Futurism logo

Confession Time

The truth behind the matter

By Cody DunningtonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Confession Time
Photo by Executium on Unsplash

Alright, you’ve found this hidden envelope. That means you’re worthy of the story that it contains. It’s time for a little honesty, and I think you’re just the person to receive it. What you do with the information afterwards is up to you. To start my story, I need to drop one major truth on you. Gods are real, though none of the ones that you humans have created are perfectly accurate.

All of your gods are based off of real gods, but we are too smart to let you know our true selves typically. That’s truth number two, by the way. I’m a god. It’s pretty cool, honestly, being a god. We are like you, mostly. We look like you and we talk like you. The only major differences is that we have certain powers and we cannot die.

Now let me tell you a little more about myself. A lot of my godly friends like to live their lives down below with you all. Not me. My home is in the clouds. I like being able to watch what is going on down below and only intervene when I think it’s absolutely necessary. That’s what this story, this truth is about.

Bitcoin. I know you’ve heard of it. Who hasn’t heard of it at this point? It’s volatile and chaotic, and also worth way more than I ever anticipated. You see, I created Bitcoin. If you look into the history, Bitcoin was created by a certain Satoshi Nakamoto. Except that’s about all anyone knows. He mined a ton and disappeared, if it ever was a single he. Many believe that it was several people. Well, I’m here to tell you that it was me.

I’ve always laughed at the concept of currencies. It’s just an arbitrary thing that has value simply because it is stated that it does. Its value is almost always in flux. Truth be told, I hate currency. Now most currencies claim to be backed by something, like the value of gold. Of course, that value is arbitrary, too. Do you see why it irritates me? It makes no sense.

So I came down from my home in the sky and worked on this new currency. It literally does not exist in any physical sense. It has no backing and most of its value exist simply based off the interest in it. I made it as a joke to prove that the concept of money is ridiculous. I didn’t stick around long enough to see how it turned out. Imagine my surprise that my cosmic joke on the human race became exactly what I never wanted it to be. Guess the joke is on me, huh?

I'll have to go on my own merry way now, because this thing is out of control. It's no longer it's creator's creation, but something different, something more. If there is one thing I have to say that has pleased me about it, it's that it has, in a sense, uprooted the confidence in other currencies.

Time for my last truth of this letter. You're the last one to hear my words, ever. Unless you choose to share this with others. I can't stop you. What I can tell you is that it's become clear that I am no longer needed in this place. So I will return to my home in the clouds, and then I will figure out where a god who is no longer necessary goes. I know we must fade away or go somewhere new. There are plenty of others who are gone now. I guess it's my turn.

So that’s my story. That’s my truth. Now you know it, too. What you do with this information is entirely up to you. Of course, no one will believe you, and even if they did, what’s the point? There’s no value in knowing this now, especially when it’s this unbelievable. Guess the joke is on you, now.

fantasy
3

About the Creator

Cody Dunnington

Just a 20 something year old with big dreams and access to word processing software.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.