Futurism logo

Bill Burr Is In 'The Mandalorian' And It's Awesome

Is there a Boston in the galaxy far, far away?

By Matthew DonnellonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image via Disney+

If you would have asked me what celebrity would pop up in a Star Wars show I could probably come up with some names.

I'd most likely go with someone I knew loved Star Wars.

I'd guess Kevin Smith first. His entire career is based on being a geek and much of his early work was essentially long rants about Star Wars.

Or, I'd go with Felicia Day the resident Queen of the nerds.

I would not have thought that a certain mean spirited comedian from Beantown would be there.

Lo and behold, I'm watching and it's ol' Billy Red Face.

I love Bill Burr. It's between him and Dave Chappelle as my favorite comedian. There was a point when I could recite all his stand up by heart.

I knew he was in the show. I remember reading about it in the summer, but I had totally forgotten.

And boom, the bombastic Boston comic is spitting one liners all over the place.

It's the last place I would have thought to see him. But it looks like he stole the show a little.

Which is funny since he doesn't like Star Wars, as he told Men'sHealth,

“I was just too old by the time I saw Star Wars,” Burr said during an appearance on The Daily Beast's The Last Laugh podcast. “It was geared towards kids and I was watching Fast Times at Ridgemont High by the time it came out.”

The article also continued by saying, "the night before the release of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Burr said that he missed the original Star Wars when it first came out, but when he finally saw it years later ("when I was like 27"), it felt like a “cheesy self-help book put in outer space with, like, Muppets.”

Despite this Burr was firing away.

Ryan Britt for Yahoo mentions that he got the best jokes and I think that's certainly true:

"In the episode, Burr plays a mercenary named Mayfeld, who is described as being a competent “triggerman.” Psuedo crime boss Ran (Mark Boone Jr.) mentions that Mayfeld was a “Former Imperial sharpshooter.” Mando quips, “That’s not saying much,” and Mayfeld (Burr) shoots back, “I wasn’t a stormtrooper, wiseass!”

He also makes a crack about the Mandalorian being a Gungan which is funny. And technically he could be. We have yet to see what's under the helmet.

Throughout the episode he's basically doing a one man show and constantly playing off his grumpy persona.

It's a nice change of pace too. And it plays well against the tension of the episode.

The Mandalorian tends to be a quiet show. 'Mando' doesn't talk much. His pint sized cohort doesn't talk at all so having someone who can chew the scenery a bit shakes things up a little.

And no one could have played it better. Burr's Mansfield is jerk, but funny enough that you still kind of like him. No one walks that line better than Burr as that's been his schtick since he stepped on stage.

Though it does raise some questions.

Burr retains his Boston accent. Does this mean there's a planet region where this comes from? A space Boston.

Are there Star Warsian version of other Boston people? Is Matt Damon solving equations while working as janitor in MIT? Is there a Storm Trooper that looks like Ben Affleck? Are there space Wahlbergs?

Now that Burr has shown up here. There are some other comedians I'd like to see.

Couldn't you see videos of Andrew Shulz guessing if someone was part Twi'lek?

Or Dave Chappelle making fat jokes about the Hutts?

Jerry Seinfeld asking "What's the deal with blue milk?

So I hope I get to see more of him. Hopefully this wasn't his last appearance.

star wars
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Donnellon

Twitter: m_donnellon

Instagram: msdonnellonwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.