Futurism logo

Day 14:Boredom kills

Boredom Kills

By Jackson BlankPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Day 14:Boredom kills
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

9 am

Up all night, I was chasing down the leads. My eyes locked on to a video taken three days ago. Our new hires, sitting in the cafe Odette, know as a place to get things on the darker side. Fixer and pimps, hang out here, procuring the ones with flash the naughties of toys.

Drugs, Guns, Blades, Girls, Illegal items. Things that the mighty Corporate Citizens are not allowed to have from the other sectors. The one across from the table is an Info Broker. I had run into this fucker before. Calls himself the Birdies, he sells and deals with the darkest of connections. A few of the fucking not so bright, not so good have fallen into his traps. Commonly, dead drops the method, but they are dumb.

But these green as a grass, told him to meet at a bar. He passed them a card. That is where it went down last night. I flag, Birdies for a talking to, as I read it all watching it listening from a pair of cyber eyes across the room, watching the mouths. Why was this taped? I have no fucking idea. But glad I found it. It seems this might be a more massive game.

Agent Rivera beeps into my messages. She is a force of nature. She is a killer born. She is our best line of defense and gets people to sing. I wonder what song Birdies has in his little heart.

Rivera: I see, Birdies in this mess.

Me: Yeah, pick him up and bring him in for questioning.

Rivera: Over and Out. Be here tonight, want it taped.

Me: The answer bit. Nothing else. They tried to get Virtual Killer.

The line goes dark. She is on the case. Poor fucker, he is in for a rough night, as I watch it all. The data stream had been scrubbed for anything giving away the eye's owner as I swipe the video off my screen.

The deal was simple. It seems they wanted this new illegal game. Six months on the market, no idea who is running it, nor do I care. It's called Virtual Killer. It's a sim where you watch others kill for the pleasure of it. Hot simming, you watch the world through the eyes of someone else, you vote on actions. Then they do it, live torture murderous game, millions watch, only a few lucky play. A many unlucky, get to be on the stream, runs 24/7.

As I watched it for a moment, my own copy of the game is resting on my desk. Picking it up looking at the chip, I was ordered to find a copy. To monitor it if our people got found out or started to play. So far, not happening, I could see the morbid desire, but to me, it was boring. It was for those desk jockeys and those that never seem to find themselves truly. The poor liked it cause, well, it was something to fucking do. Boredom is the great mind-killer.

Flicking my fingers up for another call, time to put my PA to work.

Alexis: Yes, Boss.

Me: Get up here, take this chip, monitor it all day for me, you are going to be watching it, for these faces.

Swiping my right hand towards it, sending the images as she gets them. She would be up shortly for the chip. I hope I was wrong, but I think they are now in the game. She is going to watch old feeds and fresh ones. For the next 48 hours, she hates gore. But fuck it, it's her job now. Logging out, have a lead to follow up on, in person.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jackson Blank

I do short stories, tried to do a serial life did not allow me to keep on going.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.