Futurism logo

Black Hope

A book with a price.

By Bogdan GheorghitaPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

It's beautiful.

In a world so dark, it was strangely beautiful. Each night he would read to me. I could sense his passion for this Book, the beauty behind the word he would speak and its emotional connection to him. This book seemed like it was passed on by someone he loved very much.

It had a black Leather-Bound journal in such rough condition it told of its harsh journey.

as my eyes slowly shut, as he would read tales of a Distant Utopian island filled with what only men would Dream of.

Soon I too would be dreaming of the tales he spoke off from this Book.

I would like to tell you the world I live in was a Majestic work of Art, however, the words this man spoke each night was the only Colour I would see. My world was filled with Explosions and destruction, Death and Suffering, Hell on earth.

This book he possessed held secrets, very powerful secrets, and so I was told. it would lead men to a safe haven like no other. Free from Blood, Hunger and Thirst. Hence, day and night, envious men would hunt us down. we had a bounty like no other man once had. It was us against the world. Greed drove the men to do unthinkable things.

As his words of hope lullaby’s me to sleep, a Loud crack pierces the ambient atmosphere reverberating throughout my mind. I lost hearing momentarily from the shockwave before hearing a loud Hissing noise.

Bullets. lots of them. Soon we heard the Thunder of the gunshots in the distance, Hundreds of them Peppered toward us. The sky in the distance filled with Muzzle Flare lights Popping as Fireworks on a new year day.

Adrenaline.

Before I could stand up and realize what was happening, I was thrown hard to the ground. For an old man, he was tough and before I knew it, I was dragged like a ragdoll around and into the deflate. we found ourselves in thick vegetation bursting through long ferns desperately trying to flee.

For an old man, he was very fit, I struggled to keep up, my legs numb from Fatigue, the clouds rolled over hiding the twilight. for a brief moment, the thunder from the machine guns stopped. The flares faded and Darkness engulfed the horizon almost completely.

The shackles of my fears released by the beauty of Silence, to once again be left undisturbed.

Somehow, I arrived here alive was thanks to a stranger who dragged my lifeless body out of a fire. nurtured me back to life like a mother but stood strong against adversity like my father. he was everything I had at this point and dare I lose him; I also lose myself.

I search in the dark for the old man, daring not to make a sound.

a felt a cold hand squeeze my shoulder, I spotted a little light in the darkness. It was flickered in his eyes reflecting the dull moonlight. Covered in blood stains around his chest, I looked at him in despair and thought only of the worse.

Please don’t leave me...

With his dying breath, he pulled out his black journal and forced it against my chest and said,

"There’s still hope for you, my dearest Clair..."

Then the clouds rolled over and the faint flicker in his eye disappeared forever. his head leaned peacefully against a rock, whilst staring at the moon that dominated the darkness above.

I wish I could explain the silence of death although I fear words may not be enough to do it justice. The overwhelming hurricane of Anxiety within me consumed me, yet the thought of him at peace, no longer fighting or running, completed me.

Nothing prepared me for this moment, my eyes blurred as they filled with tears again. the pain of not being able to scream and cry due to men with guns further demised my desire to move forward. I wanted to give up there and then, I wanted to go with the old men. I am nothing without him.

I took hold of this Black book. it was marked with age, blood, and scars,

I crawled my way far away from the area. Away from the pain, away from the men with guns who desperately wanted this book. This haven Utopian Island this man read to me every night will be mine and his name shall forever be engraved upon the very Crown that awaits me there.

Hours passed; fatigue consumed me. Hunger and thirst beyond what I wish upon any young girl. The sun rose and set. the world faded for a moment and I realized it was nighttime again. I dropped to the floor in agony.

What was the point of living when everyone wants to kill me?

...and for what a STUPID book!

Enraged, I ripped open by rucksack and pulled the journal out and with the minimal light available I could see the bloodstains of the old man's fingers.

My Anger soon was replaced by remorse after realizing this was the first night I spent alone. He took care of me and nurtured me. He fed me and clothed me. He was everything to me that I never deserved. he was nothing short of a hero and a selfless friend.

I decided to hide the book in the rucksack for another night. Immediately I passed out for what some would call an eternity. I couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore.

I stopped counting, but I assumed the months had passed. Men still hunted me, often during the night, but more so mentally.

The sun rays burnt into my eyes as I escaped the Foliage of the thick forest.

I had finally arrived. I was out of the woods when I saw a small assembly of survivors gathering at a large campsite. I survived the skirmish within the forest and felt safe to see guards protecting this outpost. it was an outpost for the Neutral. No fighting inside these walls. This wasn't the Utopia Promised by the black notebook but many months of travel were still needed before I arrived.

walking around the village I realized I was surrounded by Men who wanted desperately to hunt me down for the book, but they knew they could not do so here.

Nonetheless, I had to release this bounty of my head, even if it meant losing the only map I had to reach this utopian Island with Fruits beyond what the eye can see, and streams of fresh water.

A true Garden of Eden.

before giving this book away I figured I would at least read for myself. I realized this was the first night I spent alone without him reading this book. I owed him that much.

I pulled an elastic Cover that kept the book neatly shut.

Carefully I opened the first page,

...

Empty.

I desperately flicked through each page with not a care in the world whether I damaged them. each page was untouched, not a single word written just...

Empty.

I stared into the sky beating my head searching for answers, nothing made sense anymore...

Where is the treasure? where is the Utopia he told me about? he spent weeks calming me down with these stories. He painted images in my mind, where in a world torn by war and famine, I would not otherwise imagine.

but then it occurred to me. It never existed…

After watching my entire family die in an explosion, a long time ago, I realized that the hundreds of nights I spent with this old man by a campfire escaping evil Soldiers with guns, gave me Hope beyond understanding. This island was the hope and the smile that would succumb me to sleep at night. I needed this island to be true.

However soon, I came to the realization that he was the island of Hope for me.

He was my utopia.

I spent the night in tears before collapsing. I soon managed to build a small gravestone where I wrote his name on a paper and called him Father because that is what he had become to me. And that is all he will ever be.

I shed one last tear before returning to the Outpost Center.

I felt secure here. I held the black book tight in my hand. Nobody dared to touch me lest they be fed to the creatures of the sea.

I decided to give the book away to a shop keeper to set for sale so I could earn some money to eat. The little this black notebook would bring me would be much appreciated. and I realized the fear of Death would be sold with it. I shall be free.

At this shop, the owner was a part-time auctioneer and his eyes marvelled when he realized what I offered him. it seemed the whole world believed this book contained secrets and promises that no other book contained. This was especially observed when moments later, hundreds of men gathered around in desperation to buy it many throwing themselves at their feet along with gold and silver. This book had become a god to them, a god they all worshipped. It seemed the last of the world’s hope was stored in these Empty pages… Black Hope.

The action started. It was great chaos at first, men and women screaming and Children crying, however, to my surprise, the first thing I heard that night was,

"The auction will commence at $20,000..."

The End.

Or is it?

Written by Bogdan Gheorghita

religion
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.