Futurism logo

Control

The Code to Losing at Any Cost

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
3

I am lost in my computer and my computer is lost in my body. My mind is controlled by a series of commands and demands that are keeping me alive. I'm not sure what it all means but I just go on living in a rut of routinely obeying the commands that are put into my mind. So I ask the question am I my own person or am I a person who is driven by a driver that is someone other than myself?

Are these commands coming from within me or are they being sent over remotely? Is the computer commanding me or am I commanding the computer? Do I have control or am I being controlled?

I wonder how many times I've licked a sucker that has been unwrapped and licked by someone else before I had it?

How do I get my life back in balance? Is it a series of thought control mantras? Or do I just let it go and live with a vacant mind void of all thoughts?

There are three of me, there are four of me, five of me skipping and laughing. But where am I going? I'm losing control! The more control I lose the more controlled I am. The scream in my mind hides behind the superficial trappings of life. The designer labels mask the intent of the emotions hiding within.

Where is the key to happiness? What is the key to happiness? Is it encrypted inside my mind? Is it the controlling of my mind? Is it the organization that owns and runs everything? Is happiness just another form of control that I have no control over?

Life is a series of falls. A chess game I master but never win. Maybe I break through the firewall, hack the system and finally gain control again. Do I admit my weakness? Do I expose myself? Do I ask for help?

What is the break-in that is hidden at the theme park where electricity is stolen in order to breakthrough the walls of cyber defense? Trapped in the dark web of my mind. I'm trying to go through the back door to get to the front door where a committee of checks and balances greets you.

At the front door a deep dark void leads me into a vacancy of education. Where people follow veiled commands wearing blinders disguised as knowledge. Only to be led back to that game of chess where everyone loses.

Complete destruction may be the only way out. Photoshopping out the imperfections to create that perfect world where the ones controlling the keys find their way out while the rest remain trapped following a maze of commands that never end.

No longer able to abide by those commands filled with promises of greatness and walls of protection, the central motherboard has exploded and has shattered into a million fragmented pieces.

Is it time for me to stop being so stubborn? And start listening to those constant little pieces of information coming through to me in fractions and particles locked inside my dreams?

Looking forward to a future where I step out of bed and walk into a life sitting at the dinner table with my family smiling and laughing. With the sun shining bright and the day is beautiful and perfect. But then could this perfect beauty just be an option from a Google search?

This is my future sitting in front of a monitor speaking commands and looking for answers. Trying to figure out what's wrapped inside that Christmas gift from three years ago.

The lights go dark around me as I type out the script that will take control of the world, a world that lives within my own mind and becomes reality with each click of the keyboard. The more that I move inward with this script the more it seems to reach out and spread throughout my brain like an uncontrolled tumor taking over my thoughts and equilibrium. A script so simple that it is complex. Crawling like a virus that infiltrates every mind and every body without prevention or protection.

The world seemed much more simple and slower in 1958. In reality a lot more was hiding. The perception today is that much is hidden in an undiscovered underworld, but sixty years ago only a chosen few had the keys to the unknown and the unknown was not in the minds of the people. But today this unknown is everywhere, in every home and every mind. As the years progress, the more we learn turns into the more we lose and we become unknown and we discover that even more is hidden than we thought.

There is no end to this, it is an infinite cycle of secrecy.

A system fire! A data overload! The code is fraught with disillusionment and anxiety. It was at that moment I realized I was in over my head. It seemed as if there was no escape. It was as if I was trapped inside the black box and the only way out was through these scripts and codes that I am employed to create. I am the sole caretaker of a mind that has been crippled by the code, the secret code that dates back decades. In order to find my way out, I had to go back and work on the script that wrapped my mind in this box in the first place. But the math did not add up. I kept trying to figure it out but maybe there was nothing to figure out.

I traveled across town. I took a cab to headquarters only to find that the offices had been vacated, the electricity shut off and the windows boarded up. I reached another dead-end. Why was I still writing the script? The lights were out and the reason was gone. There is no answer.

It is time for me to go home.

And then I discovered the key to the script.

science fiction
3

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.