Futurism logo

“Don’t who me”

The struggle of the colorblind

By Theo Hipen XPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
“Don’t who me”
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

As I wake to the screams, I quickly remind myself that this is normal; one man screaming and the other absorbing. I sit on my bed trying to collect my thoughts and also translate the scene that is unfolding before me. I’m still actually a little confused as to why the one is yelling and even more confused with the one just standing there. One of those questions gets answered almost as if they heard my thoughts. As the screamer raises his hand to make contact with the other, the much larger (and extremely absorbent) man puts his arm up in defense.

“Knock it off, some of us are trying to sleep” I yell in my confusion as one turns and just looks at me.

The next scene explained to me how the man became so absorbent, dozens of screaming men came running in at the request of the first; the poor man had no choice but to become absorbent, otherwise he’d break. Thankfully that scene didn’t last too long and now that it's over, I can finally begin my day. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to get the thought out of my head; What made those men so different? The only difference that I could see was they were just a different shade, I probably need more information before I judge.

I continue on with my day and begin to plan for my hunt, one of the variables I’ve been working with lately is should I hunt out then come home or should i go out and then hunt my way home? I know it seems trivial but the little amounts of time can make a huge difference, especially if it means the difference of carrying my food 10 miles or one. As I contemplate this life changing decision, I hear the absorbent one yelling 2 words over and over at the original screamer and I feel a sense of warmth run through me, “sorry Masta.” Wait, this doesn’t seem right, why is he still being hit if he is the one screaming. Then I finally translate one word of the language these creatures utilize to express their thought, Masta, it seems like a word that is used to define a person who believes he holds dominion over another person.

As I begin my hunt, oh I decided to travel out and hunt back (seems wiser), I can’t help but reflect on the actions of this morning. Three thoughts come to mind: the only difference that I could see between those two humans was their shade, one appeared less grey than the other; I wonder if they realize that the only difference I can see is their tone. The second is that it appeared as if the lighter one was the only person benefiting from that exchange, while the other was catching the wrong end of the bull; seems like if the only difference is the tone then it would be more beneficial for both if they work in harmony. Rise then raise always works for me. The third is more interesting and it’s...ooh a mouse.

As I swoop down for my meal with the Moon lighting my day, my main concern is; I hope this time around it is different and they finally understand me, otherwise this narrative will be pointless because they’ll just look back blank eyed and say, “Who? Who?” Like I’m supposed to know what that means. Regardless, I’m spitting my dinner on the “Masta” when he walks into the room. Don’t judge me, I’m not a fan of being woken up by the sounds of injustice and I don’t like going to bed with his a cappella still singing. I understand you will never be able to see my perspective but my whole life I was raised to believe I could only see in greyscale yet, this seems pretty black and white to me. Take it however you..

...“Who are you talking to Jay?”

“Oh hey Athena!” Sorry guys, she stops in from time to time, something about godly duties. “You remember when I said I was gonna start narrating my life, well this is it?”

“No one can understand you but me, we’re Barn Owls, Jay! How many times do I have to tell you that?” She says with a little extra emphasis on my existence.

She’s so serious all the time, I wonder what life is like with no imagination.

“You realize I can understand you right? It’s probably not smart to condescend the Goddess of war and strategy”

...as she takes a deep breath for her impressive monologue as most people do with self-imposed importance…

“enough narrating Jay!”...“The issue with all your imagination is that there is no action behind it, you sit up here on your perch and say you don’t see color and tell people your thoughts on subjects but none of that really matters if the furthest reach your imagination has is in your mind, if your imagination does not create action then you are using it as an escape. Instead of telling people what’s wrong, why not suggest a fix...why not do what I do? Also you can narrate again.”

“Oh so kind of you”

...As the “Masta” walks in, Athena lets out a screech that makes my pellets come out the wrong way. She takes flight and darts toward the absorbent human...wait, why is she flying towards the guy so aggressively if he’s already the one terrified. As she draws closer, she cuts sharp and floats directly in the center of the two men before easing to the ground. The “Masta'' stops in his tracks. Ok guys now I’m totally confused, she made this huge monologue and said do as I do and all she’s done is sit in the middle of...oooooh I see, I guess sometimes the best way to end injustice is to be brave enough to leave the stands and stand on the side of Justice in the Thunderdome. As I finish this thought, I can’t help but notice the Masta slowly backing away as if just the mere presence of an ally shook his resolve...oh no, I saw this coming...the Masta is doing the typical human thing, why do you try to speak our language?

“Who Who Good Owl”

Athena obviously forgetting she’s in character, let’s out a single phrase that sends the Masta running.

“Don’t who me.” Athena says with immediate regret. If only she could have seen the excitement of the absorbent humans, the ones that get to relax their fear today as the Masta left in a cloud of dust; I truly think that regret would turn to pride.

As the Moon sets, I can’t help but think about these events. I hope this inspiration they have absorbed is not because of the fear in the lighter shade human but due to the presence of an Ally.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Theo Hipen X

If you are surrounded by darkness then you are the light in which you search for.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.