Futurism logo

Dear Pope Frances

Jorge Mario Bergoglio

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Dear Pope Frances
Photo by Joost Crop on Unsplash

Dear Pope Frances,

Once again, I, Jiibi Kwe, am here coming to talk to you today to ask for help. The Native Americans seek closure and you have the key to unlock the truth in our history. I would like to ask if the Cavatican would release the records that may be encased behind locked doors in regards to the records of the boarding schools. This is a plea for the children and a plea for my culture for justice.

As an Archivist, I have seen the letters that have been left to the tribe for use in this matter. The accounts left are few and I know that there are many more letters that have been exchanged between these establishment and the Vatican. I cam imagine the amount of information that has occurred over the years. I am sure the updates that were occurring in the walls of those schools are safely tucked away in storage. I ask that they be shared so families can heal from such experience.

What is happening in Canada with the large count of child graves are likely to happen here in the United States. Canada has over 7,000 child graves. This is unthinkable. Myself, my Grandparents are survivors of the Mt. Pleasant schools and tales were shared and passed down to the family is disturbing. I know that they were witness to the death of their classmates. Therefore, I can imagine the death count will be just as large here. Many names of the children are probably preserved for families to morn.

The data is encased in various establishments all over the United States. This information should be released to the tribes. I know this is a huge request that would require a lot of delicacy for our community. There are survivors still living who do not want their information made public. However, the information is important for the tribes to move forward in the healing as each bit of information released. Recorded and presented to the people is needed for clarity.

I do understand the implications of such request, but if one doesn’t ask, one doesn’t receive. I have watched your character over the years and I must say I am impressed with you. Your kindness is notable and I call on the hope that you would be kind enough to bein the process of providing information we so desire.

I know the historians that are in your service would have an idea on how to share the information. I would love the original copies, but a digital copy would still be a useful tool for study for our tribe. I would even be willing to be of service to collaborate with your historians. My skills would be an asset to the process.

Today, as the pandemic is occurring, research is one of the best practices to complete. Currently, the story is not complete. To have additional detail in the lives of the children would help to establish a greater understanding through the Native collective. This is the time to prepare the facts and details while we are forced to work in seclusion. This is the time to bring in the healing. Healng for all is a good thing for society and the Native members of the Catholic faith.

Please work with the Native Nations. Show that a wrong is being acknowledged by the church. This is a good start. Showing the willingness to collaborate with the Tribes would strengthen the devotion of some of your Native American members. There has been an increase in interest and emails are flowing into our department. I would rather give accurate facts and figures than inaccurate information. The truth lies within the closed doors of the offices of past fathers. The truth also lies in your diocese. The truth lies in the archives of the church. I am only one Native asking but I hope more Native Nations are asking for the same information.

Let the truth set the children free. Let the truth come to light so a release of generational trauma can be healed. There are many communities that are waiting for the truth to be known. Father Pope Frances, please release the boarding school information to the tribes.

Sincerely,

Sheila L. Chingwa

Jiibi Kwe (Spirit Woman)

Below is a link to a letter to the President.

religion
2

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.