Futurism logo

Beware the Evil Eye When Writing

How the evil eye and writing interplay.

By Shamar MPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
19
My latest tattoo

Before I begin this article, I would like to start by saying I am a fairly spiritual woman who believes in the Law of Attraction, manifestation, witchcraft (I don't practice this) and crystals, etc.

I've written on a similar topic to this before in my piece All Writers Are Mean. Following my tattoo last Thursday of the traditional blue Evil Eye, I had (painful) time to sit there and think. As my thoughts wondered, I was able to conclude that writing can cause a lot of evil energy to come your way.

What is the Evil Eye? It is a legend that is present in many countries such as Spain, Turkey, India, and Greece. That's just a snippet of how many countries believe in the Evil Eye or a similar legend. When you 'curse' someone, become jealous or envious of someone, or send negative energy into the air about a certain individual - you have given the Evil Eye.

Those who believe in the Evil Eye tend to wear the eye on their bracelets, necklaces, have amulets hanging in their home, anything to keep it away and rebuke the bad energy. I used to have a bracelet from Turkey but it snapped and so I got a tattoo instead.

Yes, it hurt!

As a writer on both Medium and Vocal Media, there are some seriously talented writers out there who are around my age. Now, previously this made me very motivated as it meant there was hope for me. However, as time went on it became clear that I wasn't as talented that I thought I was, didn't earn as much in the short-time that I hoped and that I'm going to have to work a lot harder for mass recognition. Jealousy began to creep in and in the end, I had to take a small break from writing.

Upon reflection, I have had a battle with my inner demons have I've made a comeback. However, it looks as if some folks are letting their inner demons win even though they are not realising it...

Let me explain. On social media, a lot of people send out something I call like to call a "cursed congratulations". For example, why do people feel the need to mention people in posts when they have been successful in winning a challenge? Has it ever occurred to just leave these people alone to celebrate or that they do not want the attention? By posting their success, you are opening them up to uncalled and unasked criticism and a heap of jealousy which triggers the Evil Eye.

Additionally, those who post their own successes are asking for the Evil Eye. I understand that you are shocked, happy, etc. but you do realise that you are literally inviting the negative energy into your life and are blocking your own success and abundance?

And that's one of the major problems with the Evil Eye. There are writers out there who are genuinely trying to be nice and congratulate their friends. There are writers who are genuinely happy with themselves and that's fantastic, but envious energy is naturally present within all human beings.

I cannot deny that when some of my favourite writers have won a challenge that I have participated in, the first feeling I feel is jealousy. For example, the In the Stars challenge was directly up my street and I really wanted to win it.

I didn't even place top three. When I saw the winners, the first thing I felt was anger and negativity. It has taken a good amount of mental training to be able to put positive thoughts at the forefront of my mind.

Lo and behold, a few weeks later one of the winners had inspired me to write a piece that got me second place in a challenge.

To those who openly speak and wish bad upon other writers, I do truly believe that karma will stop your writing hand from flowing through the motions and create blockages to make it harder for you to be creative and successful.

To those who think I'm speaking a load of spiritual rubbish - it's your own funeral.

opinion
19

About the Creator

Shamar M

26. UK Based. Moans about everything (but in a fun way).

Follow me on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.