Futurism logo

Befana's Blessing

A Tale of Common Wonder

By Miya GwynnPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Befana's Blessing

"You can't be serious right now! He got daddy's inheritance he's not even the oldest I am. All he has ever done is sit on his behind and benefit from our family's hard work." she slams her hands on the table she looks at her brother with rage filled blue eyes "You will never see a dime of that money you low life piece of -"

"Andrew turn that down please I can't even here my own thoughts" I reach forward for the remote pushing the light blue minus until the show is merely a whisper in the background. "My bad aunt Marsha" I reach for my phone that laid face down on my classic brown coffee table. I groan deeply launching my phone and then my self stomach first onto my all black bed. I flip over onto my back and pick up my phone again going straight to my girlfriend Hailey's social media page to see what she is up to at the tonight. I look at a photo of her in a tight red bodycon dress posted on her story with the words "Party All Night" written across the top in tacky blue lettering and a location pin from 6 minutes ago at the bottom for Club Codex a place Hailey hangs at a lot .

I hoist my self out of bed. I saunter over to my dresser and pull out a white button down and black boot cut jeans. I throw the items onto the bed and walk into the bathroom. I look at myself in the mirror pushing my short length medium brown curls out of my face. I turn on my sink and begin to rinse my face with warm water I then proceed cleanse my face with face wash on my sink to scrub away any dirt or oil that may have accumulated since my morning shower. My hand blindly searches for a near by towel finally feeling the slightly wooly material I bring the towel to my face patting away the water. I take notice to how the cleansing has renewed my honey brown skin causing my hazel eyes to pop more. I fluff my curls and exit the bathroom grabbing the clothes I laid out and putting them on quickly and then slipping into a pair of socks from my night stand next to my bed. I plop down my narrow staircase into my living room and slid on my dark brown leather dress boots and a jacket to match. "Aunt Marsha I'm going out don't wait up for me, love you." My voice breaks the buzzing silence of the room. I strut over to the door looking at my self in the full body mirror beside it grabbing the house key from the wall hook close by. "Ok sweetie be safe love you too." After receiving a reply I rush out of the door locking it and then placing the keys into my pocket. My feet carry me through the brisk January air of these usually warm Florida streets.

I near a corner convenience store and stroll inside. The current cashier greets me as I enter. I shuffle to the back of the store towards the snacks and grab a pack of mint gum. When I arrive at the front of the store and old women is trying to bargain with the store clerk "You see sir I just don't have the money at the moment I promise I can come back tomorrow and pay." He replies aggressively " Look lady just cuz you're on deaths doorstep don't mean you gonna get any freebies outta me." The old lady goes to speak again but before she can I cut in. " It's okay sir I'll pay what ever she owes, add this gum too." The old lady smiles at up at me. The store clerk speaks " Your total is gonna be $33.11" I wave my phone over the little machine on the counter. My phone beeps alerting me that my payment has gone through. I grab the old ladies bags then pocket my phone and gum. She follows me out of the door. " The little blue sedan is mine." She says in thick Italian accent unlocking her door with a click. I place her bags in her back seat. As my hand closes the door, I feel a presence behind me. Whipping around I see it's just the old woman. "This for you my boy." She holds a little black velvet book in her hand. She places it in mine " This book will make your desires reality for I have made it so."

I look at the book seeing at the bottom the word Moleskine is pressed into the velvet and then enchanted by La Befana is printed in small letters at the top. My body spins in the direction of her car to see it gone along with the corner store. My feet sprint in the direction of my home I finally make it, out of breath I unlock the door and rush up my stairs. I sit onto my bed kicking off my shoes and Throwing my jacket across the room. I place the book down and open it to see more writing. " For Andrew from La Befana May you see the impact of true kindness to get you started La Befana has decided to re pay you tenfold for your kindness. As I look at the page right before my eyes it states that Andrew Morelli has received his reimbursement of 20,000 dollars. My phone dings with a notification from my bank alerting my that I have just been sent 20,000 dollars by La Befana. I run my finger across the pages of the book admiring the power of it's pages. I hold it to my chest I begin to laugh with pure joy as I start to kick and flail with excitement. I can't believe all this time all I had to do to finally get some cash was help an old lady in a fake corner store pay for groceries. Little did I know that this little black would change my life forever in ways that I couldn't predict nor fathom.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.