Futurism logo

Dark Woods

The adventure continues

By K.C. KeatsPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

A New Home

How this little group came together is where my tale begins,

It all started when the family of the boy and girl a new house they started to move in too,

The boxes were stacked in every room and everything was a mess,

As Bobby searched the rooms upstairs wondering which room would be his,

As he looked around his mother called, “Bobby, have you seen your sister? Are you up there?

Coming mom,” he replied. “I haven't seen her anywhere”, as he made his way down the stairs,

“Could you please check the back yard?” his mother asked. “We are leaving to for lunch soon”,

Bobby went through the kitchen towards the back door, looked at the clock, it was almost noon,

Bobby went through the door and into the yard, it was his first time back there,

He looked around, a big brown fence went around the yard with a gate in the middle that was slightly ajar,

His sister Jade was nowhere to be seen and he ran towards the gate,

When he got to the gate, he called her name hoping she would be there so they wouldn't be late,

As he passed through the gate there was a large field with a forest on the other side,

He couldn't see his sister so he went to tell his mother when a motion caught the corner of his eye,

Bobby ran across the field calling, “Jade, Jade, is that you?”

He stopped at the edge of the field and stared into the dark dreary woods,

The Dark Woods

Still calling her name he peered through the dark wood when he thought he saw someone running in the distance,

“Jade, Jade wait for me. We have to go back for lunch. Mom told us not to go past the fence”,

Bobby started chasing the figure through the dark woods and the further he went the darker it got,

“Jade, where are you?” he called, still no answer and when he looked around he realized, he was lost,

"Jade where are you?" he called once more, but still no answer as he sat on an old tree stump and looked towards the sky,

Looking around he said, "Where are you Jade and where am I and how am I going to get home?" as he put his head in his hands and started to cry,

"What's the matter little boy?" a voice came as Bobby looked up and searched the area but it seemed the voice came out of thin air,

"Who's there? Where are you?" Bobby said jumping to his feet. "I Can't see you anywhere!"

"Don't be afraid," said the voice as a figure stepped out from behind a tree,

He was about five feet tall, long blonde hair and pointy ears Bobby noticed, but how could that be,

"My name is Edwyn Elfon", he said. "What is your name and what are you doing so far in the woods all alone?"

"My name is Bobby and I was trying to find my sister and bring her home,"

"My oh my," Edwyn said, "That was not your sister you were chasing",

"Then who was it?" Bobby asked as his heart started racing,

"It was a goblin, one of many that live in these woods,"

"A goblin!" Bobby replied, "I thought they were make believe and only in books""

"Then why are you here?" Bobby asked, "and do you live around here?"

"My name is Edwyn as I told you. I am an elf and my village is not far from here,"

"Could you help me find my sister?" Bobby asked as he began to stand,

"Yes, yes I can." Edwyn replied, "But we must get going before the goblins come back again,"

Meanwhile, not far away, but unable to hear her brother Jade was sitting on a stump crying, "What's the matter little girl?" asked a goblin as he came out of hiding, "Who's there?" she asked, "I am not allowed to talk to strangers you know",

"Don't be afraid", said the goblin with a grin, "I'm not going to hurt you, and why are you all alone?"

"I was chasing a squirrel", she replied. "I didn't know I went so far and I don't know where I am, Who are you? Come out so I can see you", she said, "No!" replied the goblin, "I can't let you see me. I am an evil creature and can't be seen,

But I don't want to be evil, but that's the way it has always been,"

"Who said you had to be evil?" Jade asked, "It should be up to you if you want to be evil or not",

"I have no say in it. I'm a goblin and we are known to be evil and people run because they don't want to be caught",

"That's not fair, it doesn't matter what you look like or who you are, It's what inside that sets everyone apart,"

"But everyone runs away from me", he replied. "Well that's their problem", replied Jade, "They can't see that you have a big heart,

"My name is Jade", she said. "What is your name?"

After a short pause he said, "My name is Gorac and |I think we should be on our way,"

"But why?" she asked, "we are not safe here",

"NO", Gorac said. "There are other goblins looking for me and they are over there"'

Jade and Gorac continued through the forest staying in the shadows so they wouldn't be seen,

Not far from them Bobby and Edwyn who were searching for her passed by not knowing where she had been,

"Hide", whispered Gorac, "Over there across the clearing", as he pointed in front of her,

Jade ducked down behind some bushes and seen a small party of five or six goblins not far,

"Keep down and follow me", Gorac said. "They are probably looking for me",

"Why are they looking for you?" Jade asked as she struggled to get over a fallen tree,

"I was part of their group and didn't want to do what they wanted so I ran away,

Now they want to find and beat me that's why I didn't want to stay",

As they slowly crept through the forest she asked, "But what did they want to do?"

"They wanted me to be mean to other creatures and steal their things, but that would be cruel,

I didn't want too, I wanted to be nice and make friends and they hated me for that,

So we better keep down and stay away from them if we don't want to be caught," he said as they got up from where they sat,

Meanwhile not far away from the clearing Bobby and Edwyn were nearing the goblin group,

"what was that"? Bobby asked as he heard a noise not far from where they stood,

"I don't know!" replied Edwyn, "But we better stay out of sight for the Goblin town is near,

Ducking behind a tree as five or six goblins passed them by as Edwyn feared,

"We better get out of here", Edwyn whispered, "we got to get to the elven city Entwine where we will be safe",

"But what about Jade? They might catch her and take her away", Bobby asked,

"I'm sorry Bobby, but we can't let them catch us for they will do terrible things to us,

Your sister will be fine they never said anything so she hasn't been caught,"

"We better get going," Edwyn said as the two small figures left their spot rustling the trees,

"Who's there?" a goblin screamed, "Come out so we can see,"

"Run", Edwin shouted as the two of them started to run further into the woods,

"Stop", screamed one of the goblins as the group started chasing the other two as fast as they could,

Staying out of sight Jade and Gorak were walking on the edge of the clearing,

"Look!" she called to Gorak, "Where are they going, it looks like they are chasing something?"

"Good", replied Gorak "This will give us a chance to get away and get further,"

So they started to run in the opposite direction when Jade looked back and noticed that they were chasing her brother,

"Stop!" she called out to Gorak, "we have to turn around",

"Why?" he asked. "Because that is my brother they are chasing." So they turned around and after the two small parties they were bound,

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

K.C. Keats

K.C. is from a small community on the east coast of Newfoundland, Canada, and has been writing for over twenty years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.