Futurism logo

Day 10:When it hits

Never okay

By Jackson BlankPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Day 10:When it hits
Photo by Francois Hoang on Unsplash

1 am

Failed.....

Life is over.......

Sitting there on a bench, hands in a pair of cuffs. Team dead, just me left covered in the blood of a hit. Getting taken in by CorpSec, this is a bad fucking night.

The job went perfect, in and out files gone, and servers hit. No real guards, nothing cakewalk. Able to get in and out, erased destroyed, no deaths, no sightings. Perfectly done, but as we walked out of the warehouse with our heads high as champions of the digital. Mary-Mary took the first one to the head, right between her pretty green eyes....the head exploding over my suit, coating me in gore.

After that, it was a blur of bullets and swords, but I went down from a taser to the base of my neck. The world is flickering fading, as I felt myself getting dragged. As my eyes closed, I saw 3 corpses and one big bad solo with a katana getting paid off.

She was not a guardian angel, nor a member of the team for real. She was a cain, a rat, sellout, a traitor to the team. But it's over now, my vision fading, waking up in a cold cell. My gear in front of me, taping this right now, my testament. Offline, but this will be my last thoughts before they format this fucker.

Been back here for a bit now, in the heart of somewhere dark, cold, black forbidden for the public. No window, no door, just the black walls. With a camera in the corner, the type of place you die in and never get found again according to the world—a black site.

The wall is pushing inwards, and a screen is coming out of it, a man in a dark purple suit with a perfect tie. Corporate as the day is long, ready to watch me die or make a deal.

"Listen well, before this day is over, you will make a choice. Thaddeus is your new name. The old you is dead, recorded as such in that raid on your group. You are there dead, registered as such with the city. Thaddeus T Worrel is your name now. If you pick to come back to the world of the living." The voice is cold as it washes over me, as I look at him, confused. That voice is powerful, subtle with a hint of boredom."You did good work. Got a team of unknowns to hit my data bank, erase the data. Did it without a hitch. The plan went perfectly. Showed skill kiddo showed you got what it takes to play in the big leagues."

That suit takes a cigarette out of his case in front of him, tapping it three taps on the gold case. As he lights it now with a gold lighter, taking a slow inhale of the tobacco."So, Thad, I can call you Thad, right?" His voice is teasing as he exhales the purple smoke into the air, watching me."A Simple choice be mine for my company and me. We will wipe your record, get you patched up, and pay you too much money. Move you to sector 18, high rise to start with. New gear, New Deck, handpicked crew by you of the top, the cream of the crop. You will be running my new counter intelligence team."

I sit there, dumbfounded as I listen. What type of shit and drek was this?

"I want you because you are unknown. Your quick, your smart, your survivor. I need someone with balls. Everyone up here is scared to get dirty hands. I need a rat, a monster, one willing to spill blood. The world is changing, so we have to change with it."

I nod my head; the room goes black. The smell of gas piped into the room. As I faint, I hear him chuckling.

"Welcome to your real life."

I fade out.......

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jackson Blank

I do short stories, tried to do a serial life did not allow me to keep on going.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.