ad my body became solid and touched the cool dirt. My wounds healed as my body began to change again. I shrunk in size and stood up right. My feathers and scales were replaced with skin and hair and my tail and wings became no more. I had become human.

“Unfortunately some wounds can not heal.” The equine said, resting her horn on my neck, right under my necklace and where the scar was. “But this is the best I can do for you.” It added with a smile.

“I’m human.” I breathed, looking at my new hands and looking over my body. “I can go see Aura.” I added, a smile growing on my face. I turned to the equine. “Thank you so much great spirit.” I exclaimed.

“Of course. It would be a shame if this little love story ended so early.” It giggled, it’s horn glowing again as clothes formed over my body. With one last smile and thank you I ran back towards the castle. I had someone to meet.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Noctuv

Hey there!

I’m a 25 year old artist and writer from NYC who enjoys fantasy and horror work.

I’m new to this site so I’m trying to figure it out and get a feel for it but expect some stories soon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.