Futurism logo

Are Our Prayers Heard?

If you don't think they are then this is for you!

By Beauty Way AgingPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Are our prayers heard and answered? Decide for yourself.

If you wonder, if you don’t know, if you just don’t get that prayers DO get answered, then this is for you.

Every work day I would drive my young daughter 10 miles to a sitter who was an older, loving couple, which is what I liked about them.

Pam & Larry were very much in love and had been married for many years. Larry adored Pam, and that fact was written on his face, in his voice, and in his eyes every time he looked at her. She felt the same for him and did all she could to make him happy. It was just her way and why I loved my daughter being with her. If I couldn’t be with my daughter during the day, I couldn’t have chosen better people to leave her with. My girl was happy there and that’s all that mattered.

But things change, and after a while I had to take her from there and place her elsewhere. We both had a hard time with that, but there was nothing to be done.

A few years later I heard that Larry had passed. I tried to get hold of Pam, but she was nowhere to be found. Their home had been sold and she had moved out of state, and no matter what I tried, I couldn’t find her.

A while after that, perhaps months later, Larry came to me in a vision. I was asleep when just his face appeared to me out of a completely black background. He said, and I quote, “Tell Pammy it’s alright if she remarries.”

Then he was gone and the force of his leaving brought me straight up off the pillow.

Two years later I still hadn’t found Pam. I thought of her often but to no avail. I so wanted to give her Larry’s message and knew she needed to hear what he had to say. Then, one evening, I was doing an event at a friend’s house and a woman asked me if I was the woman who had the child her mother had watched for a while. I asked her what she was talking about and she said, “I believe my mother watched your child while you were working.” I was so excited and asked her if she was Pam’s daughter and she said she was. Pam had talked of her but we had never met.

I asked if her mom was okay and she said yes and was living in Florida. Then she gave me her phone number. I couldn’t wait to get home and call Pam even though it was so late at night. When she answered the call it was as though we had never been apart for so long. We talked about everything and we both cried, so happy we were to have reconnected.

Then, when all was said, I took a deep breath and told her about Larry and the message he had for her.

She started to cry and said, “You have no idea. Everyday I’ve prayed and asked Larry if it would be okay for me to remarry. I live with a man who has asked me to marry him but I wouldn’t until I knew it was okay with Larry. This man has been so patient with me!”

I said, “Well now you have your answer and can marry this man. But I just want to know why it took two years to find you to give you Larry’s message.” Pam considered for a moment and then she said something that made me understand that not only are our prayers answered, but the message is delayed until we are ready. Pam said, “Because two years ago I wouldn’t have been able to hear it.”

Pam did marry her man, and it was with Larry’s blessing. End of story.

Working with a Cherokee medicine woman for many years has taught me that all of nature hears us and assists us with whatever we ask in prayer. This is just one story of how our prayers are heard.

religion
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.