Futurism logo

Ad Astra Per Aspera 4

Commander Baja Chapter 4

By Deon BurtonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

“Trooper? Trooper, can you hear my voice?”

I slowly turn my head to the sound of the voice. I see four people wearing the red and orange colored armor of a Rescue Squad. I blink once and they’re even closer.

...

“I’m gonna need an eighteen-guage, left A-C right away.”

I hear a calm-toned male instruct. Then I watch as a short-haired woman snaps her fingers in front of me. I thought I had responded but guess not as she gently turns my head from side to side. She then puts something on my arm. There’s a light squeeze and prick.

“B-P is ninety over twelve. Respirations at eight. Okay, I’m tubing him.” Her gentle voice appearing as the most soothing thing ever. I don’t mind hearing her talk before I fall asleep. I slowly close my tired eyes.

“He's going cold, spike a bag and grab the backboard.” I hear the woman say.

“Okay, got it; on three... one, two, three. Let's move.”

“Tango to Mothership.”

“Mothership to Tango, go ahead.”

“Pulse is 60 and thready, respiration's eight. He's intubated and we're bagging him now. Uh, BP 90 over palp, patient is cool, pale, and diaphoretic. Has aspirated, uh, GSC is 3... Will update enroute, ETA, three minutes.” The man tells someone designated as Mothership. As I fall deeper into a manic state, I just barely hear the slightly panicked voices.

“OH SHIT.”

“We’re losing him!”

“GO, GO, GO!”

[Crunch, crunch, crunch]

“Mothership! Drop the ramp! I repeat drop the ramp!”

“Ramps coming down Tango.” I relay. I watch them as they began running. At first, I didn’t understand but then a single reason hits me, and I spin around and face the crew. “Prepare an aide station!”

They immediately understand and begin scrambling trying to prepare a station.

“How’s he looking?” I ask looking over the surgeon's shoulder.

“Honestly... I don’t know. We don’t have the equipment to properly work on him.”

“Commander Baja ma’am. We’ve collected his data. He’s Hull Tech I, Ozark Spark. He was assigned to the DARE 3 Years ago same as us. Before that he spent 4 years on the PREDICTION and 2 years on the GALAXY. Outside of being an outstanding repairman he has no other achievements or battlefield accolades.” I turn to my Lieutenant and thank him. He just nods and heads off.

“Don’t stay too long ma’am. I highly doubt you being here is going to bring him back any quicker and stressing yourself over it won’t help either.” Surgeon Tech I Music tells me as he walks out.

“I won’t.” I reply just as the door hisses closed. I just couldn’t wrap my head around this man. He had spent 9 years as a Hull Technician and never seem any type of combat like myself and my men, yet he faced down those two giant creatures like a seasoned combat veteran. There was just no fucking way.

I move closer to and place my elbow on the handrail and rest my cheek on my fist and study his features. Now that he was cleaned up, he looked kind of cute.

“Hahahaha. I can’t believe that’s what happened.” My grandma laughs and my granddad wipes his eyes.

“Oh, my Lord. You’ve had an interesting time up till now haven’t you lad?” He asks.

“I have. Mother didn’t want me joining because of precisely something like this happening.” I reply with a soft smile.

“I see. Our daughter raised a fine young man. However, It’s not quite your time Spark.” My grandma says caressing my cheek.

“What do you mean?” I asked tilting my head to the side confused.

“You see young one. You were supposed to die on the DARE when it had its initial explosion.” Granddad explains putting his hand on my shoulder. “You stopping and turning around was not supposed to happen. After that God became interested in you. He decided to give you perfect luck, intuition, and intelligence. He wants to see how far you can go. The one who changed his fate.”

“Oh. So, you’re saying I’ll survive?” I ask slightly disheartened.

“Yes... Well, if you decided you don’t want to continue then you can always join us as we go back.” Grandma says with a soft smile. “However. I do believe Annota will be heartbroken to learn her only son died in the middle of nowhere out in space. Your leader Commander Baja I believe hearing her being called. She can contact your fleet and send your survival status. Currently, only 758 of your crew have survived. However, that number was 2,022 yesterday. Those creatures are Nebuelas and Nebuelates. Nebuelas are the small ones you slaughtered. They are smaller and rely on pack hunting. The bigger and more aggressive Nebuelates are just killers. If it breathes. They’ll eat it.”

“Oh. Is that so?” I ponder to myself. “So, am I basically a combat God now?” I ask thinking back on what they said.

“Oh dear no. You just have sharp instincts and luck. God has High hopes for you, but like I said before. If you decide you’ve had enough. You will always be welcome here. However, I will say this. It has been almost 7 days and that young Commander has been stopping by every day, every chance she has.”

“That so grandma?” I ask as she gives me her soft smile.

“Please don’t make her suffer. Who knows. Maybe you two will “spark”.” She jests and I can’t help but chuckle at her silly pun.

“Very well. Please continue to watch over me, grandma and grandpa.” I say giving them one last hug.

“That’s our boy.” My granddad says patting my back.

“I would say visit us anytime, but I don’t think that would be wise.” Grandma says as we pull away.

“Haha. I’ll keep that in mind.” I say with a chuckle. “Goodbye, Grandma. Grandpa. I love y’all.”

“Goodbye Spark. I love you too.” They both say waving to me as the light begins to fade to black. “Huuuuuuuh.” I sit up gasping for air and I find myself in a bright room. I look around and find I’m face to face with “Commander Baja.”

“Welcome back to the land of the living my friend. You have been gone for quite some time.”

space
Like

About the Creator

Deon Burton

Marine turned aspiring author looking to find his niche in storytelling.

I also want to improve myself so some feedback would be wonderful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.