Futurism logo

An Archer Or A Sea Goat

My True Astrological Sign

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 16 min read
Like

For a while, I have been struggling trying to figure out my true astrological sign. My birthday is on December 22nd. Since my birthday falls in the date range of a Capricorn, that would make me a Capricorn. Or am I really? One can assume that I am a Capricorn based on the birthday. But maybe I am not.

Why am I questioning my true astrological sign?

I was born on December 22nd in Bangkok, Thailand. The country, known for the “Land of the Smiles”, was my home until I was two years old. Thailand is about twelve hours ahead of the eastern part of the United States. I should have been a Christmas baby, but my mom was dealing with intense labor pains the morning of December 22nd. The time was 7:44 a.m., by the way. Okay, we got that part out of the way.

As I already had mentioned, the United States and Thailand are twelve hours apart. That would make 7:44 p.m. on December 21st in the Eastern Time Zone. Anyone who is born between November 22nd and December 21st is considered a Sagittarius. Since Capricorn is after Sagittarius, anyone who is born between December 22nd and January 19th is considered a Capricorn.

You are probably like “Duh!” But you are also wondering where I am going with this.

My dad, God bless his soul, tried hard to bring my mom to the United States. He initiated the process even before I was born. However, there were major delays at the embassy, and he was pleading for a long time. Finally, my mom and I relocated to the United States when I was a toddler. But had I been born in the United States, I would had been a Sagittarius.

Interesting, right?

It is extremely common that when a baby is born at a certain time of the day in one part of the world, the date is different in other parts of the world. I know this happens every single day, and times that this happen is endless. But what about when one date is next to the previous astrological sign? And what if you should have been born in another part of the world? A case like this sounds rare, but I am quite sure this happened to a lot of people, not just me.

Here is what I have collected.

As I was researching Capricorn and Sagittarius, I realized that I have some of the traits for both astrological signs. Do not get me wrong. Just because you are a particular sign, does not necessarily mean that you possess all of the personalities or any of them for that sign. My mom is a great example that I want to explain. She is a Sagittarius according to her birthday. However, she does not have any of the traits that a Sagittarius has. Maybe generosity, but that is it. Any person who knows my mom and has a better knowledge of astrological signs would know that. But as I mentioned earlier, I do possess some of the traits of a Sagittarius and a Capricorn.

General Traits Of A Capricorn

Capricorns are likely to be disciplined, hardworking, responsible, and serious loners. They have strong ambitions. When it comes to achieving their desires, they are likely to persist, persist, persist. They want things to be perfect, and they usually follow the rules. They want to be problem-solvers, and they rarely rely on others if not at all. If things are not fixed or they are unable to complete a task, they tend to be so hard on themselves. Usually, a Capricorn wants to be in control of his/her reality. I mean they really want to take charge. Plus, they have qualities of being leaders. Look at Michelle Obama for example. She was not just the wife of the 44th United States President, but she was also noticeably confident, intelligent, and inspirational.

Capricorn In Career and Finance

When it comes to work, they practice persistence most of the time (if not all of the time). They are willing to work extremely hard to be financially stable and improve their wealth. They are likely to put in the groundwork, setup their long-term goals, and push themselves to become phenomenally successful. Great occupations for Capricorns are financial advisors, teachers, entrepreneurs, and pretty much anything that relates to leadership.

Capricorn In Love

As far as serious relationships, they are very loyal and generous. However, they do not fall in love easily. They are more focused on their careers than romance, so it will take a lot to win their hearts. And when they do fall in love, they fall deeply in love with the right person (to them), and they strongly feel that the relationship is long-term.

Capricorn In Spirituality

They may be a bit skeptical about any religion at first, but they are willing to educate themselves in the spiritual path that they feel will benefit them in the future. Spiritually, they rather be alone during their spiritual journeys even though they are likely to run into unexpected situations. Dark blue is considered their spirit color. Color has a lot to do with intelligence, deep thinking, power, and integrity.

Capricorn And Fun Stuff

What fun stuff our Sea Goat friends are into? One thing for sure is that they love books. I am not talking about romance novels, jaw-dropping thrillers written by James Patterson, nor stories that include vampires sparkling under the sun. Although, they do not mind reading those genres. They are more into nonfiction books that are inspirational, informative, and related to self-help. They enjoy games and puzzles that are challenging, mystifying, and would take a lot of brainpower to solve or complete. Believe it or not, they like using items that you can buy at Home Depot or Lowe’s. That means they can be skilled at gardening, home improvement, or any DIY activities.

Capricorn In The Tarot World

Capricorn is an Earth sign which is why Sea Goats are most likely to be grounded. The Earth element is linked to the Pentacles suit in the minor arcana cards. Pentacles represent material world, stability, security, nature, and anything physical. The major arcana that is connected to the astrological sign is The Devil which has to do with obsession, violence, cheating, sexuality, submission, hopelessness, and depression. You are probably asking – if that is the case, are Capricorns evil? That is not the case at all. Let us all remember the fact that Capricorns have a lot to do with responsibility. According to the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck, the Devil card shows the Devil sitting on his throne, and two naked people (a male and a female) are chained to the throne. I know it is a horrific sight to see. However, if you look very closely, the chains around the necks of the people are loose. That means they can very easily remove the chains to be free if they realize it. What does this all mean? As I mentioned, responsibility is one of the traits that a Capricorn possess. The Devil card symbolizes taking responsibility. It is all about having the opportunity to free yourself from anything harmful or negative. When you do something for your own freedom, that is showing that you are in control. And Capricorns are very serious about taking control of their realities. An affirmation of a Capricorn is “I make my own reality.”

The Devil Tarot Card

Famous Capricorns

Michelle Obama

Kate Middleton

Denzel Washington

Phew! Since, I got that out of the way, let us talk about the Archers.

General Traits Of A Sagittarius

Sagittarius are known to be very likable. Maybe not as popular as a Leo, but they are high up in the rank. They enjoy telling all kinds of jokes. They are the ones who would most likely say something comical to liven up a party. They love being outdoors and having the freedom to travel. They would explore different places and would not mind doing it alone. Also, they are open-minded, and education is extremely important to them. They want to be highly knowledgeable about everything including how this world works. The more they know, the more creative they are. In addition to that, they are so generous and open-hearted in so many ways.

Sagittarius In Career And Finance

They are action-oriented and freethinkers. They tend to have a great balance in their work life. They are hard-working but only if it is a career that they are passionate about. They would much rather work for themselves and not for someone else. Instead of trying to make rate at a warehouse for a big company, they would look into becoming freelancers and make their own hours. They are usually confident in themselves when it comes to work. When they do bring in the dough, they are great at managing their money. Great careers for them are writers, personal trainers, entrepreneurs, and travel agents.

Sagittarius In Love

When it comes to romance, they are so big-hearted. They are very opened for love, and they do not pass judgements until they really get to know someone. They give their hearts to those who are spiritually connected with them. However, they are not thrilled about those who are clingy or needy. They are giving, and they are willing to trying new things. Also, they can be very adventurous during sex. Wow!

Sagittarius In Spirituality

The Archers prefer to live a life of trust, honesty, and respect regardless of what religion they practice. Advancing on their spiritual path is very important to them. They are good at putting their soul, mind, and body into their journey. They are willing to chant, meditate, and even fast in order to become closer to their spiritual side and their higher power, and live a moral life. Light blue is their spirit color. This calming color means healing, being peaceful, and evolving.

Sagittarius And Fun Stuff

What do the Archers love to do? I already established the fact that they love to travel. Since they are great at expressing themselves, they enjoy writing. They would write anything, and poetry is their preference. They are most likely to be huge fans of sports whether it is playing or watching a competitive game. And since they love animals, they usually have a great bond with their pets especially the four-legged ones like dogs, cats, and even horses.

Sagittarius In The Tarot World

Sagittarius is a Fire sign which is why the Archers are likely to be passionate. The Fire element is linked to the Wands suit in the minor arcana cards. Wands represent inspiration, creativity, ambition, and energy. The major arcana that is connected to the astrological sign is Temperance which has to do with peace, balance, serenity, patience, and harmony. According to the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck, it shows an angel carefully trying to balance water in two cups. She has one foot in the pond as if she is testing the waters. The image represents the Archers very well because of their ability to stay balanced as they put themselves to a test, especially on a spiritual level. An affirmation of a Sagittarius is “I am on a path of destiny.”

Temperance Tarot Card

Famous Sagittarians

Britney Spears

Tina Turner

Jamie Fox

So where do I lie?

Me In General

Like a Capricorn, I can be industrious and well-ordered. I am amazingly comfortable with being a loner. Do not get me wrong, I am a sweet person once you get to know me. However, I do enjoy my own company very much. When it comes to something I want to go after, like my dreams, I try hard not to give up. I do not like being a rule breaker. I was told that I am a perfectionist, and maybe I am. I will admit that when things are not perfect for me or I am unable to get things done, most of the time, I feel the need to engage in self-criticism. Taking complete control of my own reality is incredibly important to me, and I have no issues with taking full responsibility for my actions. Even though I do not consider myself a leader, it feels good for me to lead by example.

Like a Sagittarius, I am generous, open-hearted, creative, and free-spirited. I feel that I have a good sense of humor. I love the idea of being free to travel. I am very open-minded, and I have a strong hunger for knowledge. I am always eager to know everything in so many different topics including how this world works.

Me In Career and Finance

I find myself doing better alone when I am trying to complete a project. When I want to have something done, I can be very hesitant about letting a coworker perform the task. I have a habit of living by “If you want something done, you have to do it yourself.” When dealing with issues, I try to do the best I can to rectify them by myself before asking for additional help. I used to work for Amazon years ago. I struggled really hard to make rate in different functions like packing, stowing, and picking. When I became a problem solver, that was when tasks were even more challenging - which I liked at the time. Eventually, I was promoted to ISS Field Representative. It was just like problem solving but more advanced. That position required me to rectify major issues in the inventory like damages, mislabeling, internal errors, things like that. Here is an example. Let us say a customer ordered a blue teddy bear but ended up receiving a red teddy bear. Most likely, the red teddy bear was mislabeled as a blue teddy bear. To rectify the situation, I would have to pull all the red teddy bears from the inventory, have them relabeled correctly, update the virtual information, and put them back in the inventory. Also, the customer would have to reach out to customer service to get a replacement. I was a total workaholic as an ISS Field Representative that I would arrive at work a few hours early and leave a few hours later just to get the overtime. This was a habit until I was burned out, and I realized that it was not the job for me.

Now, here is where my Sagittarius side comes in. Realistically, I rather have a position that I can enjoy for a long time. I prefer a position that is low paced and where I can make my own hours; and that is to avoid anxiety. When it comes to finance, I try to practice saving money.

Love For Me

As a Capricorn, I am a very giving and devoted partner. I can easily fall in love, but only with the right person. I am always interested in someone who has brainpower, shares the same interests, and has a strong connection with me. I can see myself being in a long-term relationship with that person.

As a Sagittarius, I enjoy a good romance. I strongly believe that kindness and generosity are a few of the things that help make a good relationship. I am willing to be opened and giving, and I expect the same from my partner. I prefer to be connected to someone on the spiritual level. When it comes to intimacy, I can be a little bit on the adventure side – especially with an Aquarius.

Me In Spirituality

Here is how I fall under the Sea Goat sign on a spiritual level. I do not consider myself being religious, but I am very open-minded when it comes to religions. I would not mind learning about a different divinity even if I do not plan on converting. I believe that one religion is not better than the other. Spiritually, I am content with being alone especially during my spiritual journey. And yes, blue is my color – especially dark blue.

Like the Archers, I practice trust, honesty, and respect whether I am religious or not. I believe that personal growth on the spiritual level is essential. I am big on meditation whether it is spiritual, physical, or mental. One of the reasons why I meditate is to connect to the Universe and my spirit guides. Again, blue is my color – including light blue.

The Things I Find Enjoyable

Like Capricorns, reading books is one of the things I genuinely enjoy in my life. Believe it or not, books are perfect birthday and Christmas gifts for me. I am not a huge fan of romance novels unless they include fantasy and/or horror. Novels by Stephen King, Anne Rice, and James Patterson are great. I will confess that I love the Twilight sagas. A few of the books I strongly recommend are The Secret by Rhonda Byrne, Frequency: The Power of Personal Vibration by Penney Peirce, and Don't Sweat The Small Stuff...and it's all small stuff by Richard Carlson. I love to play challenging computer (or smartphone) games whenever I find the time. When I was much younger, I was big on video games. I guess one could say that I was a gamer. The kind of games I enjoyed playing at the time (and still do) are roleplaying games. My big-time favorites were the Final Fantasy stories where I could collect Mega Potions and Phoenix Downs and use Overdriven Aeons to survive in boss battles. As for gardening, I find it very therapeutic.

Just like the Archers, I find traveling extremely mesmerizing. I have done a lot of traveling in the past, and I am always in awe when visiting different cities and experiencing different attractions. I am deeply passionate about writing from poetry to novels. One interesting thing about me as writer is I get inspiration from instrumental music whether it is classical or new age. When I listen to a piece of music, I randomly think of a scene, and that leads to thinking of a whole story based on that scene. When it comes to animals, I have always wanted a pony since I was little. Now, I take care of a red-eared slider, and I would not mind having a kitten part of the family.

So, what am I?

The Conclusion

It is very difficult for me to say what my true astrological sign is. I do have some of the traits of both Capricorn and Sagittarius. But even if I am one sign, I do not necessarily have to possess any of the traits of that sign. As I mentioned earlier, my mom is a Sagittarius, but she does not have any of the traits – well, I did bring up generosity. Therefore, astrological signs do not necessarily have to apply to everyone. In my case, these signs do apply to me in mixed ways. Therefore, I am estimating that I am about sixty percent Capricorn and forty percent Sagittarius. I know that is funny to state that. Regardless of the percentage of both signs, I have learned to embrace the dual astrological signs over the years. I mean is there a rule where we have to identify ourselves as only one astrological sign? Can we say that we are two different signs? Can someone be both Sagittarius and Capricorn? Or Capricorn and Aquarius? Or how about Leo and Virgo? As rare as it can be, I will say that it is a privilege for me to say that I am both a Sea Goat and an Archer.

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.