Futurism logo

Call Me Blind, But 'The Force Awakens' Is the Best Episode Yet

J.J. Abrams is far from my favorite director, but I can't help but applaud him for the job he did with this newest 'Star Wars' film.

By Tyler S. CallawayPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm used to being the type of guy that usually has a different opinion than everybody else, but even I didn't see my love for Episode VII coming! The nostalgia played a huge role in me falling in love, but it wasn't just seeing one of my favorite cinematic characters - Han Solo - return, I loved the new characters just as much.

The original trilogy will always hold a special place in my heart, but they could never capture my eye the same way the prequels did. Episode VII essentially brought back that classic story telling and mythos while giving me the visual sights that I loved in the prequels.

The new characters were brilliant though with my favorite being Kylo Ren, a character with such amazing complexity to his character. Both Rey and Finn brought something new to Star Wars in delivering the laughs while also having having that same complexity that Kylo Ren's character is consumed with.

J.J. Abrams is far from my favorite director, but I can't help but applaud him for the job he did with this film. The insane amount of pressure he must have felt is something I could only imagine and he did not choke in the clutch.

I love all seven movies and could watch all of them endlessly, but if I was stranded on a island and could only be one, I'd bring the latest installment. I just can't wait to uncover the mysteries these new characters have.

star wars
Like

About the Creator

Tyler S. Callaway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.