Futurism logo

Day 3 Morning

A sci-fi romance.

By Come AgainPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I kept going back and forth in my mind, should I call it it, or should I call it her? I did build her to be in a relationship with me. I suppose I will call it, her. She did not sleep through the night, she was on a low power state. Even though she booted up, there were still a lot of updates that needed to happen so that the software was safe. Parts are cheap, very true, though that does not mean I want to keep buying new parts because of a malfunction. So I would rather her spend time downloading everything she needs to run properly.

She was on the living room couch, sitting bolt upright, and eyes wide open. I noticed that when she is doing core updates, her eyes glow a bright blue, but when it is a small update to information, her eyes stay purple. It is insignificant in the grand scheme of things, I just find it interesting. I then started to wonder what it would be like if the robot had blue eyes anyway, it must get confusing sometimes, though, I suppose the blue light might give it away.

I furrowed my brow, seeing as she was still here, does that mean a girl finally spent the night? If so, as far as a first time goes, it is pretty pathetic. I hang my head at the thought, and prop it up at the forehead using my wrist, while also holding onto a cup of coffee. I am not a big coffee drinker, though I do find myself drinking a cup in the morning to start the day. Odd. My mind is all over the place, at least, even more than usual. I look up and stare at her. Her. I have not even named her yet, what's a good name. A name she might like. Then again she might just accept anything I give her. Does she have one herself? And if she does I did not even bother to ask for it.

'Is everything alright?'

I had been staring, though I had not been paying attention to her at all. 'Do you have a name?'

'Violet.'

I felt my collective consciousness crack and shatter into many pieces. She did have a name, and I was far more interested in touching her instead. I am starting to see why they all said no to me, and why I had to literally build a girlfriend.

'It was on the box that held my core.'

What ever shattered pieces were on the floor were thoroughly ground into dust.

'I had assumed that you knew, which is why I did not bring it up.'

'I just assumed that was what the model was called.

'It is, I am the model, if you are not happy with the name, you are welcome to assign me any name that you want.'

'Violet is fine. I really like it,' setting the cup down I look at her. 'It suits you.'

'Thank you.'

'Well I need to head off to work now. Would you like anything when I get back?'

'No, thank you. May I ask how long work would last?'

'Eight hours, sometimes more.'

'Thank you, I shall recharge in the meantime.'

I take one good look at her, hoping to take a mental picture of her for me to think about while I am at work.

For the first time in a long time I found myself eager to get back home, as opposed to working here. Usually I do not even feel the hours go by, however, I can now feel every second slowly tick by. I was on edge, and I hated it.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.