Futurism logo

ChatGPT to help with your novel

How can ChatGPT help new and experienced authors with their next book?

By Stephen LeglerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
5
ChatGPT to help with your novel
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

ChatGPT Overview

Before I jump into ChatGPT to help new and experienced authors, I thought I should take a step back and provide a quick overview of ChatGPT. To do so, I asked ChatGPT directly. Here is its answer:

ChatGPT is a large language model developed by OpenAI. It is based on the GPT (Generative Pre-training Transformer) architecture and is trained on a massive dataset of text from the internet. It can generate human-like text, answer questions, and respond to prompts in a conversational manner. It can be fine-tuned for specific tasks such as language translation, text summarization, and question answering. It is currently one of the most advanced language models available and is widely used in natural language processing research and applications.

How Can ChatGPT Help with Your Next Novel?

In the next section, I will show a working example where I tested ChatGPT to help me start a new fiction novel. But, when asked how ChatGPT can help authors, here is ChatGPT's response:

ChatGPT can assist authors in a variety of ways when writing a fiction novel. Here are a few examples:

  • Generating characters and plot ideas: ChatGPT can generate character descriptions, plot outlines, and even entire scenes based on a prompt or seed text. This can help authors quickly come up with new ideas for their novel.
  • Writing dialogue: ChatGPT can generate realistic dialogue for characters in a scene, which can save authors time and effort when writing conversations.
  • Improving descriptions: ChatGPT can generate descriptive text based on a given subject, which can help authors create more vivid imagery and atmosphere in their writing.
  • Text summarization: ChatGPT can be fine-tuned to summarize long text, this could be useful for authors who are trying to condense their work to a shorter length, or to a specific number of words.
  • Language Translation: ChatGPT can be fine-tuned to translate text to different languages, this could be useful for authors who are writing a novel in a different language than their native one.

ChatGPT Fiction Novel Example

For my test, I thought I would see if ChatGPT could help with the structure of a book that is based on a fictional treasure hunt in outer space.

To start, I want to see if ChatGPT could help create a 50-chapter outline for the book.

ChatGPT: 50 Chapter Outline for Fictional Book

I was pretty impressed with the initial response. I thought about one of my favorite authors, James Patterson, and how he writes brief chapters. They are usually just a few pages, but he has many of them. Sometimes I laugh, thinking James Patterson's chapters are more like new paragraphs.

Based on that, I want to see if ChatGPT could restructure the outline to be 100 chapters.

ChatGPT: 100 Chapter Outline for Fictional Book

I'm still impressed. This could be very useful as a new writer or just to help provide some structure to a book. I was looking over that first bullet, Introduction, and wondered if ChatGPT could actually help with an introduction to the book.

ChatGPT: 250-word Introduction for Fictional Book

Now I'm getting blown away. I can see how some schools across the United States are leery of the technology and have banned access to ChatGPT. I can see how it could easily write a 2,000-word essay on Saturn for the student. What would take someone two-to-ten hours is now done in a minute and the student didn't even have to think. But I digress.

Now that I have an outline and an introduction, I wondered if ChatGPT could help create a few main characters and provide a background.

ChatGPT: Main Characters and their backgrounds

I want to go a little deeper into Jack's main character and asked ChatGPT to help with a more descriptive background and personality traits.

ChatGPT: Main character detailed description with personality traits

Brilliant. How about a description of the planet, including animals and plants?

ChatGPT: Planet description including animals and plants

If you need help with character dialogue, ChatGPT can help there as well. Here is an example of a dialogue between the two main characters, Jack and Samantha.

ChatGPT: First dialogue between two main characters

This is the end of my test run with ChatGPT to help start a new fiction novel. Overall, the artificial intelligence of the technology to create human-like text is amazing and it will only get better.

Concerns

Are there concerns about this technology? Does this open up several questions or criticism of copyrights or plagiarism? Is there a greater ethical dilemma?

Let's start by asking ChatGPT about the ownership of the book, text, characters, and dialogue.

ChatGPT: Copyright and ownership of text, characters, and dialogue

You should do additional checks with plagiarism tools such as ProWritingAid or other. I also want to share a few recent articles on areas where there has been a growing concern.

What Are Your Thoughts?

If you weren't aware of ChatGPT before reading this article, or even if you were, what are your thoughts about artificial intelligence? What are your concerns as we move forward with artificial intelligence leading the way and eventually being so integrated into our lives?

artificial intelligence
5

About the Creator

Stephen Legler

Aspiring author writing first fiction book. I'm passionate to discuss personal finance, religion, tech & occasionally politics. I enjoy reading other people's work & getting to know folks. I play an excellent extrovert. Happy to meet you!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Krishan Mubashar2 days ago

    A.I. is a great helpful technology, can make everything much easier and makes us more efficient. I used it to give me a 5-shot-list that includes the AIDA principles for a video. Within one minute I had a plan I normally need at least an hour of creating. Not perfect, but something you can work with. In that field it can save a lot of time what increase my income or lowers the price at the end. Everything becomes more efficient with it. But we should not rely on it and we still need to add the human factor to it afterwards. It is just a helpful tool.

  • Teresa Renton3 days ago

    I agree with Vicki. We should embrace new inventions and work with them, to enhance our lives. Do we have queues of laundry maids still looking for work because someone invented a machine? AI is an assistant. It could never write a quality book, as is obvious from the examples in the article, but great for research and brainstorming. Interesting read, thank you 😊

  • AI IS AN ASSISTANT KINDA LIKE A PRIVATE SECRETARY OR SITTING IN A MEETING TO BRAINSTORM AN IDEA ABOUT A STORY OR ADVERTISEMENT. AI IS ADVANVED TECHNOLOGY AND A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE SCARED OF TECHNOLOGY. I ONCE TALKED TO A LADY WHEN I WAS 50 AS WE BUMPED INTO EACH OTHER AT A GROCERRY STORE IN AGOURA HILLS CALIFORNIA 2002. WE WERE TALKING ABOUT COMPUTERS AND SHE ALMOST WENT INTO PANIC MODE. I WAS OH MY! I TOLD HER LADY I HAVE BEEN USING COMPUTERS SINCE 1981 WHEN I WORKED AT THE LA TIMES. SHE WAS PETRIFIED. I TOLD HER HMMM, WELL I REALLY NEEDED TO PAY RENT AND BILLS. SO NOW WE HAVE AI AND PEOPLE; ARTISTS, WRITERS, ETC ARE SCREAMING COPYRIGHT AND AI WRITTEN STORIES OMG LETS BAN AI. CAN YOU IMAGINE THE INVENTIONS IN HISTORY SUCH AS THE AIRPLANE? SO THE SCREAMERS AND PETRIFIED PEOPLE WILL ONE DAY ACCEPT AI AS AN ASSISTANT AND NOT A STEALER OF ART AND LITERATURE OR ART. ONE MUST NOT RELY ON AI TO TELL THEIR STORIES BUT HEY WHATS WRONG ABOUT A FREE EDITORIAL ASSISTANT? MOVING FORWARD INTO THE 21ST CENTURY. I AM 74

  • D. D. Lee4 days ago

    Very enlightening!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.