Futurism logo

ALL THE PEOPLE WHO WONDERED IF THEY COULD BUT NEVER WONDERED IF THEY SHOULD

Luke Lawson

By Luke LawsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

BEEF JASUZ AND Britchard Vanson return to EARTH from OUTER SPACE! read all the headlines. Britchard was floating in a metal capsule looking down on Earth and telling all the small children something very like “IF we can do this! Imagine what you could do!

Yerp, there’s a virus on Earth right now; millions of them. Some old, some young, some dying and others trying – ALL biological. If humanity is the new species on Earth don’t you think it would think itself very smart, smarter than all the other old species, and, like a freshly hatched virus, run around trying to spread the good word and help everything with good intentions but killing everything in sight because of a lack of understanding about itself.

I watched Brichard up there floating around, and, like a virus with the best of intentions, I thought of atoms and if a virus spreads from one atom to another; why do people want to do it too. The moon was simply a stepping stone, the nucleus, and now onward to the next atom. Is it because the collective feels we’ve already killed the host and we need to retreat. No. It’s stupidity.

I walked past a man in a cab. And thought of the slaves in Egypt. I walked past a man with MENULOG written on his jacket, drunk in the streets hitch a tram with no mask and I thought of the slums in India. And then I hated myself for holding a cup of coffee I paid $5:30 for to go homes and watch people return to the EARTH in front of my heater while I sit on the couch wearing six hundred dollar boots without a job. I have no mouths to feed but my own, but those men I saw probably do and they’re running around doing their best to provide, and people blame them for being spreaders while those same people comfortably take the food that has been brought to them while they lie in bed watching entertainments that are actually horror shows once they glance at themselves in the mirror.

Gladly they’ll take a cab ride, but you watch the rider tweet about the horrible, awful man, who didn’t wear his mask properly while he drove me to my three intimate partners’ houses. SEND TWEET. SLAM DOOR.

Another man sat on social media and typed up a spiel about feminism and great thinkers and then followed it up with MARKETING and posted it to the world. His picture was of the wise old sage, but it only reflected vanity and uselessness. The most hollow and saddest man in the world, I thought. Like a beautiful sarcophagus with nothing inside. It had all been taken eons ago and the wheel keeps spinning.

The Earth is not dying, but we are. People don’t kill people as often as you’d think; but bullets and viruses can. Animals are dying. People are starving. Others are being told to shut up. Others are being told to yell louder.

People are accusing the Chinese of creating a master plot to take over the world, and they more they do it, the more insulting it becomes and the less information gets shared with the rest of the world about where the virus actually originated from.

A man screams from the rooftops about reptilian people and eyes on the tops of pyramids. MASTER PLANS TO END THE WORLD. REVELATION! Another screams on the street with a red face and old fingers.

Damian is the youngest person in space. His father lost an auction for a ticket to space, but the winner backed out and Damian’s father got the spot. Then he gave the seat to his teenage son as a gift. It was all too much for me; I started crying.

Then I tried to think about my friends to cheer myself up. The decency, generosity, energy, and some other merit in a fourth. The individual. Individuals make up societies. It all starts with the individual – the only thing you can control.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Luke Lawson

I am Luke Lawson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.