Futurism logo

Alice and Goldilocks in Rainbow Land

Short Story: Fantasy

By Hayley DodwellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo Credit: FirstRoundReview.Com

Goldilocks ran as fast as her legs would carry her, through the woods, she must have been running for over a mile, maybe two or three, before she stopped to catch her breath. At that point Goldilocks realised that if the bears were chasing her then they would have caught her by now. Goldilocks gives a huge sigh of relief.

Goldilocks sees a girl under a tree, wiping her face.

“Are you okay?” said Goldilocks.

“Oh yes. I'm fine. I thought I had playing cards on my face. But it would seem that they were just leaves.”

“You seem tired.”

“I must have fallen asleep for such a long time. I'm Alice.”

“I'm Goldilocks.”

“Where is my sister?” said Alice, confused.

“I don't know. I haven't seen her.”

Screams can be heard. Loudly until they disappear into silence.

“That's my sister. Somebody must have kidnapped her. I must go save her. Please help me Goldilocks, please.” said Alice.

“Of course I will help you.”

“But we must not follow any white rabbits” said Alice, cautiously.

“Or go into houses which belong to bears” said Goldilocks, firmly.

The girls look at each other, confused. But with no time to discuss, they run deep into the woods.

The girls come to a river, with a beautiful rainbow at the side of it. The rainbow changes form and turns into a staircase. A scream is heard.

“My sister is up there,” said Alice.

The girls start climbing the staircase, above the clouds. The rainbow disappears, the girls fall, they land in a far away world.

“My, my, what a day I have had,” said Alice.

They look around the world, where the grass is purple, the sky is orange and the river is red. It is the world known as Rainbow Land.

A note is pinned to a tree.

‘Alice and Goldilocks,

Alice I have your sister. She is a prisoner in my castle. If you want her to return, then you must bring me a golden apple from the Valley of Hope. If you fail you will never see your sister again..

Wicked King Froggatt’

“Oh my poor sister. We must save her,” said Alice, panicking.

“We'll save her. But to begin with we mustn't eat any porridge, sit in any chairs or go to sleep in any beds. I learnt those lessons earlier today!” said Goldilocks.

“I haven't got time to tell you all the lessons which I learnt! But we must set off immediately.”

The girls look at the horizon where they see twinklings of gold and figure that this must be the direction to go in. Off they go, but the further they walk the darker Rainbow Land became. The girls were lost.

“Can I help you girls?” said a green bird, who was sitting in a tree.

“Oh please help us. We're lost. We need to get to the Valley of Hope,” said Alice, panicking.

“The Valley of Hope. The only way there is through the water.” said the green bird, wisely.

The green bird disappears.

“Through the water. What water?” said Goldilocks, confused.

They spot a stream and run towards it.

“It's too wide to jump across, we'll have to walk through it,” said Goldilocks.

Alice and Goldilocks step into the stream and they both sink deeply. They fall beneath the water and come out in a field, full of bright yellow flowers. Where there is a box.

Inside the box is a cake which has a note saying ‘Eat Me’.

“What's this for?” said Goldilocks.

“I know exactly what it is for. It means that we will become small, so there must be a small door somewhere for us to go.”

They see a small door at the bottom of a tree. They eat a mouthful each of the cake, Alice keeps the rest in her pocket and they enter the doorway. Which leads to the Valley of Hope.

The Valley of Hope is full of apple trees, but all the apples are violet, no golden apples are anywhere to be seen.

Another note is on a tree.

‘Alice and Goldilocks,

You have done well to get so far. You must now find the golden apple. But you will never find it while you are so small.

You have one hour, or Alice, your sister will be my prisoner forever.

Wicked King Froggatt’

“We need to find a potion which says ‘Drink Me’ on it. Then we'll grow back to our normal size,” says Alice.

They find the potion buried beneath a pile of leaves and drink it.

The girls grow and are tall enough to see one golden apple, which is high up in a tree. But guarding the one golden apple is a blue lion. Who is fast asleep. Alice and Goldilocks walk very quietly, but Goldilocks steps on a stick which snaps and wakes the lion up.

“You girls, what is your business here?” the blue lion shouts.

“Please sir, we need the golden apple, to take to the King. He has taken my sister prisoner and he'll only set her free if we take him a golden apple,” said Alice.

“No. I have to guard the golden apple or the King will not give me any dinner. I am so hungry as it is. The wicked King has not fed me in over a week.” said the blue lion, grumpily.

“Please, we are running out of time.” said Goldilocks.

“If you are hungry, you can have the rest of my cake,” Alice offers.

Alice puts the remainder of the ‘Eat Me’ cake in front of the blue lion. The lion is so hungry that he can't resist and eats the cake immediately. As the blue lion shrinks Alice grabs the golden apple and she and Goldilocks run as fast as they can out of the Valley of Hope.

The girls reach the castle. Alice opens the door, pink smoke appears making the girls feel extremely tired. They both fall asleep.

“Alice, Goldilocks. Wake up. It is time to go home,” says Alice's sister.

Alice and Goldilocks are laying on a blanket, under a tree, back in the woods where they first met.

“I'm so sleepy,” said Alice, yawning.

“Rest for a little longer. I will see you both at home later,” said Alice's sister, as she walks away.

Alice and Goldilocks sleep a little longer, until they are woken by a loud roar. There stood before them are three angry bears, who are ready for their dinner, on their menu is two little girls.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Hayley Dodwell

I am a freelance writer. As well as Vocal, I have also written articles for numerous websites, including, Eighties Kids, WhatCulture, Child Of The 1980's, Online Book Club, GoNOMAD Travel, Hubpages, and ScreenHub Entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.