Futurism logo

AQUARIUS

a beautiful, cry-baby Astro-sign

By R. L. LASTERPublished 3 years ago 14 min read
4
You love my animated banners. ...admit it. I'll wait.

I’m going to talk a bit about what it is to be an Aquarius and how it's (amazingly) 99% true to what defines me as a person.

But before I do, I have to say that being an Aquarius has kept me out of jail, drugs, and abusive relationships. Yep! I attribute my stress-free existence to being an Aquarius. It was important that I highlight this before anything else because this article (in essence) will be my moment to appreciate the deliverance and divinity of the Aquarius alignment. Let’s dig in.

Despite the word “aqua” in its name, Aquarius' are actually the last air sign of the zodiac. Aquarius is represented by the water bearer, the mystical healer who bestows water, or life, upon the land. Accordingly, Aquarius is the most humanitarian astrological sign.

1. Aquarius (such as myself) refuse to suffer from a disease I coined: “paralysis of analysis”. We think for ourselves while keeping an open mind about things. This is made obvious to me with why I can usually be found contributing to online forums about matters of existentialism, the expansion of consciousness, spirit-sciences, esoteric mysticism and parapsychology.

In other words, Aquarius are well known for being free and independent thinkers that come to their own conclusions about things rather than simply relying on what other people tell them.

Aquarius' don’t like to judge a book by its cover. We keep keep an open mind when going into new situations and meeting new people. I fell in love with research based on my innate fortitude to be a free-thinker. I published a book titled: 'THE ADAMU PROJECT, another god kind'. It`s comprised of many months of research that I accredit 'being an Aquarius' for initiating and completing.

2. Aquarius' host an angry side. Because we tend to be the level-headed ones, our angry face takes people by surprise. Trust me, this is soooo me. I’m naturally calm and collected. I'm very hard to agitate, upset or disturb. But watch out! When I feel cornered, I transform into a Tasmanian devil with heartless words. It's my defense mechanism.

Usually it takes a lot for Aquarius' to truly lose their cool, but if you do manage to push our buttons… well; you might want to duck for cover. We have a habit of bottling things up until we hit the boiling point and explode out of frustration. It's rare, but it is very brutal.

3. Aquarius aren’t very good liars. Maybe this is why one of my mantras is all about integrity and being transparently honest. The reason we aren’t “good liars” is because we would rather (just) be honest and accept everything that comes with it.

The Aquarius possesses many skills, but being able to lie (convincingly and with ease) is generally not one of them. As a result, when we find our self in situations where we are unable to tell the truth, we often prefer to simply say nothing at all. If this has ever happened to you, you’re probably an Aquarius.

4. Aquarius' live and breathe the world of music.

To (us) Aquarius’, life is just better with music. It’s a known fact that for the last 20 years, I must have ear buds in my ears to sleep well. It may not be the healthiest way to snooze, but music has been putting me to sleep without fail. One time, I went to a popular retailer to purchase certain ear buds. The assistant found the last pair in the backroom and I literally shed tears in front of her. I tried to explain to her how important the ear buds were to me, but I’m sure she thought of me as a cry-baby lunatic. Yes, I (we) are cry-babies. This is because we are also very sentimental. TV shows make us tear up. OK. Back to music.

Whether it’s jamming out on an instrument or immersing our self’s in our headphones, just about every Aquarius feels a strong connection to music in one way or another. As a famous Aquarius once sung:

One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain."

— Bob Marley

5. Since I mentioned how I cried in a popular electronics retailer, Aquarius can be quite emotional. We don’t always show it to others, but we are sensitive. We connect to our emotions and allow them to happen.

Aquarius can definitely be on the emotional side at times. But unlike some of the other zodiac signs, we often won’t be so obvious about it. When our emotions are running high, we distance our self from the world—requiring time to deal with things in our own way. We get irritated if people try to pry and interrogate us when we don’t feel like talking. Sometimes it’s best to just give us our space to process things.

6. Aquarius tend to stay away from inflated egos and overbearing personalities. We appreciate subtleness. We don't desire to be the center of attention.

If you’re all up in their face (our face) being all ‘me, me, me’ and not actually listening to what the Aquarius has to say, we will recognize your lack of listening skills and be far from impressed. If you can’t respect the boundaries of an Aquarius (or you try to make everything about you), we will likely tell you take a hike in the opposite direction. [Actually; we won’t be so blatant about it. Aquarius’ are also empath’s. We rarely intend to hurt someone’s feelings.]

7. Aquarius can be wickedly sarcastic.

Those born under the Aquarius sign are often the Kings and Queens of being brutally sarcastic. It comes so naturally that they don’t even realize they’re doing it half the time. Those that are closest to them and who ‘get’ our twisted sense of humor, often find themselves in absolute hysterics when an Aquarius is around. What is this saying? If you don’t take life too serious, you’d love to be around the sarcasm of people like me.

8. Aquarians are careful about who we befriend and allow into our world.

Aquarius signs are selective about who they allow into their ‘inner circle’. We prefer quality over quantity when it comes to our closest friends. We would much rather have a handful of solid friends that we know have our back as apposed to having a tone of random acquaintances that don’t really care. For instance. I have a twin brother. He’s been my best friend ever since I can remember. I hardly think I’m missing too much with the larger social crowds. He has my back, he gets me… what more do I need?

9. Aquarians have a bad habit of overthinking things way more than we should.

One of the more unsavory traits and characteristics of the Aquarius zodiac sign would definitely be our tendency to over-think the absolute hell out of things. Sometimes they (including myself) find themselves over analyzing things to the point where they feel incredibly stressed. We become anxious (only) to realize later that it wasn’t even that big of a deal in the first place. This has been the story of my life. I totally destroyed the frequency of my last workplace environment because I took something out of context. I over-though and brought in upper-management. Even when I think about that whole situation now, I cringe to myself in embarrassment. It wasn’t necessary for me to take it the way I did and react the way I did. I destroyed the relationship between my favorite co-worker and myself. I eventually had to excuse myself from that work environment. There was no fixing what I did and it was all because I overthought and over-reacted. You live and learn. Here’s the good news. “Over-thinking” is a great characteristic for being a litigator, researcher or detective.

10. Aquarius' are incredibly independent and often prefer to rely on themselves.

The characteristics of self-reliance are strong with the Aquarius. We have a big desire to go out and to make it on their own without having to rely on the charity or handouts of others. Sometimes they (we) can be so independent however that they have a hard time asking for help during the times that they need it the most.

11. Aquarius’ are frequently misunderstood.

It’s not uncommon for those of us born under the Aquarius sign to feel misunderstood and like people just don’t ‘get’ us. Apparently we can be eccentric in our ways and have unusual ways of showing we care. It doesn’t mean we care any less. We just tend to do things differently. It is what it is.

12. Aquarius’ embraces change and can be quite unpredictable.

A sense of unpredictability is a common Aquarius trait. They get bored of dull repetitive routines and hate the idea of just doing the same old thing every single day. We prefer to live our life with a sense of adventure. This ‘sense of spontaneity’ makes us a lot of fun to be around. We’re constantly keeping our friends and family on their toes!

13. FUN FACT: The very reason I’m making this characteristic #13 is because I happen to think 13 is a lucky number. That brings me to this. Aquarius’ have a rebellious side. We hate being told what to do or how to think or what numbers are evil. The world believes the number 13 to be ‘bad’, I’ll just adopt it as my lucky number. Take that in your pipe and smoke it, consensus.

The rebellious side of Aquarius comes out when people try to force their will upon them demanding that they change the way they think or act. …You damned right. The fiercely independent characteristics of Aquarius drive us to distance ourselves from anyone (or supervisor) who thinks that they can control our life and or manage our time.

14. Aquarius’ learn from their past mistakes and try hard not to make the same mistake twice.

Nobody is perfect and even Aquarius is prone to making the odd mistake here and there. This is especially when it comes to making important decisions. But unlike some of the other signs, one thing that we won’t do is allow ourselves to make the same dumb mistake over and over again.

15. Aquarius' aren’t afraid to innovate. We prefer to do things our way.

Aquarius’ possess a unique and ‘out of the box’ way of thinking and tackling tasks. It allows us to come up with new ideas and solutions that nobody else can see. We’re often ‘thought’ leaders who push the boundaries of what is possible— choosing to do things our own way rather than conventionally.

16. Aquarius’ are great listeners.

We give some pretty good advice—too.

We hate to witness our friends down or sad. We’re always there for them when they need somebody to talk and vent with. Not only are we damn-good listeners, but we’re also full of wisdom and insightful advice.

17. Aquarius’ are fast learners and sponges for knowledge.

The Aquarius sign is forever a student in the school of life. We have a natural gift for understanding new ideas and concepts… FAST. Our interests are diverse and we are always on the hunt for new ideas and new ways of thinking. I believe this is in conjunction to our innate pre-disposition to reject authority figures (at least the ones who think they can truly control us). If a certain organization suggests we think in their direction, the average Aquarius will take their own route to knowledge and information just satisfy our independence and rebuttal being a part of GROUP THINK.

18. Aquarius’ look for the best in people.

This is so true. We tend to vast in the opportunity to give someone a second chance. C’mon… You Aquarius’ know what I’m talking about.

People like me will instinctively look for the best in people. When somebody close to an Aquarius screws up, we’re willing to forgive them and give them a second chance—rather than holding onto negative energy. However; on the down side, we can be SO willing to forgive, that Aquarius’ give people second chances who don’t necessarily deserve it.

19. Aquarius’ have strong opinions and we aren’t afraid to voice them.

This characteristic is true and NOT SO TRUE for me. As a spiritualist, I’ve learned the value of picking and choosing the right time for debate. However; this does ring true with me when I’m in a situation of being dealt a dirty card. If someone is wrong (rather it’s an issue of law, rules or regulation), I speak up and engage the debate. Why is this? Well you have to remember. Aquarius’ make great learners and receivers of regulatory statutes. We don’t lean on emotions to win a debate.

We’re always willing to listen to what everyone has to say, but we’re also not afraid to voice a few opinions of our own. We’ve often put a lot of thought into the things we believe and aren’t afraid to defend our ideals and notions. We lean on legalities and what’s written. Basically; the most seasoned of Aquarius’ won’t engage a debate we can’t win. Debates and speaking up is based on religion, politics, and stuff that are founded on emotional conditioning, I won’t engage that debate. I simply smile and go about my business. So… Yes. We have strong opinions. It's just …the older we get, the less we care to waste reach into the lower vibrations for the sake of arguing. Life is better that way.

20. Aquarius’ dreams BIG.

This roots from being 'self-inspired'. This is also from the characteristic of being lucid-dreamers. Yes! We tend to DREAM BIG. And we have the audacity and drive to turn them into reality. I said DRIVE. I didn’t necessarily say resources. LOL. Those resources are a struggle.

Make no mistake about it. We dreams BIG and we have the skills to turn those dreams into our reality. Aquarius’ have the intelligence to come up with a plan, and the imaginative-creativity to see it through. What’s note-worthy to mention here (too) is our motivation for doing so. We strive unselfishly. Our goals tend to be for independence— so we might help others in need.

R. L. LASTER’s WRAP UP

We are revolutionary thinkers who fervently support “power to the people”, aspiring to change the world through radical social progress. Every Aquarian is a rebel at heart: Us ‘air signs’ despise authority and anything that represents conventionality. Free-spirited and eccentric: we`re often identified by our offbeat fashion sensibilities, unusual hobbies, and nonconformist attitudes.

Aquarius’ are ruled by Uranus, the planet that governs innovation, technology, and surprising events. Uranus perfectly mirrors Aquarius's distinctive attitude, complementing the nontraditional nature of these visionary air signs.

Aquarians are big thinkers, but mustn't forget their immediate surroundings. Us’ water bearers can become so focused on implementing widespread reform that we neglect our family and friends— gaining a reputation for being aloof and distant in relationships.

Aquarians should remember that progress always starts on a micro level and advocate empathy and compassion wherever possible.

Like Taurus, Leo, and Scorpio, the other fixed signs of the zodiac, Aquarius can have a bit of a stubborn streak. This is often considered an Achilles’ heel. In fact, in medical astrology, Aquarius governs the ankles. Aquarian obstinacy stems from strong, righteous conviction and it's quelled as soon as an Aquarius gets the chance to enact change.

Because (us) water bearers are so deeply motivated by the spirit of egalitarianism, we enjoy teamwork and participating in communities of like-minded individuals.

However, Aquarians also need plenty of space and time on their own to reflect, form ideas, and plan their role in the revolution. Ultimately, freedom is of the utmost importance for Aquarians.

We view challenges to our independence as power-hungry attempts to control us. To win an Aquarian's trust, don't try to reign on their quirks or keep them from flying their flags. We’re affectionate. Give us a hug and laugh out loud—even if you didn’t ‘get’ our sarcasm. And with that, you've reached the end of this article. Thank you so much for reading. I don't love you, but I really, really like you a lot. I mean it with all my heart.

Shameless plug: Please be sure to check out my novel series INEFFABLE. I’m in the process of posting it (chapter-by-chapter) here on VOCAL.MEDIA, OK? My challenge to you is this. If you read the first paragraph and hate it, maybe there’s something wrong with you.

astronomy
4

About the Creator

R. L. LASTER

At the age of 25, I discovered my love of research and the divinity within us. If knowledge precedes empowerment, knowing thyself should be everyone's first priority. Understanding the nature man, woman & their dynamic is gratifying.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.