Futurism logo

Demon Slayer Review

I finally watched the biggest anime of 2019

By SamPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I first heard of Demon Slayer, I wasn’t really excited about it. If anything, I got annoyed at cons at the amount of cosplay I saw for this show. How good could it be? Over the course of a few months, all the Demon Slayer tweets, cosplays, articles, etc. wore me down. Finally, I decided to watch Demon Slayer.

Right off the bat, I noticed this show is very easy to binge. They had great cliffhangers and endings to each episode that make you want to jump right into the next one. I finished it quickly, and the process was pretty effortless. I’m not the best binge-watcher in the world, so this was a great thing for me.

Another first thought I had during the first episode would have to be the animation and music. Every fight was so fluid, the scenery was gorgeous, and they mixed a bunch of different styles into it. I loved looking at everything on screen, and you can see how much care was put into the show. The music was fantastic. It was powerful during tense scenes and cute and cheery when the characters were acting like absolute idiots. When you have strong technical qualities to the show, it makes it easier to like the story and characters too.

Regarding the story and characters, those were strong too. I like the story. It has a basic premise: The main character, Tanjiro, is trying to change his sister Nezuko back into a human after she turns into a demon. To do so, he joins the Demon Slayer Corps to get the answers about the demons from their leader, Kibutsuji. The plot moves quickly but it doesn’t feel rushed. Tanjiro fights a lot of demons, and each fight serves a purpose. The early ones show how compassionate he is, feeling sympathy for all the demons he kills, and doing all he can to save the humans in danger. I like how the demons escalate in power, up until the end of the season when Tanjiro fights Rui, one of Kibutsuji’s twelve most elite demons. You can tell that it will take a couple of seasons for Tanjiro to reach his goal, so the pacing is appropriate.

The characters are also well developed. The show does a good job with showing Tanjiro’s drive to save Nezuko. The two have such a strong and believable bond. It’s easy to root for them. To be honest, while I like Tanjiro, he’s a little bland compared to the rest of the cast. I’m a big fan of Inosuke, aka Boar Man as I affectionately call him. He’s so funny while also having small moments that could set him up for some awesome emotional character development. What I’m most excited for in future seasons and in the upcoming movie is to see how Inosuke grows. The other colorful character I have to talk about is Zenitsu. At first he was way too loud for me. Then he got funnier as the show went on, and now I can’t stop laughing whenever he starts screaming. Like Inosuke, he had a lot of hilarious moments, and the way they animate his expressions made it that much funnier.

Talking about funny moments, something else I enjoyed about the show was how well it could balance a serious and comedic tone. They can switch between the two easily, and I never felt like the comedy took away from the emotional weight of the story.

My overall rating is that it’s good. I didn’t think it was the best thing I saw in 2019, but it was enjoyable. They left off on a great note, and it sets the scene perfectly for the next part of the story. It looks intense and action packed, and I don’t want to wait for it too long. If you have any interest in Demon Slayer, you should catch up ASAP.

anime
Like

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.